COERJ145
Topic Author
Posts: 1140
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 7:22 am

How To Start FS2004 With Engines Not Running

Mon Oct 09, 2006 1:40 pm

How do I set it so that the engines do not start automatically when you load FS2004?

Thanks!
 
AC773
Posts: 1700
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 6:03 am

RE: How To Start FS2004 With Engines Not Running

Mon Oct 09, 2006 1:45 pm

The short answer is.............you can't.

What you can do is load FS normally, shut off the engines and systems, and save it as a scenario. A little more work, but it's functional nonetheless.  Smile
Better to be nouveau than never to have been riche at all.
 
User avatar
United_fan
Posts: 6356
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2000 11:11 am

RE: How To Start FS2004 With Engines Not Running

Tue Oct 10, 2006 8:20 am

I know there was a download that started fs with the engines off. Not sure if it worked in FS9.
Champagne For My Real Friends,and Real Pain For My Sham Friends
 
OB1504
Posts: 2985
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 5:10 am

RE: How To Start FS2004 With Engines Not Running

Tue Oct 10, 2006 9:20 am

What I did was assign a keyboard combination for automatic engine shutoff. Every time I load the simulator, I hit "Ctrl + Y" as soon as the panel comes up. Of course, this point is moot on some payware aircraft that allow you to start up "Cold and Dark".
 
northstardc4m
Posts: 2724
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2000 11:23 am

RE: How To Start FS2004 With Engines Not Running

Tue Oct 10, 2006 11:33 am

*sigh*...

Save scenario with engines off
Set as Default Scenario

Now no matter what you choose for location/aircraft/etc the engines will be shutdown.
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.
 
AlexPorter
Posts: 1655
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:10 am

RE: How To Start FS2004 With Engines Not Running

Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:26 pm

I basically do ctrl-shift-f1 right away, pretend that the aircraft just pulled up to the gate, and it's ready for its three-minute turnaround!
Last Flight: SCX701 MSP-PHX B738 8Jan2008
 
airbusA346
Posts: 7284
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:05 am

RE: How To Start FS2004 With Engines Not Running

Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:11 am

I swear there is a program that you can download from AVSIM, that starts all flight 'Cold and Dark'.

Tom.
Tom Walker '086' First Officer of a A318/A319 for Air Lambert - Hours Flown: 17 hour 05 minutes (last updated 24/12/05).
 
Glom
Posts: 2051
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2005 2:38 am

RE: How To Start FS2004 With Engines Not Running

Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:59 am

The problem is with stock simulations, is that the lack of functionality of the aircraft systems means you can't power up from cold and dark.
 
KALB
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2000 12:33 pm

RE: How To Start FS2004 With Engines Not Running

Fri Oct 13, 2006 4:19 am

I do it all the time. Set up a flight through your flight planner. Turn off engine or engines, wait for them to wind down. Shut down avionics and battery. Save the flight and make it the default flight. Next time you boot up FS9, you'll have an airplane that you start up according to the check list. From there you can change aircraft, airports, and flight plans.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests