AirRyan
Topic Author
Posts: 2398
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:57 am

Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 10:05 am

I'm wondering that since Vista will not be available for perhaps up to a year after the new upcoming Flight Sim X will be released, it evidently must be designed to run (and run well) minus Vista? If this isn't the case, than how will it be running FSX until Vista is released?
 
N231YE
Posts: 2620
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:24 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:06 am

From what I have heard, the only drawback to running FSX on XP as opposed to Vista is a slight loss on graphics detail.
 
User avatar
United_fan
Posts: 6374
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2000 11:11 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:51 pm

From what I've seen,FSX runs on XP w/SP2 and Vista. It's also on DVD instead of CD's. So,some people are going to have to upgrade if they don't have a DVD or are still using Windows 98 ,ME or 2000.
Champagne For My Real Friends,and Real Pain For My Sham Friends
 
Delboy
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2001 12:57 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:10 am

FSX was designed to be run in conjunction with Vista, pure and simple.

I'm not saying it won't run with XP/SP2 but would you run your car on cooking oil instead of petrol? I think not.
 
User avatar
csturdiv
Posts: 1623
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:33 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:44 am

So far I have not had any problem with the FSX Beta on XP SP2. And think of all of the beta testers, they have XP SP2 as well, some may have betas of Vista, but more than likely a majority of them have XP SP2.
An American expat from the ORD area living and working in SYD
 
Delboy
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2001 12:57 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:20 am

The point I was trying to make was that if you have FS9 running nicely on your PC now, what's the point of running FSX without Vista. Surely FSX won't be performing to its maximum seeing as how is was designed to be run with Vista. You might as well stick with FS9!!
 
AirRyan
Topic Author
Posts: 2398
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:57 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:27 am

Quoting Delboy (Reply 3):
FSX was designed to be run in conjunction with Vista, pure and simple.

I'm not saying it won't run with XP/SP2 but would you run your car on cooking oil instead of petrol? I think not.



Quoting Delboy (Reply 5):
The point I was trying to make was that if you have FS9 running nicely on your PC now, what's the point of running FSX without Vista. Surely FSX won't be performing to its maximum seeing as how is was designed to be run with Vista. You might as well stick with FS9!!

And that is why I am wondering why MS would release FSX in October 06 if they aren't even able to release Vista until up to year later!
 
UA772IAD
Posts: 1269
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 7:43 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 4:39 am

I talked with the head IT guy at my dad's office. He had the beta version of Vista on one (of the 4) computers in his office. We looked at it and stuff. Operationally, it is no faster/better than XP. Basically, Windows has been sitting around for almost 10 years without a release, and needed to make money. The new windows looks basically, like a MAC system: with all these little "perks" on the desktop. Vista is more glassy and fluid than XP, thats about it. I don't see FS X having difficulties on XP since the core operating system is basically the same. Vista is just a facelift.
 
777DadandJr
Posts: 1484
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:37 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:04 am

On a sidebar,
Does anyone know if all the add on aircraft that we use in FS9 will work in FSX?

It would suck if it didn't.

Russ
My glass is neither 1/2 empty nor 1/2 full, rather, the glass itself is twice as big as it should be.
 
dan2002
Posts: 2024
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 7:11 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:06 am

Quoting Delboy (Reply 5):
The point I was trying to make was that if you have FS9 running nicely on your PC now, what's the point of running FSX without Vista. Surely FSX won't be performing to its maximum seeing as how is was designed to be run with Vista. You might as well stick with FS9!!

The difference between running FSX on XP and Vista arent going to be that dramatic. It's not being designed to run with vista, it was designed to take advantage or compliment the new graphics technology vista has.
A guy asks 'What's Punk?'. I kick over a trash can and its punk. He knocks over a trash can and its trendy.
 
northstardc4m
Posts: 2724
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2000 11:23 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:14 am

even WITHOUT Vista, FS-X will have a whole new look to it, many enhancements to the engine and new features, AND better graphics than FS9 even without directX 10 and Vista.
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.
 
RichardPrice
Posts: 4474
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 5:12 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:21 am

Quoting Delboy (Reply 3):
FSX was designed to be run in conjunction with Vista, pure and simple.

No, FSX was optimised for DirectX10, but it will run fine on DX9.
 
Delboy
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2001 12:57 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:58 pm

Thanks guys, I stand corrected.

It remains to be seen how the full sale version of FSX will work with existing software, there's no doubt about it, some of the visual effects I have seen from screenshots look very nice. Me, I'm going to wait a while before I buy it. Hopefully, they will have a full 'up and running' FSX at the NEC flight sim show in December,
 
DeC
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:12 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Wed Aug 23, 2006 9:40 am

No FSX for me, unless i buy a new computer soon - something i don't see happening. I run the demo at my 2.15 ghz athlon md xp 1024 ram and ati radeon x-800 gt 256mb ram agp and i get a frame rate of 5 rates or so!!!
DEC
 
N231YE
Posts: 2620
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:24 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:09 am

Quoting 777DadandJr (Reply 8):
On a sidebar,
Does anyone know if all the add on aircraft that we use in FS9 will work in FSX?

According to Microsoft, FS9 aircraft will work for FSX. However, I noticed on some FS8 (MSFS 2002) aircraft running in FS9, things such as the moving propeller and moving wheels don't work, so let's hope that things like these don't happen in FSX.
 
pilotdude09
Posts: 1335
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 12:35 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Wed Aug 23, 2006 3:25 pm

The thing that makes me laugh is all the people who want another flight sim to come out, but they arent prepared to buy this one and if there arent as many sales as Microsoft wants, they wont create/release a new version in a few years. All avid simmers should get behind X.
Qantas, Still calling Australia Home.........
 
BA787
Posts: 2381
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:40 pm

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:19 pm

Quoting Delboy (Reply 3):
cooking oil

Don't you watch Top Gear, Cooking oil can run a car instead of diesel.

 Wink

Tom
 
David L
Posts: 8552
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Wed Aug 23, 2006 9:55 pm

Quoting Delboy (Reply 3):
would you run your car on cooking oil instead of petrol? I think not.

You might if you knew you could just switch to decent fuel next year.

Quoting Delboy (Reply 5):
The point I was trying to make was that if you have FS9 running nicely on your PC now, what's the point of running FSX without Vista. Surely FSX won't be performing to its maximum seeing as how is was designed to be run with Vista. You might as well stick with FS9!!

I'm sure I'll get FSX soon after its release and look forward to improvements when I get Vista later.
 
dan2002
Posts: 2024
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 7:11 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Thu Aug 24, 2006 4:44 am

Quoting DeC (Reply 13):
No FSX for me, unless i buy a new computer soon - something i don't see happening. I run the demo at my 2.15 ghz athlon md xp 1024 ram and ati radeon x-800 gt 256mb ram agp and i get a frame rate of 5 rates or so!!!

Theres something wrong with your computer, big time.
A guy asks 'What's Punk?'. I kick over a trash can and its punk. He knocks over a trash can and its trendy.
 
DeC
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:12 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Thu Aug 24, 2006 11:40 am

Quoting Dan2002 (Reply 18):
Theres something wrong with your computer, big time.

Well, i don't think so because everything else (including fs2004 with a lot of add-on's and high resolutions) works just fine. Although what i run was the high details version of the fsx demo, not the medium settings it suggested when i firstly opened it.
DEC
 
northstardc4m
Posts: 2724
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2000 11:23 am

RE: Running Flight Sim X Without Vista?

Thu Aug 24, 2006 11:59 am

Also, the demo is not a good guage of how FS-X will actually behave, the engine in the demo is still rough and the textures are not final.
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests