TupolevTu154
Topic Author
Posts: 1918
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 6:00 pm

A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Sun Apr 02, 2006 10:41 pm

First whenever I try to fly a transatlantic route (whether it be JFK-LHR, LAX-CDG or UVF-MAN) the flight planner always routes me right upto northern Alaska (around the Barrow area) and then down to be destination. How can I stop it from doing this?

And...

Whenever I download Project Opensky's A330's, it's always a repaint. I downloaded the base package with all the models in it, but I can't seem to install the repaints on the models. Probrably because i have no idea how to and can't understand any of the instructions i've found  sorry 

Thanks in advance for any answers, and please explain it easily because I'm completley ignorant when it comes to things like this on FS  Yeah sure

Tom  hissyfit 
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Sun Apr 02, 2006 11:04 pm

Quoting TupolevTu154 (Thread starter):
whenever I try to fly a transatlantic route (whether it be JFK-LHR, LAX-CDG or UVF-MAN) the flight planner always routes me right upto northern Alaska (around the Barrow area) and then down to be destination. How can I stop it from doing this?

Get a 3rd party flight planner!

Alternatively, you can create a flight plan (high/low altitude airways) from your departure airport to an airport near the oceanic entry point, create a second plan (direct GPS) from there to an airport near your landfall, create a third plan (high/low altitude airways) from there to your destination then open them in notepad and merge them.

I use FSNavigator.
 
RobTrent
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 5:48 am

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Sun Apr 02, 2006 11:25 pm

You could use the GPS function for a direct route then choose your own cruising altidude.

Regards
R

P.S There is an old thread about 4 pages back concerning repaints, I'll try and dig it out for you.
T7 - You know it makes sense !
 
User avatar
JohnKrist
Crew
Posts: 1486
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:54 pm

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Sun Apr 02, 2006 11:40 pm

Tom, it's not so difficult.
In the base folder there is a aircraft.cfg
It contains sections like these, and very often a section like this is included with the repaint:

Quote:

[fltsim.0]
title=Project Opensky 757 RR535E4 Iceair
sim=B757-200-RR-RB211-535E4
//add the two letters : VC for the VC model to the model= section
model=
panel=
sound=
texture=
kb_checklists=
kb_reference=

atc_id=TF-FIH
atc_airline=Ice_air
atc_flight_number=1470

ui_manufacturer=Project Opensky
ui_type=757-200
ui_variation=Icelandair Circa 2003

description=Project Opensky nBoeing 757-200nVersion 2004.8.0nnFS2004 OnlynnEngine Type: RR RB211-535E4nnModel Designersn Lee Rosarion Albert Bouwmann C. Vincent Chon Hiroshi IgaminnFlight Dynamics Designern Warren C. DanielnnMaster Texture Designersn Jaco du Preezn Ben HewittnnTechnical Resource-QCn Nick Petersonn Simon NgnnFor proper operation: See B757 manual at: n www.projectopensky.com
atc_heavy=0

Just copy the textures to the base folder of the posky aircraft, and rename that texture folder to something easy, if it is a SAS texture you could call the folder texture.SAS
It has to be named texture.something as that's the way FS handles those folders. Then open the aircraft.cfg in notepad, and copy the equivalent section from that cfg as the one I have shown above. Change [fltsim.0] to [fltsim.1] or if there are more repaints, the next available number.
Then change texture= to texture=SAS (as this tells it to look for texture in the folder texture.SAS).
atc_id= you can set to what you want, or use the a/c id that comes with the repaint ie N700MS.
atc_airline= you should set to Scandinavian or whatever airline you have downloaded. BA is Speed Bird etc
atc_flight_number= any number you like, not important
ui_manufacturer= for example Boeing in the select aircraft menu
ui_type= for example 757-200 in the select aircraft menu
ui_variation= for example Scandinavian in the select aircraft menu

Save, and fire up FS, and you should find the repaint in the select aircraft menu.

If you send me the aircraft.cfg and write down the name of the texture folders, and what liveries they are I can help you. But I am sure you can do it by yourself  Smile
Airliners.net Crew-Head Support
5D Mark III, 7D, 17-40 F4 L, 70-200 F2.8 L IS, EF 1.4x II, EF 2x III, SPEEDLITE 600EX-RT
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Sun Apr 02, 2006 11:43 pm

Quoting RobTrent (Reply 2):
You could use the GPS function for a direct route then choose your own cruising altidude.

It's true, you could do direct GPS but I suspect TupolevTu154 is looking for something more realistic.  Smile
 
RobTrent
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 5:48 am

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Sun Apr 02, 2006 11:47 pm

John has explained the repaint prcocess perfectly. Cheers  Smile

R
T7 - You know it makes sense !
 
User avatar
TVNWZ
Posts: 1652
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 9:28 am

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:17 am

It is routing you that way, because that is the way real airlines and planes fly. It is call The Great Circle Route. Go with it.
 
User avatar
JohnKrist
Crew
Posts: 1486
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:54 pm

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:02 pm

Quoting TVNWZ (Reply 6):
It is routing you that way, because that is the way real airlines and planes fly. It is call The Great Circle Route. Go with it.

That is true for some of the destinations, but JFK-LHR never flies over Alaska, it flies over Greenland, Iceland. Alaska is way off. Not sure how LAX-CDG would fly, but I feel that Alaska is going the wrong way, more like straight over the pole?
Airliners.net Crew-Head Support
5D Mark III, 7D, 17-40 F4 L, 70-200 F2.8 L IS, EF 1.4x II, EF 2x III, SPEEDLITE 600EX-RT
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:52 pm

Quoting JohnKrist (Reply 7):
Quoting TVNWZ (Reply 6):
It is routing you that way, because that is the way real airlines and planes fly. It is call The Great Circle Route. Go with it.

That is true for some of the destinations, but JFK-LHR never flies over Alaska,

JohnKrist is right. The FS planner gives you a great circle route if you file a "Direct GPS" plan but it goes haywire if you try a transatlantic "Airways" plan. It doesn't see any airways across the Atlantic so it routes you via the back of beyond! I'm not saying Alaska's the back of beyond but JFK-LHR shouldn't take you anywhere near it - neither should LAX-CDG, for that matter.  Smile

Honestly, TVNWZ, try a High Altitude Airways plan from JFK to LHR using the FS planner. You'll laugh when you see it!  Smile
 
Mir
Posts: 19092
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Tue Apr 04, 2006 4:34 am

Quoting TVNWZ (Reply 6):
It is routing you that way, because that is the way real airlines and planes fly. It is call The Great Circle Route. Go with it.

Transatlantic flights do not go over Alaska, ever (except perhaps for some West Coast flights, once in a blue moon). You might want to recheck what a Great Circle route is.

http://gc.kls2.com/cgi-bin/gcmap?PATH=JFK-LHR,LAX-FRA,UVF-MAN

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Circle

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
Mir
Posts: 19092
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Tue Apr 04, 2006 4:40 am

Quoting JohnKrist (Reply 7):
Not sure how LAX-CDG would fly, but I feel that Alaska is going the wrong way, more like straight over the pole?

Not even that. LAX-CDG will reach about halfway up Greenland on a regular basis. There would have to be some serious winds to justify going over the pole. East Coast-Asia flights are the ones that go over the pole.

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
User avatar
JohnKrist
Crew
Posts: 1486
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:54 pm

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Tue Apr 04, 2006 4:54 am

Quoting Mir (Reply 10):
Not even that. LAX-CDG will reach about halfway up Greenland on a regular basis. There would have to be some serious winds to justify going over the pole. East Coast-Asia flights are the ones that go over the pole.

Thought so too. Nice link, not 100% accurate, but nice. As you said the route very much depend on winds as well, I have flown AMS-HOU a couple of times and I remember passing over Iceland and southern Greenland, the map in your link stays well clear of both.
Airliners.net Crew-Head Support
5D Mark III, 7D, 17-40 F4 L, 70-200 F2.8 L IS, EF 1.4x II, EF 2x III, SPEEDLITE 600EX-RT
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Tue Apr 04, 2006 9:59 am

Quoting JohnKrist (Reply 11):
I have flown AMS-HOU a couple of times and I remember passing over Iceland and southern Greenland, the map in your link stays well clear of both.

I suspect a true Great Circle route would rarely be flown exactly - just an approximation, taking account of other traffic as well as winds. Most North Atlantic traffic is routed along fixed tracks with waypoints at whole degrees lattitude and whole multiples of 10 degrees longitude. If there's no room on your desired track you'll be sent a degree (60 NM) north or south.
 
Mir
Posts: 19092
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Tue Apr 04, 2006 2:44 pm

Quoting David L (Reply 12):
Quoting JohnKrist (Reply 11):
I have flown AMS-HOU a couple of times and I remember passing over Iceland and southern Greenland, the map in your link stays well clear of both.

I suspect a true Great Circle route would rarely be flown exactly - just an approximation, taking account of other traffic as well as winds. Most North Atlantic traffic is routed along fixed tracks with waypoints at whole degrees lattitude and whole multiples of 10 degrees longitude. If there's no room on your desired track you'll be sent a degree (60 NM) north or south.

The tracks are not really fixed - they change daily based on where the jetstream is. Flights from the US to Europe will fly in the jetstream as much as they can. Flights from Europe to the US will fly either north or south of it, to minimize headwinds. So if your flight was up over Greenland, it was probably north of the most direct route, but would have still resulted in a shorter flight time.

Here is a site where you can view the current tracks: https://www.notams.jcs.mil/common/nat.html

Interestingly, tonight, the eastbound flights start their crossing at a higher latitude than they end up at on the other side. Normally it's the other way around.

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: A Couple Of Problems With FS...

Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:32 pm

Quoting Mir (Reply 13):
The tracks are not really fixed - they change daily based on where the jetstream is.

You're right but I meant they're distinct tracks rather than direct departure to destination routes.  Smile

I used to listen to the Shanwick broadcasts daily and plot the tracks but I can't hear them anymore.  Sad

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests