aak777
Posts: 277
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2001 10:07 pm

The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Wed Feb 08, 2006 5:01 am

Hi All..
What is the highest airfield in fs9 that big airliners like boeings and airbuses can operate in.

thanx
 
777DadandJr
Posts: 1484
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:37 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Wed Feb 08, 2006 5:46 am

I don't know for sure, but I would venture to guess that it would be Gonggar Airport Lhasa, Tibet.
In acutality, this airport has been used by Boeing to test "hot and high" performance of it's aircraft. I think it's at about 13000ft elevation.

That's pretty high in my book!

Russ wave 
My glass is neither 1/2 empty nor 1/2 full, rather, the glass itself is twice as big as it should be.
 
jwenting
Posts: 9973
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2001 10:12 pm

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:16 am

El Alto International, La Paz (SLLP) is at 13310ft.

My flightplanner (which uses the FS2002 dataset, never found a way to import the FS2004 dataset which uses a different format) doesn't list any airports in Tibet higher than that (doesn't list anything higher than that in fact that can take aircraft of 737 size, and I don't think it lists anything higher at all).

It isn't called El Alto (the high one) for nothing  Wink
I wish I were flying
 
777DadandJr
Posts: 1484
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:37 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Wed Feb 08, 2006 7:23 am

Just to add a bit of info to my previous post.
After getting home from work, I fired up FS, only to find that Gonggar Airport Lhasa, Tibet is nowhere to be found in the FS9 database.
However, I looked in my book on the B757 and it shows a picture of a 757-200 during testing at Lhasa. It noted in the text that Lhasa has an elevation of 11612ft. So, even if it were in FS, it wouldn't get the top prize. It seems that El Alto has got the gold so far!

Russ wave 
My glass is neither 1/2 empty nor 1/2 full, rather, the glass itself is twice as big as it should be.
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13069
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Thu Feb 09, 2006 6:37 pm

Yup, for real high altitude pleasure, you have to hit LPB. I'm not going to dare landing there (I suck at high altitude airports, the highest I can go as far as landings are concerned is SJO and maybe GUA), though I did some T/O tests in the sim, one with a full A321 and one with a severly weight restricted A321, and if you're not careful, there's no better way to overrun the runway.
 
malaysia
Posts: 2615
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 1999 3:26 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:45 pm

Fukche in India in FS9 is at 13700+ feet

my 737-700 made it Big grin oops sorry I counted a airport out in the boonies

[Edited 2006-02-11 04:46:37]
There Are Those Who Believe That There May Yet Be Other Airlines Who Even Now Fight To Survive Beyond The Heavens
 
malaysia
Posts: 2615
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 1999 3:26 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:48 pm

I do have LHASA airport for FS9, its available on AVSIM
There Are Those Who Believe That There May Yet Be Other Airlines Who Even Now Fight To Survive Beyond The Heavens
 
kcrwflyer
Posts: 2530
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 11:57 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Sun Feb 12, 2006 4:18 pm

Quoting LTU932 (Reply 4):
though I did some T/O tests in the sim, one with a full A321 and one with a severly weight restricted A321, and if you're not careful, there's no better way to overrun the runway

I too tried this. I got up at the very end in a full a321 using alot of flaps and trim....didnt really climb much. Everything was fine in my 757 though.

Is the airport aircraft restricted in real life?
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13069
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Sun Feb 12, 2006 4:26 pm

Quoting KcrwFlyer (Reply 7):
Is the airport aircraft restricted in real life?

Restricted would be an understatement.  Wink Well, it's not really aircraft restricted as I heard LH used to fly 742s into LPB and many airliners go to LPB for high altitude tests. However for many airliners, the weight restrictions are severe (even severer than at BOG, MEX, though UIO is similarly weight restricted because they'd have to fly to GYE first before continuing), so they have to fly to VVI (Santa Cruz de Bolivia) for refueling. That segment is about 300 nm long, so it would be something around 35 to 40 minutes flight to VVI.
 
PIA777
Posts: 1841
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 9:39 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Tue Feb 14, 2006 3:07 pm

Katmandu, Nepal has to be up there. I have never made a successful
landing there.

PIA777
GO CUBS!!
 
aircanada333
Posts: 458
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 1:16 pm

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Tue Feb 14, 2006 11:21 pm

Does anyone knows if there is an airport that is exactly at 0 feet ASL (or close).

Thanks! Benjamin wave 
De-icing RULZ!!!
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:06 am

Quoting Aircanada333 (Reply 10):
Does anyone knows if there is an airport that is exactly at 0 feet ASL (or close).

How close?
 
AmericanAirFan
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 10:22 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Wed Feb 15, 2006 7:51 am

Speaking of High Altitude airports does anybody know for every thousand feet ASL the ground speed increases above Indicated Airspeed?

Thanks for the information I'll have to try this airport out sometime. I remember KASE (Aspen Colorado) at about 7,000 ft ASL and I used the whole runway landing a CRJ-700 with no autobrake.
"American 1881 Cleared For Takeoff One Seven Left"
 
aircanada333
Posts: 458
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 1:16 pm

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:12 am

Quoting David L (Reply 11):
How close?

I wanted to know which airport is as close as possible of 0 feet above sea level.

Thanks!
De-icing RULZ!!!
 
zarniwoop
Posts: 255
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 11:43 pm

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Wed Feb 15, 2006 5:32 pm

Quoting PIA777 (Reply 9):
Katmandu, Nepal has to be up there. I have never made a successful
landing there.

PIA77, try using this:

http://www.flightsim.com/cgi/kds?$=main/howto/katm/katm.htm

good way to learn how to read approach plates as well
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:51 pm

Quoting Aircanada333 (Reply 13):
I wanted to know which airport is as close as possible of 0 feet above sea level.

Well, for a start you have airports right by the sea, such as St. Maartens or Hong Kong, etc. The Netherlands would be a good place to look, too. See if you can find an atlas which shows elevation and you may find some which are actually below sea level.  Smile
 
gg190
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:25 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:22 am

Atyrau (UATG) in the Caspian Sea region of Russia is at -72ft in FS04
 
MarBergi
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:56 pm

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:35 am

Try I Bar Yehuda ( LLMZ / N/A ) - Metzada in Israel its -1266ft below MSL!!!!
 
malaysia
Posts: 2615
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 1999 3:26 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:54 am

Did anyone try the VNLK in FS2004, the airport right at the foot of Mt Everest where you can only take off in one direction.

its called Lukla.
There Are Those Who Believe That There May Yet Be Other Airlines Who Even Now Fight To Survive Beyond The Heavens
 
san747
Posts: 4344
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 10:03 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:36 pm

Quoting Malaysia (Reply 18):
Did anyone try the VNLK in FS2004, the airport right at the foot of Mt Everest where you can only take off in one direction.

its called Lukla.

I tried it in FS2002, when I tried to find Mt. Everest... I hit fly now, and as the screen loads up, I see what must've been a 3,000 foot cliff right in front of me... BTW, I managed to hit a mountain that was about 28,700 feet near the coordinates of Mt. Everest, is that what I hit... If so, FS lopped off a few hundred feet!
Scotty doesn't know...
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13069
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Thu Feb 16, 2006 5:03 pm

Quoting MarBergi (Reply 17):
Try I Bar Yehuda ( LLMZ / N/A ) - Metzada in Israel its -1266ft below MSL!!!!

Damn, that place must be in a crater or something, that it's over 1200 ft below sea level.  Wow! Does that airport even exist in FS?
 
malaysia
Posts: 2615
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 1999 3:26 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Fri Feb 17, 2006 5:27 am

Try these even they are glitches, but you get a real 100,000 foot Below MSL one.

also in addition is AQY in Alaska thats messed up too, very hard
to land in.

SYKM - The Guyana Spire...
A 65,000 ft tall spike stiking out of the ground with a 100,000 ft deep hole right next to it. Go to SYKM and look south. You can't miss it


2AR6 - The Arkansas Hole...
3 miles deep with a waterfall that makes Niagra look like a dripping faucet. There's a nice little finger of land for you to put an airport on if you like, and the train bridge is a riot. For fun try driving a ground vehicle out onto the ledges

MO3 - The Missouri Hole...
Not quite as deep as Arkansas and no place for an airport, but this hole is still a blast to fly in. 11,000 ft deep.


SESM
A nice little strip in a hole, look for screwy terrain in several places around it.


80WA
Grass strip floating 126 feet above the ground.


39WA
Another floating grass strip


KMKO
Runways are suspended over huge holes in the ground. Don't miss your approach here!


MXA9
Another Strip in a crater, with very little room for a take off.


LFLJ (Courcheval)
Extremely short runway, on the side of a mountain. While the real life version is on a hill, this one is in a tight three sided canyon.

[Edited 2006-02-16 21:38:09]
There Are Those Who Believe That There May Yet Be Other Airlines Who Even Now Fight To Survive Beyond The Heavens
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Fri Feb 17, 2006 7:43 am

Quoting Malaysia (Reply 21):
2AR6 - The Arkansas Hole...
3 miles deep with a waterfall that makes Niagra look like a dripping faucet. There's a nice little finger of land for you to put an airport on if you like, and the train bridge is a riot. For fun try driving a ground vehicle out onto the ledges

Been there, done that - very eerie! I didn't build an airport but I landed on the shore.

Thanks for listing the other weirdos. I always forget to make a note when they're mentioned.

So ideally we're looking for a 30,000 ft "spike" with a flat top to build an airport on?
 
KDTWflyer
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:51 pm

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:57 pm

NW B744 B742 B753 B752 A333 A332 A320 A319 DC10 DC9 ARJ CRJ S340
 
DeltaRules
Posts: 3656
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2001 11:57 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Sun Feb 26, 2006 2:20 pm

Quoting Malaysia (Reply 21):
SYKM - The Guyana Spire...
A 65,000 ft tall spike stiking out of the ground with a 100,000 ft deep hole right next to it. Go to SYKM and look south. You can't miss it

Just tried that one. Weirdest thing I've ever seen in FS2004. Big grin Had trouble getting into the hole, though (if I was at the right holes).

DeltaRules
A310/319/320/321/333, ARJ, BN2, B722/73S/733/734/735/73G/738/739/744/757/753/767/763/764/777, CR1/2/7/9, DH6, 328, EM2/ERJ/E70/E75/E90, F28/100, J31, L10/12/15, DC9/D93/D94/D95/M80/M88/M90/D10, SF3, SST
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13069
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: The Highest Airfield In FS9!?

Sun Feb 26, 2006 6:39 pm

Quoting Malaysia (Reply 21):
SYKM - The Guyana Spire...
A 65,000 ft tall spike stiking out of the ground with a 100,000 ft deep hole right next to it. Go to SYKM and look south. You can't miss it

I just went there with the default Cessna and I also had problems going through that hole. I didn't get further than -4,200ft MSL. However, I did climb up the spike in slew mode, turned off the slew, it immediately got me going. So I decided to just go to a very steep fall (it must have been at least a 5000 fpm sinkrate, the default Cessna panel doesn't show any climb or sinkrate higher than 2000 fpm), stayed at idle thrust most of the descent, started to level off at around 8,000 ft MSL, turned to a plain nearby and landed there, though I had to flare a bit long, because I was landing on the side of a slope. That was real fun. Big grin

I'd recommend it to you all, slew the default Cessna up to FL650 and then try to land it.  Wink

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests