User avatar
malaysia
Posts: 2616
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 1999 3:26 am

Can I Use Default Panel On Pmdg 747?

Fri Apr 07, 2006 3:48 am

I know this is really stupid, cause the PMDG panel and vc is the best, but sometimes I feel lazy and want to just use the fs default gps and save on FPS by using the default 744 2D cockpit. I tried to copy the PMDG folder and replaced the panel folder, but instead the 2D panel appears, the lights work better and my key assignments work as well, but the plane is in a wierd shape. the nose gear is turned and wont move, the ailerons and flaps wont animate in outside view..

is that because PMDG only wants me to use the given panel that came with the Queen of Skies program?

If I can only use the PMDG panel.
Is there a way i can view the FS GPS with the exisiting PMDG panel and can I enable GPS/NAV and fly with a FS flight plan instead of the PMDG system?
There Are Those Who Believe That There May Yet Be Other Airlines Who Even Now Fight To Survive Beyond The Heavens
 
David L
Posts: 8552
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: Can I Use Default Panel On Pmdg 747?

Fri Apr 07, 2006 7:45 am

Quoting Malaysia (Thread starter):
sometimes I feel lazy and want to just use the fs default gps and save on FPS by using the default 744 2D cockpit.

I suspect it would be a lot easier to use a freeware 744 when you're feeling lazy. I wouldn't go messing around with something you (presumably) paid a lot of money for.  Smile
 
User avatar
malaysia
Posts: 2616
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 1999 3:26 am

RE: Can I Use Default Panel On Pmdg 747?

Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:43 am

But my custom colors is on it, it looks so much better, I was able to do something, I just edited the panel today and added window 21 and assigned it as the FS GPS so now I can view the GPS just fine by using the PMDG panel.
There Are Those Who Believe That There May Yet Be Other Airlines Who Even Now Fight To Survive Beyond The Heavens
 
User avatar
AirPacific747
Posts: 9394
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 9:52 am

RE: Can I Use Default Panel On Pmdg 747?

Sat Apr 08, 2006 5:02 am

Quoting Malaysia (Reply 2):
But my custom colors is on it, it looks so much better,

How did you create it? I want to paint my own aircraft and start a virtual airline but I dont know how to paint aircraft..  Sad
 
Mir
Posts: 19108
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: Can I Use Default Panel On Pmdg 747?

Sat Apr 08, 2006 5:36 am

I would use a freeware 747 (I think POSKY makes one). It shouldn't be too hard to transfer the textures that you created.

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
User avatar
JohnKrist
Crew
Posts: 1637
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:54 pm

RE: Can I Use Default Panel On Pmdg 747?

Sat Apr 08, 2006 5:47 am

Posky 747's are easy to repaint, stock 747 difficult due to the way they handle the Airline logo. You need to get into using layers and masks in a program like Photoshop, and be able of saving in dxt3 format (there is a sdk from MS for that). I have only done 2 repaints, both fictional. One was a Posky 747, the other an A320 by Mike Stone, but that was a couple of years ago  Smile
Airliners.net Crew-Head Support
5D Mark III, 7D, 17-40 F4 L, 70-200 F2.8 L IS, EF 1.4x II, EF 2x III, SPEEDLITE 600EX-RT
 
User avatar
AirPacific747
Posts: 9394
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 9:52 am

RE: Can I Use Default Panel On Pmdg 747?

Sat Apr 08, 2006 6:23 am

Quoting JohnKrist (Reply 5):
Posky 747's are easy to repaint, stock 747 difficult due to the way they handle the Airline logo. You need to get into using layers and masks in a program like Photoshop, and be able of saving in dxt3 format (there is a sdk from MS for that). I have only done 2 repaints, both fictional. One was a Posky 747, the other an A320 by Mike Stone, but that was a couple of years ago

thanks, I'll try
 
User avatar
malaysia
Posts: 2616
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 1999 3:26 am

RE: Can I Use Default Panel On Pmdg 747?

Sat Apr 08, 2006 11:45 am

PMDG provides a layered paint kit,. but I usually fly my freeware Meljet VA 744, but I will do a Posky version of my VA as well. I paint all kinds of planes. I can do it from scratch or with layers, a layered kit is better for rookies. I can also create layers as well if the paintkit has none.
There Are Those Who Believe That There May Yet Be Other Airlines Who Even Now Fight To Survive Beyond The Heavens
 
User avatar
AirPacific747
Posts: 9394
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 9:52 am

RE: Can I Use Default Panel On Pmdg 747?

Sat Apr 08, 2006 2:37 pm

Quoting Malaysia (Reply 7):
PMDG provides a layered paint kit,. but I usually fly my freeware Meljet VA 744, but I will do a Posky version of my VA as well. I paint all kinds of planes. I can do it from scratch or with layers, a layered kit is better for rookies. I can also create layers as well if the paintkit has none.

Well do you think you will be able to help me creating a virtual airline?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 2 guests

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos