LawrenceMck
Topic Author
Posts: 301
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 3:45 am

Captain Sim 757

Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:24 am

Just looking on www.captainsim.com and saw that the new 757 has just been released, it looks simply stunning, anyone have this expansion? Can anyone share their views on it?

Lawrence  Wink
Love It To Live It
 
FiddleSticks
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:43 am

RE: Captain Sim 757

Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:45 am

From what I hear the complaints are more to do with the way its being released than the product itself.

http://forums.avsim.net/dcboard.php?...ic_id=305909&mesg_id=305909&page=6

I don't have it at all so this is only hearsay and rumors. Do some research in various forums before making up your mind on this one...
If you love yourself, go now to western union and send me the sum of $10,000 to save your life.
 
DFW13L
Posts: 809
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:22 pm

RE: Captain Sim 757

Sun Mar 12, 2006 9:18 am

Here's something very weird about the Captain Sim 757, which I bought. There is no normal 2D cockpit view. I'm really not sure how you can fly it on Block A, with no virtual cockpit, because it basically has the Cap. Sim. toolbar like on the 727, which includes the overhead panel. The overhead panel from normal cockpit view is tiny, but functions. The only way you can fly the CS 757 is from virtual cockpit mode, and the cockpit looks outstanding. It really is good, but it's a memory burner. I have a 256 mb video card and a 3.4 pentium, and it doesn't run all that well. I did some touch-n-go's to learn to fly it and then I was doing an EGE-DFW in AA colors and it shut down on me during my climbout from EGE. (Microsoft Flight Sim has encountered an error and needs to close).

The good thing about virtual cockpit mode, however is that you can click on an area (there are like 20 defined areas on the overhead panel) and a visually stunning part of the overhead panel will pop up. For example, click on the fuel pumps and a big fuel pump panel will pop up on you. The graphics look great.

The virtual cabin is first class only and there is no wing view, but you can, as the videos show, go into the bathroom, you can turn on the tv monitors, close each window shade, etc.

Overall, I'll give it another chance, but I'm disappointed so far. I wish they included a normal 2d cockpit, but their 2d view is just strange!
See, I knew American Eagle was first class all along!
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13066
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: Captain Sim 757

Sun Mar 12, 2006 10:15 am

The FDE won't even come out for quite some time, so for the moment, you'd have to use the default 777 FDE to fly it.

And besides, there are some things in the visual model that I don't like, most of all the wing to body fairing, that looks way too round and the wingbox is also too flat. I'll patiently await the Level-D 757, though once iFDG releases their freeware 757, I'll definitely get that one because I'm fed up flying the POSKY 757 because it doesn't have any wingflex.
 
User avatar
HA_DC9
Posts: 563
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 1999 3:16 pm

RE: Captain Sim 757

Mon Mar 13, 2006 5:01 am

Quoting LTU932 (Reply 3):
I'll patiently await the Level-D 757

That is what I am doing. I was kinda baffled as to the different blocks for Captainsim. I'll just wait for the Level-D.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests