ATAIndy
Topic Author
Posts: 621
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:05 am

FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Fri May 12, 2006 10:27 am

Hi,
I just purchased FS9, thanks to the advice given in another thread, and I had a problem with the installation of the game. Here's what it said:

Setup failed to extract files from D:MSGAME2.CAB. This is most likely caused by low memory (low disk space for swapping file) or a corrupted cabinet file. Please restart your machine and run setup again.

Okay so I know the problem is not low memory, I have plenty of that. I also restarted my computer and got the same error. What I don't know is what a corrupted cabinet file is. Can anybody, anybody at all help me or know of any solution? Your help is greatly needed, and you would not know how grateful I would be for your help. Please, help if you can. I want to fly.

Thanks so much in advance.

-Feister
Boiler up! - Next flights: IND-MIA, MIA-IND
 
edelag
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 2:35 am

RE: FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Fri May 12, 2006 11:34 pm

How are you on hard drive disk space?
It's not just the destination, it's the journey.
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Sat May 13, 2006 3:05 am

Quoting Edelag (Reply 1):
I have plenty of that.

Well, how much is plenty?


Try installing it with windows in safe mode. Just restart your computer and hit F5 till you get the menu and choose safe mode.
 
777DadandJr
Posts: 1484
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:37 am

RE: FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Sat May 13, 2006 4:35 am

Quoting ATAIndy (Thread starter):
What I don't know is what a corrupted cabinet file is.

Hi Fiester,
Ok, first: "What is a cabinet file?"

Cab files are sort of just like they sound. When MS puts the files on the disk, the are in the form of a .cab file. It's sort of like a file cabinet. The .cab files are compressed files, which are extracted during the installation routine. They are like a .zip file. All the data and such that gets installed, gets extracted from the disk, uncompressed and installed on your hard drive.
If the file is corrupted, that means that the file may have some bad code or that it cannot be read from the disk. It is possible that the disk is scratched and the data cannot be read.

Quoting ATAIndy (Thread starter):
Okay so I know the problem is not low memory, I have plenty of that.

If you have more than 256M of memory, you should have no problem installing or running FS9. (it won't run very well though)
It is recommended that you have at least 512M. Optimally, you should have at least 1G of system memory for FS9 to run properly.

Quoting ATAIndy (Thread starter):
(low disk space for swapping file)

This is pretty important. You need plenty of free disk space to install FS9. When installed, FS9 takes up about 1.6G of disk space. However, during the install, Windows needs more disk space to extract files to, before it installs them to the disk. If you have enough space to install the game, but not enough for Windows to do the install, that could be the cause of your error.

How much memory do you have? How much free disk space do you have? Are you running an XP machine?

Russ
My glass is neither 1/2 empty nor 1/2 full, rather, the glass itself is twice as big as it should be.
 
ATAIndy
Topic Author
Posts: 621
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:05 am

RE: FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Sat May 13, 2006 4:50 am

Russ,

Quoting 777DadandJr (Reply 3):
It is possible that the disk is scratched and the data cannot be read.

No, because I get the same error with every game I try to install.

Quoting 777DadandJr (Reply 3):
How much memory do you have? How much free disk space do you have? Are you running an XP machine?

Yes, I do have an XP machine, I have 111 gigs of memory, with 41 gigs of free space.

Thank you for your help.

-Feister
Boiler up! - Next flights: IND-MIA, MIA-IND
 
777DadandJr
Posts: 1484
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:37 am

RE: FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Sat May 13, 2006 5:16 am

Quoting ATAIndy (Reply 4):
111 gigs of memory

??? I'm sure that is a typo, as it is impossible to have that much memory. or, is that 111G of hard drive space with 41 G of free space? If it is the latter, I still need to know how much system memory you have. (I really can't imagine that you are low on system memory, sisnce and XP machine will not run on less than 256M)

Quoting ATAIndy (Reply 4):
No, because I get the same error with every game I try to install.

This is interesting. Two things come to mind.

One, you may have bad sectors on your hard drive. You could try this: click, start>run, then type in chkdsk in the dialog box, then click ok. This will verify the intergrity of your hard drive.

Second: It could be possible that the cd rom is not readiing the disk correctly. Could be a problem with that.

Russ
My glass is neither 1/2 empty nor 1/2 full, rather, the glass itself is twice as big as it should be.
 
ATAIndy
Topic Author
Posts: 621
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:05 am

RE: FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Sun May 14, 2006 11:55 pm

Quoting 777DadandJr (Reply 5):
??? I'm sure that is a typo, as it is impossible to have that much memory. or, is that 111G of hard drive space with 41 G of free space? If it is the latter, I still need to know how much system memory you have. (I really can't imagine that you are low on system memory, sisnce and XP machine will not run on less than 256M)

Drive C: Total space: 111GB
Free space: 58.3GB
Used space: 53.4GB

How do you determine how much system memory your computer has?

Quoting 777DadandJr (Reply 5):
One, you may have bad sectors on your hard drive. You could try this: click, start>run, then type in chkdsk in the dialog box, then click ok. This will verify the intergrity of your hard drive.

Second: It could be possible that the cd rom is not readiing the disk correctly. Could be a problem with that.

Ok, I ran the chkdsk, and no problems occurred with that. As for the drive, the computer is brand new (just purchased in December), so I would hope that the drive is not the problem.

Thanks again,
-Feister
Boiler up! - Next flights: IND-MIA, MIA-IND
 
777DadandJr
Posts: 1484
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:37 am

RE: FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Mon May 15, 2006 2:55 am

Quoting ATAIndy (Reply 6):
How do you determine how much system memory your computer has?

Right click on the "My Computer" icon, on your desktop. Then click "Properties" and it will tell you at the bottom of the window that opens.

If you just bought the machine in December, then I doubt that lack of memory could be the problem, unless, however, you have some bad memory. But I doubt that as well, because you would probably be having other stability issues.

Quoting ATAIndy (Reply 6):
Asrnfor the drive, the computer is brand new (just purchased in December),rnso I would hope that the drive is not the problem.

I would hope not. Though, I have seen that happen before. At least, if it is a drive issue, it would be under warranty.

Do you have more than one cd rom drive? If so, try running the install with the other drive.

Have you successfully installed anything else since you got the machine? You had said that every game you tried had the same problem. Is it just games, or is it anything you try to install?

I know this is alot of questions, but I am trying to root out the obvious things first.

Russ
My glass is neither 1/2 empty nor 1/2 full, rather, the glass itself is twice as big as it should be.
 
ATAIndy
Topic Author
Posts: 621
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:05 am

RE: FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Tue May 16, 2006 1:31 am

Quoting 777DadandJr (Reply 7):
Right click on the "My Computer" icon, on your desktop. Then click "Properties" and it will tell you at the bottom of the window that opens.

I don't know if this is what you want, but it says:
size: 104 bytes (104 bytes)
size on disk: 4.00 KB (4,096 bytes)

Quoting 777DadandJr (Reply 7):
Do you have more than one cd rom drive?

No, I only have one dvd drive. Do you think the problem could be trying to install cd-rom games on a dvd drive?

Quoting 777DadandJr (Reply 7):
Have you successfully installed anything else since you got the machine?

Yes, I have installed some games, but they're older games like Need For Speed III and the like. I can't install the newer games like sim city 4, FS9, etc.

Quoting 777DadandJr (Reply 7):
Is it just games, or is it anything you try to install?

Yes, games are the only things that fail to install.

-Feister
Boiler up! - Next flights: IND-MIA, MIA-IND
 
777DadandJr
Posts: 1484
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:37 am

RE: FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Tue May 16, 2006 2:26 am

Hey, I just did a little reserch and found this.
Try reading through this, and maybe you'll get a few ideas of things to try.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/245063/en-us

Hope this helps!

Russ
My glass is neither 1/2 empty nor 1/2 full, rather, the glass itself is twice as big as it should be.
 
ATAIndy
Topic Author
Posts: 621
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:05 am

RE: FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Tue May 16, 2006 9:35 am

Well,

I tried everything I could on the list, and the only time I got a glimpse of hope was with the c drive defragmentation. After that, FS9 was 47% installed untill it errored again, the farthest I've gotten so far. So, now I don't know what I'm going to do, but thank you so much for your help and effort. You are one of the few people on a.net who would look at someone with a problem and try to help them. Thanks again.

-Feister
Boiler up! - Next flights: IND-MIA, MIA-IND
 
777DadandJr
Posts: 1484
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:37 am

RE: FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Tue May 16, 2006 9:47 am

Quoting ATAIndy (Reply 10):
So, now I don't know what I'm going to do

Do you have another computer that you can try to install on? That would be my next step.
Even if it is on a friends computer. You can try to install, and if it works, just uninstall it. That, at least would rule out a problem with the disk itself. If you can't get it to install on a differnt computer, then I would say that the disk is bad. If you just purchased it, you can go back to the store, and exchange it, or call Microsoft directly.

I'm running out of ideas here Feister.

I hope you can resolve this. Keep me posted on your progress.

Russ
My glass is neither 1/2 empty nor 1/2 full, rather, the glass itself is twice as big as it should be.
 
dogfighter2111
Posts: 1867
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 3:02 am

RE: FS9 Install Trouble Please Help

Wed May 17, 2006 3:51 pm

Heya,

The simple reason that you have been able to install older games is because they did not require that particular .CAB file to be able to install the game.

It is quite possible that the particular.CAB file has been deleted. What i think you should do, is Click on Start --> Search. In the left hand window, click on "All Files and Folders". Then, in the top field enter:

MSGAME2.CAB

Then click on the double arrows beside where it says "More Advanced Options" and then make sure the first three boxes are checked. Then click on search.

If the file shows up, then you will know that you have it on your system. I have to rush out now, but if you tell me how you get on then i can try to help your a little more when i get back.

Thanks
Mike

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests