elcableguy77
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:25 pm

More Than Two Landing Runways

Sun Jul 30, 2006 1:38 am

Is there a way that an AFCAD can be set up to have more than two runways that FS uses for landings (as in ATL, that has three)? Does it have something to do with the number of tower frequencies, or is there something else?

Also, I have heard the star method mentioned when talking about runways. Could someone explain that to me, please?

Thanks a bunch!

[Edited 2006-07-29 18:45:18]
Former ZW F/A | "Wisconsin 72A, contact departure, see ya."
 
phatfarmlines
Posts: 1238
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 12:06 pm

RE: More Than Two Landing Runways

Sun Jul 30, 2006 7:06 am

For all-parallel runways (using MCO as an example):

Planes will be assigned the closest runway based on the direction they are coming from. For example, if MCO (Simflyers scenery) is on a south pattern, and a DL 757 from LAX will be arriving there, that flight will be assigned runway 18R since the flight is coming from the west and 18R is the westernmost runway at MCO. Likewise, a B6 320 from JFK will be assigned the newest runway at MCO, runway 17L since the flight is coming from the northeast and 17L is the easternmost runway. The routings are all GPS-based.

Having said this, there is ONE exception AI will use runway 17R at MCO, and that is for flights that are coming from YYZ. The reason is, the GPS routingbetween MCO and YYZ is a near-perfect straight line, and there is no defined approach from the west or the east.

As of this time, there is no documented study on how to manipulate the FS2004 configuration to allow more than two parallel landing runways for AI aircraft. Perhaps this will be a feature of FS10?

For crosswind runways (using ORD as an example):

This is a great example of how the AFCAD "star" runway concept can help alleviate congestion by activiating all crosswind runways for landing and takeoff. Please throughly read thispost from the ProjectAI group on how to set up "star" runways in AFCAD. It will take several tries, but its easy to get the hang of. Note that the "star" runways will not work at all-parallel airports.

Good luck!
 
elcableguy77
Posts: 466
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:25 pm

RE: More Than Two Landing Runways

Sun Jul 30, 2006 7:31 am

So, the star tecnique won't work at ATL? Darn.
EDIT: Would it not be possible to treat 9R/27L and 10/28 as a pair and, using a 180 degree difference, add 22 "star" runways? I want to check and see if it is possible before I go and try making that many runways.

Also, it seems that FS is treating 10/28 as a visual runway, and I know ILS is set up on both ends. How do I fix that?

[Edited 2006-07-30 00:41:55]
Former ZW F/A | "Wisconsin 72A, contact departure, see ya."
 
phatfarmlines
Posts: 1238
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 12:06 pm

RE: More Than Two Landing Runways

Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:47 am

Quoting Elcableguy77 (Reply 2):
EDIT: Would it not be possible to treat 9R/27L and 10/28 as a pair and, using a 180 degree difference, add 22 "star" runways? I want to check and see if it is possible before I go and try making that many runways.

Unfortunately it's been tried and not successful. The configuration is hard-coded in FS2004 and cannot be manipulated.

Quoting Elcableguy77 (Reply 2):
Also, it seems that FS is treating 10/28 as a visual runway, and I know ILS is set up on both ends. How do I fix that?

When a new runway is added in FS2004 via AFCAD that was not previously part of the stock airport (such as 10/28 in ATL), FS2004 will not recognize the added ILS. This cannot be fixed in AFCAD. A special ".bgl" file is required for FS2004 to recognize the file. Do a search at AVSIM for "Active ILS" AFCAD files created by author Jim Vile and you should be able to find AFCAD's that have the ILS code added to the AFCAD. Jim Vile also made a file for ATL for the new runway and it works well.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests