KPDX
Topic Author
Posts: 2373
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:04 am

What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Aug 30, 2006 11:59 am

Hey guys, Im very bored right now so Im starting this thread. Big grin

Heres my specs:

Video Card - GeForce Nvidia 6800 GS
RAM - 1 Gig

What kind of video card do you have? (You can include RAM if you want)  Wink

KPDX  Smile
View my aviation videos on Youtube by searching for zildjiandrummr12
 
northstardc4m
Posts: 2724
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2000 11:23 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:06 pm

PC:
GeForce 6800GS Ultra (128MB, AGP 8x)
1536MB DDR RAM (PC3700)

Laptop:
Radeon X700 (64MB decicated module, no shared RAM, PCI-E)
1024MB DDR2 RAM (PC2-5300)
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.
 
Cadet57
Posts: 7174
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 2:02 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:11 pm

Laptop

ATI radeon X1600, 128mb

Desktop

nvidia geforce fx5200 128mb's
Doors open, right hand side, next stop is Springfield.
 
User avatar
csturdiv
Posts: 1608
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:33 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:14 pm

Asus GeForce 6800 PCI-X 256MB (and it has new life with my new ViewSonic 20" LCD!)
2GB DDR-2
An American expat from the ORD area living and working in SYD
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Aug 30, 2006 2:33 pm

ATI Radeon X800 AGP 256mb

I've been thinking about upgrading to an X1600, but supposedly my X800 is faster! Doesn't make sense to me but thats what the benchmark tests show.  Smile
 
User avatar
nighthawk
Posts: 4780
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2001 2:33 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:36 pm

Quoting FLY2HMO (Reply 4):
ATI Radeon X800 AGP 256mb

Snap! Got 1GB of Memory too.

I believe the X800 is the best ATI card you can get for AGP. Any later models are PCI-E only.
 
sv2008
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:05 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:55 pm

Geforce 6600GT 128mb
 
Gerry
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 1999 2:11 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:43 pm

NVIDIA 7300LE on a new Dell Dimension 9150. Terrible tearing problems with "tearing" in the scenery. Runways cut in half and displaced and so on. Latest drivers are no help. Full screen mode fixes missing bits on aircraft textures but the problems with "Views from above" are a real worry. Contacted NVIDIA but they said that they didn't make the cards just the chips. Anyone else have this problem? It isn't Dells fault and they have been incredibly helpful but NVIDIA has certainly been no help at all.

[Edited 2006-08-30 14:44:06]
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Thu Aug 31, 2006 6:15 am

Quoting Nighthawk (Reply 5):
Any later models are PCI-E only.

That's what I thought so too, until I saw a radeon X1600 in AGP. I was very close to buying it, but supposedly my X800 is better than the X1600 (save that the X800 has an older shader). I have no idea why ATI would do something like that. The only thing better than my X800 is an X1900 supposedly in benchmark tests.

Quoting Gerry (Reply 7):
NVIDIA has certainly been no help at all.

Which is why I stick to ATI. Big grin  duck 

[Edited 2006-08-30 23:19:41]
 
extremetrek
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:55 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Thu Aug 31, 2006 6:30 am

ATI Radeon X1900XT (512 MB) with the IceQ3 cooling technology....
Even scientists say...everything is just light...not created/destroyed but eternally bright!
 
Qantas744er
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 4:36 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Thu Aug 31, 2006 6:54 am

Dual Nvidia Geforce 6800 with SLI technology.
4GB RAM
Happiness is V1 in Lagos
 
backfire103
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:44 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:33 am

PC: BFG nvida GForce 7800GT
Notebook: ATi Radion Xpress 200M
 
DeC
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:12 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:18 am

I am thinking of getting an ATI X1600 PRO, 512 MB RAM, AGP. I have an ahtlon amd on 2.15 ghz and 2048 mb of ram. Anyone have this kind of card?

Thanks!
DEC
 
portcolumbus
Posts: 1574
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2000 7:10 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:22 am

ATI Radeon 9800PRO 128MB AGP
 
ac21365
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:07 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:54 pm

eVGA Nvidia Geforce 7800GT OC - 256mb
2x1gb Corsair ram 3-3-3-8 timing @ 230mHz
Opteron 148 2.2gHz running @ 2.53gHz
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Thu Aug 31, 2006 6:17 pm

P4 3.0gHz HT enabled
250GB SATA 7200RPM HD
2GB PC3200 DDR SDRAM
256MB Nvidia GeForce 6800GS OC GDDR3 PCI Express
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
Gerry
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 1999 2:11 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Thu Aug 31, 2006 10:40 pm

EA CO AS

Do you seriously have 7439 posts? 1200 or so a year or nearly 4 a day over 5 years? Is this a record?

[Edited 2006-08-31 15:41:29]
 
Continental
Posts: 5222
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2000 3:46 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Fri Sep 01, 2006 12:23 am

I need someone to laugh at this, but I have a 32mb card. I lower all my settings on FS so I get decent framerates.

SO, could someone recommend a decent card THAT'S RELATIVELY INEXPENSIVE that will improve my FS experience?

Thanks!
 
KPDX
Topic Author
Posts: 2373
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:04 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Fri Sep 01, 2006 12:43 am

Quoting Continental (Reply 17):
I need someone to laugh at this, but I have a 32mb card. I lower all my settings on FS so I get decent framerates.

SO, could someone recommend a decent card THAT'S RELATIVELY INEXPENSIVE that will improve my FS experience?

Thanks!

Im not sure what kind of video card you have now, but the Nvidia 5200 is a workhorse! I used a 5200 for 2 years before I got the Nvidia 6800 GS, and she preformed well! Normally with full ai traffic at DEN and scenery sliders set at halfway, I would get average 10-15 FPS (and thats with PAI which eats frames like crazy, thank god Ive switched to AIAardvark).

And best of all, the card is pretty cheap! ($50 USD)

KPDX  Smile
View my aviation videos on Youtube by searching for zildjiandrummr12
 
krisyyz
Posts: 1266
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 11:04 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Fri Sep 01, 2006 1:00 am

I had a BFG 6800GT OC 256MB PCI-E card, which gave me numerous headaches.

I've since bought a ATI x550 card, which is cost about 1/4 of the 6800GT and is giving my spectacular performance for what it cost.


KrisYYZ
 
BMIFlyer
Posts: 8065
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:11 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Fri Sep 01, 2006 2:44 am

I have an ATI Radeon 9800 128MB.

My PC is about 18 months old, so it will do me until Christmas when I buy a new system for FSX  Smile


Lee
Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Fri Sep 01, 2006 6:36 am

For those of you wanting to upgrade their cards, check this website out:

http://www.tomshardware.com/graphics/index.html

It has great reviews and comparisons and loads of info.

One interesting thing I learned there is that PCIe isn't much faster than AGP when comparing identical cards according to a test they made. PCIe only showed a 2% performance gain. Which is good news for those of us stuck with and AGP slot Big grin
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Fri Sep 01, 2006 6:59 am

Quoting Gerry (Reply 16):
EA CO AS

Do you seriously have 7439 posts? 1200 or so a year or nearly 4 a day over 5 years? Is this a record?

That's NOTHING - take a look at some of these other guys!

http://www.airliners.net/discussions/userlist.main?sort_order=nrposts

Number one is L-188, with over 24,000 posts since 1999. The record for posting would have to go to Falcon84, with 8400 posts since 2004.
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
N231YE
Posts: 2620
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:24 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Fri Sep 01, 2006 7:04 am

Desktop:
nVIDIA GeForce4 Ti4200 128MB (I have an additional 256MB allocated to the memory, the maximum allowed)

Tablet PC:
nVIDIA GeForce Go6200 128MB

Big recommendation for some of you guys: If you can allocate system memory to graphics via your BIOS, given that you have enough memory, do it. I tried it on my older desktop, and the graphics for a 4-year old Ti4200 are phenomenal...
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Fri Sep 01, 2006 8:16 am

Quoting N231YE (Reply 23):
Big recommendation for some of you guys: If you can allocate system memory to graphics via your BIOS, given that you have enough memory, do it.

How do you do that? I'm relatively inexperienced when it comes to tweaking my computer's performance, so I'm not sure I'm getting the most out of it.  Sad
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
jetmatt777
Crew
Posts: 2854
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 2:16 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Fri Sep 01, 2006 8:27 am

Quoting KPDX (Reply 18):

Where do you buy that card at? I need something better than whati've got
Lighten up while you still can, don't even try to understand, just find a place to make your stand and take it easy
 
flynlr
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 4:12 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Fri Sep 01, 2006 6:05 pm

ATI X800Pro. unlocked to 16 pipes OC'd to 545/610 Arctic cooling added and this thing idles at 32C and at full bore hits 50C very nice.


never have framerate problems with all aftermarket programs.
The Right of the People to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed
 
noelg
Posts: 2313
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:39 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Fri Sep 01, 2006 6:51 pm

I don't think a graphics card is the be all and end all, I use the onboard 32MB graphics in my Dell GX260, 1GB RAM, 2.4Ghz processor and run FS2004 with full AI and scenery, and get quite acceptable frame rates.

As a guide I normally get 18-22fps at airports and 30-35 in flight with nothing around, which is perfectly fine (even with all the payware addons I have, PMDG etc etc).
 
N231YE
Posts: 2620
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:24 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Sat Sep 02, 2006 12:53 am

Quoting EA CO AS (Reply 24):
How do you do that? I'm relatively inexperienced when it comes to tweaking my computer's performance, so I'm not sure I'm getting the most out of it.

It depends on your computer. From what I know and heard, you can't allocate memory on laptops. If you are doing this off a desktop, then first, you want to check your system manual. Usually, when you boot up your computer, you get that black screen with white letters, and maybe some logos. The letters are basically the BIOS testing the memory, PCI, etc... When the computer is doing this, press F2 a few times to get to BIOS. Then go through the menus, and you should see in the very last menu, an VGA menu allocation (at least that is what's on my desktop). Set it up to a higher value, but make sure your computer has enough memory (RAM). Then be sure to save changes, and exit. The computer should now reboot, and hopefully, you will see an improvement in graphics.
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Sat Sep 02, 2006 2:24 am

Quoting N231YE (Reply 28):
press F2 a few times to get to BIOS.

Just a heads up to others, sometimes you need to use the "delete" key on some BIOS programs.
 
777DadandJr
Posts: 1484
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:37 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Sat Sep 02, 2006 3:40 am

Currently I am running an ATI Radeon 9600Pro (128M DDR) with 1Ghz system memory, w/ AMD64 3200+

Works well for most things.
It gets a little choppy in FS with the most complex scenery, but for the most part it runs pretty smooth.

Russ
My glass is neither 1/2 empty nor 1/2 full, rather, the glass itself is twice as big as it should be.
 
N231YE
Posts: 2620
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:24 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Sat Sep 02, 2006 10:07 am

Quoting FLY2HMO (Reply 29):
Just a heads up to others, sometimes you need to use the "delete" key on some BIOS programs.

Thats correct. Thats why I said to consult the computer's manual to be sure. On both of my computers, its F2, but I know that some BOIS systems are different.
 
sv2008
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:05 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Sat Sep 02, 2006 11:38 pm

Quoting Noelg (Reply 27):
I don't think a graphics card is the be all and end all, I use the onboard 32MB graphics in my Dell GX260, 1GB RAM, 2.4Ghz processor and run FS2004 with full AI and scenery, and get quite acceptable frame rates.

As a guide I normally get 18-22fps at airports and 30-35 in flight with nothing around, which is perfectly fine (even with all the payware addons I have, PMDG etc etc).

No, the CPU is, but the video card is a very close second.

With a good graphics card you'd double that frame rate, AND run it at the next highest res. I've had many pcs and different graphics card, i'm fairly confident you'd see that.

On board cards are terrible, no exceptions. Spend the money, it's well worth it, you'll wonder why you didn't do it earlier.

I don't know what a Dell G329239 is, it means nothing (all that counts is the hardware they put inside, the brand is just brand) but assuming it's a desktop, buy a GF6800 for about £90. You'll need it for vista anyway (if you intend to upgrade), but it'll be a massive improvement on what you have.

[Edited 2006-09-02 16:39:26]

[Edited 2006-09-02 16:40:21]
 
jdl1527
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 1:55 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:57 am

Lappy
x1400 256mb hyper-memory (128mb on board) pci-e
1024MB

PC1
geForce 6600 GT 128mb agp
1024MB

PC2
geForce 7800 GT OC 256mb pci-e
2048MB

im thinking of upgrading this to a SLI setup but my board only supports SLI 8x and i think if i was going to spend the money on another card i would go with an SLI 16x board.

im a little peeved that i did not go with a SLI 16x board right out of the box. but seeing as how i got a $120 board for $40 its not that big of a deal.
 
SInGAPORE_AIR
Posts: 11619
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2000 4:06 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Sun Sep 03, 2006 11:15 pm

I have a 64MB nVidia GeForce GO card.

But when I phoned Dell they said that they don't want to upgrade my graphics card (Inspiron 8600c notebook) due to "comptability issues".

Is it true? I'm leaning towards it must be considering I'm trying to throw money at them and they won't take it.
Anyone can fly, only the best Soar.
 
DeC
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:12 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Sun Sep 03, 2006 11:37 pm

Screw the ati, i just got myself a shiny new and extremely powerful agp card (yeah i know, i still haven't upgraded to pci-e nor will i plan to do so soon, but this is the best you can get for your agp board)

EVGA GeForce 7800 GS CO OverClock Edition 256MB - AGP 8X - with Extreme Overclocking from the factory (430MHz Core & 1300MHz GDDR3 Memory) AGP 8X video card.

Features and Spec

*
EVGA GeForce™ 7800 GS CO OverClock Edition 256MB - AGP 8X
*
AGP 8X
*
Memory 256MB GDDR3
*
Memory Interface 256-bit
*
Graphics Core 256-bit
*
Core Clock 430MHz (OverClockable up to 490MHz)
*
Memory Clock 1300MHz (OverClockable up to 1400MHz)
*
RAMDAC Dual 400MHz
*
Connectors: DVI-I, HDTV
*
7.5 Billion Pixels/sec Fill Rate
*
650 Million Vertices/sec
*
43.2 GB/sec Memory Bandwidth
*
16 Pixel Pipelines

Image on:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...%3AMEWN%3AIT&rd=1#ebayphotohosting

On $347.99, it's quite expensive but what can i do? Wish i hadn't been attracted to fs2004.....never! And to think that i only got it for that one, as i don't play anything else on my pc!
DEC
 
mika
Posts: 2810
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2000 7:53 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Mon Sep 04, 2006 6:48 am

Nvidia GF7800GTX 256MB, 1536MB RAM and 3,6Ghz P4.
 
DeC
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 5:12 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Mon Sep 04, 2006 2:47 pm

Quoting Mika (Reply 36):
Nvidia GF7800GTX 256MB, 1536MB RAM and 3,6Ghz P4.

Are you satisfied with it? How many fps you get on average? Thanks!
DEC
 
speedbird128
Posts: 1562
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 2:30 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Sep 13, 2006 5:07 am

CPU: Intel Core2 Duo Extreme X6800
Graphics: XFX 7950GX2 1Gb 520MHz
RAM: 4Gb Corsair XMS2 1066MHz DDRII-PC2/8500
A306, A313, A319, A320, A321, A332, A343, A345, A346 A388, AC90, B06, B722, B732, B733, B735, B738, B744, B762, B772, B7
 
Halcyon
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:47 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Sep 13, 2006 6:54 am

Quoting Speedbird128 (Reply 38):
Intel Core2

Gosh, you beat the crap out of me, but I hate INTEL! Ick.

Now, for mine:
CPU: (Socket AM2) AMD Athlon(TM)64 X2 4600+ Dual-Core CPU w/ HyperTransport Technology

DUAL: NVIDIA Geforce 7600 GS 512MB PCI Express x16 Video Card
Does anyone know if it's worth upgrading to the massively more expensive 7900 512 MBs in dual, or will this be fast enough for the next FS? I just ordered this computer.

CD:16X DVD+/-R/+/-RW + CD-R/RW DRIVE DUAL LAYER

CD2: 16X DVD ROM

FAN: AMD ATHLON64 CERTIFIED CPU FAN & HEATSINK + 3 EXTRA CASE FANS

160GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 8M Cache 7200RPM Hard Drive PLUS the same spec External Drive, too.

MOUSE: I-Rocks Superman SP-7000 800dpi Optical Mouse

MOTHERBOARD: (Socket AM2) GigaByte GA-M55SLI-S4 nForce4 SLI Chipset DDR2/800 SATA 16x PCI-Express MBoard w/GbLAN,IEEE1394,USB2.0,&7.1Audio

MEMORY: (Req.DDR2 MainBoard)1GB (2x512MB) PC6400 DDR2/800 Dual Channel Memory (Thinking about getting two gigs, don't know what performance gain I'd get though...)

POWER: 680W BEAST POWER ATX Power Supply


Oh, yeah, and this mouse:


I know, it's sad, but I LOVE the mouse.

So, any computer geniuses, will my PC run Vista well, and will its graphics card setup work for most games?

Thanks!

Lucas  Smile
 
skyhigh777
Posts: 334
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 7:07 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Sep 13, 2006 7:23 am

I am planning on buying a new computer sometime in the near future. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I should look for? What would be a good computer to buy in order to successfuly run fs2004 or, even better, fsx. I use a Dell GX15 now and I am sick of the horrible frame rates I get in MSFS. I was going to get a new graphics card for it, but a friend of mine said it may not improve frame rates because of the processor. Anyone have any suggestions for me?

Thanks!
Prepare for take-off.
 
sv2008
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:05 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Sep 13, 2006 8:39 am

Quoting SkyHigh777 (Reply 40):
I am planning on buying a new computer sometime in the near future. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I should look for? What would be a good computer to buy in order to successfuly run fs2004 or, even better, fsx. I use a Dell GX15 now and I am sick of the horrible frame rates I get in MSFS. I was going to get a new graphics card for it, but a friend of mine said it may not improve frame rates because of the processor. Anyone have any suggestions for me?

Well first thing to do is forget about brands.

Many people write on forums " I just bought a brand new Dell so it'll run everything perfectly!!!!!". No it won't.

It's what inside that counts.

Personally I would wait for a year until Vista is released, but if I had to buy a computer tomorrow, it would probably be:

AMD 4800+ X2
Geforce 7900GT
4GB ram

Everyone has preferences for intel/AMD and Nvidia/Ati though. I usually buy Intel but my next CPU will be an AMD.
 
markyboy
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 6:48 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Tue Sep 19, 2006 6:16 am

Quoting Sv2008 (Reply 41):
Personally I would wait for a year until Vista is released, but if I had to buy a computer tomorrow, it would probably be:

AMD 4800+ X2
Geforce 7900GT
4GB ram

Everyone has preferences for intel/AMD and Nvidia/Ati though. I usually buy Intel but my next CPU will be an AMD.

I am an AMD/NVIDIA man. Currently I am running the AMD Athlon 64 4800+X2 with two GF7800 GTX cards and 4GB RAM.

I custom spec'd the machine specifically for flightsim and spent nearly £2000 in the end! She runs sweet as a nut anywhere with everything up, shed loads of add ons to boot. However you do need to lock down the frame rate for it all to run smooth or it just keeps trying to pump out the frames. I have been told the human eye cannot detect more than 30 fps and so i added a further 10% and locked mine at 33 fps. On the rare occasion I check the frame rate i never see it lower than 32.8 fps anywhere. I have never been a fan of judging things by frame rate numbers, rather the smoothness and appearance and what matters most to me.

Dual core processors and multi GPU systems may seem a bit of overkill right now but i am sure the add on developers and MS do their level best to leave me with an obselete dinosaur in next to no time.


markyboy.
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Tue Sep 19, 2006 9:23 am

Quoting Halcyon (Reply 39):
DUAL: NVIDIA Geforce 7600 GS 512MB PCI Express x16 Video Card
Does anyone know if it's worth upgrading to the massively more expensive 7900 512 MBs in dual, or will this be fast enough for the next FS? I just ordered this computer.

You spent all that on your rig but couldn't pony up the ten extra bucks for a wireless mouse?  Wink
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
Halcyon
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:47 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Tue Sep 19, 2006 12:21 pm

Quoting EA CO AS (Reply 43):
You spent all that on your rig but couldn't pony up the ten extra bucks for a wireless mouse?

Actually, I have another rig at home, 2 GB ram, X2 4800, Geforce 7800 and crap, but it also has a wireless set with it and the batteries die every three minutes...lol...got a cheap set I think.

Nah, I always upgrade in the end, but for no extra money I could get a Superman mouse and I'm a nerd...only wish it was a Kevin Spacey Lex Luthur mouse.  Wink

What is a good wireless mouse, BTW? I was just looking at some today, and actually would buy one. The dorm is too cramped for all sorts of wires everywhere!
 
sv2008
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:05 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Tue Sep 19, 2006 9:02 pm

Quoting Markyboy (Reply 42):
I custom spec'd the machine specifically for flightsim and spent nearly £2000 in the end! She runs sweet as a nut anywhere with everything up, shed loads of add ons to boot. However you do need to lock down the frame rate for it all to run smooth or it just keeps trying to pump out the frames. I have been told the human eye cannot detect more than 30 fps and so i added a further 10% and locked mine at 33 fps. On the rare occasion I check the frame rate i never see it lower than 32.8 fps anywhere. I have never been a fan of judging things by frame rate numbers, rather the smoothness and appearance and what matters most to me.

Dual core processors and multi GPU systems may seem a bit of overkill right now but i am sure the add on developers and MS do their level best to leave me with an obsolete dinosaur in next to no time.

Typically it's more than 60fps your eye can't detect.

But some people run their games at 200fps or more - the idea is, when a lot of stuff appears on screen on suddenly, the frame rate will drop 'only' to 60fps.

I don't like slow frame rates, but anything over 25fps is OK. Below that, it's noticeable.
 
brianw999
Posts: 307
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2003 3:15 am

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Sep 20, 2006 4:29 am

ATI X550 256mb RAM.
3.2 gig P4. 1Gb RAM.

Runs FS9 at a steady 25fps (set as target framerate).

...and from what I've been seeing and hearing I don't think I'll be getting FS10 !
 
Halcyon
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:47 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Sep 20, 2006 4:52 am

Quoting Halcyon (Reply 39):
Does anyone know if it's worth upgrading to the massively more expensive 7900 512 MBs in dual, or will this be fast enough for the next FS?

Ahh, well I upgraded anyway, so I shall have no worries! Thanks to all who emailed me!

Lucas
 
sv2008
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:05 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:14 am

If by dual you mean SLI I think it is a waste of money. 10% fps increase for 200% of the cost makes no sense  Smile
 
Halcyon
Posts: 1622
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:47 pm

RE: What Kind Of Video Card Do You Have?

Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:31 am

Quoting Sv2008 (Reply 48):
If by dual you mean SLI I think it is a waste of money. 10% fps increase for 200% of the cost makes no sense

Do you mean like one card as opposed to two, or over the 7600s? Here's what I found: (3DMark06)
7900 SLI-9467
7900 (single)-5652
7600 SLI-7564
7600-5652

That's enough of a difference too me, and it only cost $30 more thanks to some looking around and techreport.com.  Smile

However, I think I do not understand what you are saying, and I'll blame it on constipation.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests