KPDX
Topic Author
Posts: 2373
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:04 am

Level D/Default GPS Question

Thu May 18, 2006 1:05 pm

Does anyone know how to morph the default FS9 GPS into the Level D 767?

Thanks!! Big grin

KPDX  Smile
View my aviation videos on Youtube by searching for zildjiandrummr12
 
User avatar
LTU932
Posts: 13071
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:34 am

RE: Level D/Default GPS Question

Thu May 18, 2006 3:03 pm

It would require that you place the gauge into the panel.cfg. Personally, I wouldn't recommend that because with the LDS 767, you have a fully functional FMC.
 
KPDX
Topic Author
Posts: 2373
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:04 am

RE: Level D/Default GPS Question

Fri May 19, 2006 8:03 am

I know it has a FMC, but I also want the default GPS in it.
Does anyone know what to good for example the code and all that jazz?

Thanks!  Smile
View my aviation videos on Youtube by searching for zildjiandrummr12
 
Mir
Posts: 19093
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: Level D/Default GPS Question

Fri May 19, 2006 9:59 am

Just out of curiosity, why would you want the default GPS in a Level-D 767?

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
yegspotter
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 4:15 am

RE: Level D/Default GPS Question

Sat May 20, 2006 3:29 am

I'm betting for the simplicity of use for the default GPS - it's very easy to use, whereas the FMC takes some time to learn....


Cheers...
 
KPDX
Topic Author
Posts: 2373
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:04 am

RE: Level D/Default GPS Question

Sat May 20, 2006 9:36 am

Quoting YEGspotter (Reply 4):

Exactly, now does anyone know how to morph the default GPS into the level D 767?

Thanks! Big grin

KPDX  Smile
View my aviation videos on Youtube by searching for zildjiandrummr12
 
Mir
Posts: 19093
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: Level D/Default GPS Question

Sat May 20, 2006 11:48 am

Quoting YEGspotter (Reply 4):
I'm betting for the simplicity of use for the default GPS - it's very easy to use, whereas the FMC takes some time to learn....

Forgive me for saying so, but IMHO, using the default GPS in the Level-D is like buying a champion racehorse and then cutting its legs off.

FMCs really aren't that hard to learn - take a few hours now and it'll make your flights a lot more enjoyable than just going direct with the GPS. You paid for the panel, and the FMC is a big part of that.

But that's just me.

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
Gofly
Posts: 1579
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 4:12 am

RE: Level D/Default GPS Question

Sat May 20, 2006 7:51 pm

I'm with Mir.

Trying to use the GPS in the Level D is honestly not worth the trouble. The Leveld D was designed to be flown using the FMC and not the GPS. I should imagine you will run into some probelms.

Download a POSKY 767, and use a freeware panel as an interim solution. If you need any help with anything on the LDS767, drop me a line. Once you know how to fly it properly, it becomes alot more fun!

-Gofly

[Edited 2006-05-20 13:06:15]
Living the high life on my ex-Airliners.net Moderator pension...
 
A3204eva
Posts: 1041
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 4:25 am

RE: Level D/Default GPS Question

Sat May 20, 2006 8:06 pm

The FMC is much more realistic than DCT GPS, as a real 767 (or any comercial a/c) certainly wouldn't route DCT GPS. They route via waypoints/VORs and airways as well as using SIDs/STARs where applicable  Smile

It doesn't take too long to learn, and adds a lot to your experience if trying to be realistic. Especially if you plan on doing it later in the real world Big grin
"They have lady pilots......... they're not that good, but they have 'em"
 
KPDX
Topic Author
Posts: 2373
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:04 am

RE: Level D/Default GPS Question

Sat May 20, 2006 10:15 pm

Alrighty, Ill keep trying to learn the FMC, its starting to sound a lot more fun the farther I go. Big grin

KPDX  Smile
View my aviation videos on Youtube by searching for zildjiandrummr12

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests