User avatar
EA CO AS
Topic Author
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:25 am

I've been downloading and installing framerate-friendly planes like a madman, and everyone I hear from tells me AI Aardvark is the best.

But I can't find any Airbus equipment from them - what gives?

Can anyone suggest any framerate-friendly, detailed AI aircraft for A320, A319, A321, A330, A300-600R, etc?
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
CPH-R
Posts: 6059
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 5:19 pm

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:31 am

As of yet, AI Aardvark haven't done any Airbus models. You should go with FSPainter's models for the Airbusses, except for the A321 which have recently been done by EvolveAI.

EvolveAI A321 model + links to repaints: http://www.evolveai.com/aircraft/a321.html

FSPainter Base pack:
ai_airbus_complete_120685.zip @ AVSIM.com
Updated FDE's: http://hiro.fem.jp/framemenu.html OR http://de.geocities.com/janswebsites/flightsim/index.html
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Topic Author
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:36 am

Thanks so much! Will the repaints be at AVSIM.com, or are they elsewhere?
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
FiddleSticks
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:43 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:46 am

The Airbus family has been more or less overlooked as far as framerate friendliness goes. Evolve AI released a new A321 a few months ago and are working on the rest of the A32X family at the moment.

Check this link for more info on the Evolve models: http://www.evolveai.com/content/aircraft.html

At present your best bet for the rest of the Airbus line is to use FSPainter models. They are not as framerate friendly as the an Evolve or Aardvark model but are much more detailed than the PAI offerings.

The FSPainter Airbus models can be found in the file ai_airbus_complete_120685.zip on Avsim. Note that the FDEs included are for FS2002 and if used in FS2004 will cause the aircraft to behave oddly. You can get the updated FDEs on this website: http://hiro.fem.jp/framemenu.html Just click the link in the upper left and follow the instructions. Post back here if you have any trouble.

Kelly
If you love yourself, go now to western union and send me the sum of $10,000 to save your life.
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Topic Author
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Mon Jan 16, 2006 8:54 am

Quoting FiddleSticks (Reply 3):
The Airbus family has been more or less overlooked as far as framerate friendliness goes. Evolve AI released a new A321 a few months ago and are working on the rest of the A32X family at the moment.

Thanks for your help - I found the A321 from Evolve AI and it looks great! I'm glad to hear the rest of the A32X series are being worked on though.

Are there any framerate friendly B-777-200s out there that you know of?

Quoting FiddleSticks (Reply 3):
At present your best bet for the rest of the Airbus line is to use FSPainter models. They are not as framerate friendly as the an Evolve or Aardvark model but are much more detailed than the PAI offerings.

Do they eat FPS the way the PAI models do?
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
CPH-R
Posts: 6059
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 5:19 pm

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Air

Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:23 am

For the B777 series, FSPainter has recently released a v3 of his models (B772ER/LR & B773/ER) - and just about all paints have been covered for his models.

You can find them at AVSIM, filename FSP777v3_050701.zip & fsp_b777v3_fd_update_050705.zip for the updated flight dynamics. For the v2 model (still a few paints that haven't been updated to v3), the filename is basepack_boeing777.zip - and you'll probably need to update the Flight Dynamics from either of the two sites mentioned in my previous post.

It's important to note the most of FSPainters models have been created with the Japanese & Korean simming community in mind, and thus it has quite a bit more eye candy than normal AI models have (ie. flexing wings, working thrust reversers), so they aren't as framerate friendly as, say, AI Aardvark or EvolveAI. However, compared to the PAI models, FSPainters models win hands down.

With regards to repaints for his models, most of them can be found at AVSIM. Just search for the airline name along with FSP or FSPainter, and you should get a couple of hits.

[Edited 2006-01-16 01:25:32]
 
FiddleSticks
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:43 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Air

Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:29 am

While I don't have anything beyond a hunch I'd think that the FSP models will better your framerates. The FSP models will be more of a hog when you're quite close to them but are much better than the PAI models at a distance.

LOD# PAI FSP
1 5038 6150
2 3024 2510
3 84 1560
4 NA 464
5 NA 68

Sorry about the mangled table Big grin
If you love yourself, go now to western union and send me the sum of $10,000 to save your life.
 
gunsontheroof
Posts: 3226
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 8:30 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:38 am

FSP models are much better than PAI models. Definetly go with the Evolve AI A321 though, it's very high quality and frame-rate friendly. In the event you can't find an A32x repaint for FSP, I've found Dee Waldron's AI A320s are pretty good too.
 
Danny
Posts: 3714
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2002 3:44 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:23 am

There is almost every repaint avaliable for FSP A320 family. So as others said go for EVAI A321 and FSP for the rest of the family until EVAI releases their own. Regarding Airbus heavies - FSP again.
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Topic Author
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:14 am

Thanks for the input, everyone! I've got the FSP 777-200s and EVAI A321 up and running - and tonight I'm tackling the rest of the A32X family, plus the A300-600R.

Does anyone know when EVAI plans to release more Airbus equipment?
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Topic Author
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Tue Jan 17, 2006 7:16 am

Random question - when changing AI, does it affect your AFCADs at all? I've changed out a bunch of AI (models only - no change to flightplans) and have begun noticing that the planes have been appearing at all sorts of random gates.

Anyone else see this? Is there a way to "fix" it?
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
FiddleSticks
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:43 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:11 am

If your new AI aircraft.cfg files don't contain any parking assignment info they'll start parking anywhere and everywhere.

For example in the aircraft.cfg files you'll to have these two entries in each aircraft's fltsim.X section. Using AFCAD you'll want to make sure that the gates where each airline is supposed to park are assigned the same parking code that is found in the aircraft.cfg file.

atc_parking_types=GATE
atc_parking_codes=SWA
If you love yourself, go now to western union and send me the sum of $10,000 to save your life.
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Topic Author
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:48 am

Quoting FiddleSticks (Reply 11):
If your new AI aircraft.cfg files don't contain any parking assignment info they'll start parking anywhere and everywhere.

For example in the aircraft.cfg files you'll to have these two entries in each aircraft's fltsim.X section. Using AFCAD you'll want to make sure that the gates where each airline is supposed to park are assigned the same parking code that is found in the aircraft.cfg file.

atc_parking_types=GATE
atc_parking_codes=SWA

D'oh! That's what I get for cutting and pasting and just changing the [fltsim.x] entry only!  banghead 
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
gunsontheroof
Posts: 3226
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 8:30 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Tue Jan 17, 2006 4:11 pm

Quoting FiddleSticks (Reply 11):

I've found that this isn't fool-proof. Sometimes planes will park at any available gate regardless of whether or not it's been assigned to that airline in the AFCAD file. If you still have problems with planes going to the right gates, try ordering your parking list in the AFCAD file differently. Generally, I've found that evening out the distribution of gates/airlines keeps everyone where they're supposed to be, but sometimes you need to put more airlines (i.e. those with a hub at the airport in question) towards the top of the list. I've also found that not everyone has a problem with this, so take that for what it's worth. I had a lot of trouble keeping WN in the B Concourse at Fly Tampa's SEA for awhile...
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Topic Author
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Tue Jan 17, 2006 5:06 pm

Ok - I found the A319 and A320 files, along with the proper textures for them. I redid the [fltsim.x] files accordingly, but nothing's working. Can anyone take a look at this screenshot to see if there's something glaringly wrong? I can't seem to get the planes to appear in my traffic, despite being set properly using TTools:

"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
FiddleSticks
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:43 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Air

Wed Jan 18, 2006 1:33 am

As Gunsontheroof said, it's not fool proof, but you should be able to see a difference.

Have a look at your AFCAD and make sure that your airline parking assignments in the config files match the ones assigned in AFCAD. Let me know if you need any help. You can find AFCAD on Avsim if you don't already have it. Just search for afcad221.zip. There are also a number of AFCAD files on Avsim so it may be easier to download a new one rather than change yours depending on how yours are configured.
If you love yourself, go now to western union and send me the sum of $10,000 to save your life.
 
CPH-R
Posts: 6059
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 5:19 pm

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:21 am

You might want to take a look at the sim= section - I can see you've set it to use fsp_a319_ver2, but the .air file in the directory is fsp_a320  Smile
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Topic Author
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:30 am

Quoting CPH-R (Reply 16):
You might want to take a look at the sim= section - I can see you've set it to use fsp_a319_ver2, but the .air file in the directory is fsp_a320

Thanks! I had a feeling having another pair of eyes look it over would be beneficial. These textures I downloaded didn't come with a text version of the [fltsim.x] update to the .cfg file, so I had to wing it.

With poor results, obviously.  banghead 

I wonder why it's showing fsp_a320 when it's the A319 model and textures? Shall I modify the .air file, or the sim= section?
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
FiddleSticks
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:43 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:41 am

Make your changes to the sim= section, messing with the name of the air file is a bad idea since everything that has a correct reference to the file name will quit working.
If you love yourself, go now to western union and send me the sum of $10,000 to save your life.
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Topic Author
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Wed Jan 18, 2006 3:59 am

Quoting Gunsontheroof (Reply 13):
I've also found that not everyone has a problem with this, so take that for what it's worth. I had a lot of trouble keeping WN in the B Concourse at Fly Tampa's SEA for awhile...

I think I've got the AFCAD problem licked, for the most part. It was the parking assignments in the [fltsim.x] entries that were messing me up. I still can't quite get things juuuuuuuuuust right at KPHX, so I might download AFCAD and start fiddling with it myself.

Maybe. We've already seen how well I've done at winging it so far.  Wink

Perhaps it's just a matter of finding a better AFCAD for it...
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
CPH-R
Posts: 6059
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 5:19 pm

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:00 pm

Quoting EA CO AS (Reply 17):

I wonder why it's showing fsp_a320 when it's the A319 model and textures? Shall I modify the .air file, or the sim= section?

Get the dedicated A319 .air file from the sites I linked to in my first post. Thought I suppose it would work fine with the A320 .air file, with FS9 being FS9 it wouldn't surprise me if it had an interesting effect on the sim Big grin
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Topic Author
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Wed Jan 18, 2006 2:36 pm

Quoting CPH-R (Reply 20):
Get the dedicated A319 .air file from the sites I linked to in my first post. Thought I suppose it would work fine with the A320 .air file, with FS9 being FS9 it wouldn't surprise me if it had an interesting effect on the sim

Believe it or not, this IS the dedicated file - it came with it.
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
CPH-R
Posts: 6059
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 5:19 pm

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Thu Jan 19, 2006 6:09 am

Quoting EA CO AS (Reply 21):
Believe it or not, this IS the dedicated file - it came with it.

In that case, it's simple a matter of either renaming the .air file or change the sim= lines. There really shouldn't be a problem if you just rename the .air file, since aircraft.cfg is the only file that refers to the .air file.
 
User avatar
ZSOFN
Posts: 1379
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 5:20 pm

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Thu Jan 19, 2006 7:09 am

In my opinion the PAI A320 series (v2) is most definitely an improvement visually on FSP.
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Topic Author
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Thu Jan 19, 2006 2:12 pm

Quoting ZSOFN (Reply 23):
In my opinion the PAI A320 series (v2) is most definitely an improvement visually on FSP.

Seriously?!? I just changed out my PAI models for the FSP ones and I think the FSP models are far superior.

To each his own I suppose...
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
User avatar
ZSOFN
Posts: 1379
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 5:20 pm

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Air

Thu Jan 19, 2006 6:19 pm

Quoting EA CO AS (Reply 24):
To each his own I suppose...

I guess so...
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Topic Author
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: Are There Any AI Aardvark A-320s And Other Airbii?

Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:40 am

Maybe I've got V1 of the PAI A320s? How do you tell the difference?
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests