CO737
Topic Author
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2000 5:17 am

FSX Engine Feathering Problem

Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:32 am

Hi All,
I've been having a problem feathering engines with FSX. I follow the proper procedure (throttle idle, prop lever full aft, and mixture cutoff) but the engine never feathers itself, the prop on the dead engine just continues spinning. I was wondering if anyone else had this problem and if there is any fix.
Thanks
 
tbanger
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 6:11 pm

RE: FSX Engine Feathering Problem

Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:45 am

Which aircraft?

I've only tried the C208. Kingair and Goose and they all feathered OK.
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: FSX Engine Feathering Problem

Fri Dec 01, 2006 8:58 am

Quoting CO737 (Thread starter):
I was wondering if anyone else had this problem and if there is any fix.

FSX doesn't seem to simulate feathering, at least visually. To get the prop to actually stop in the baron, I had to go down all the way to stall speed. Totally unrealistic.

In real life, the second you pull back the prop lever into the feather position, that prop will stop almost instantly.
 
CO737
Topic Author
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2000 5:17 am

RE: FSX Engine Feathering Problem

Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:40 pm

Quoting Tbanger (Reply 1):
Which aircraft?

So far, the only ones that I've tried have been in the King Air, Baron, and DC-3. Which come to think of it are most of the twin engine props for FSX. I haven't tried the Goose, but I assume the same thing would happen as it doesn't work on the other planes.

Quoting FLY2HMO (Reply 2):
To get the prop to actually stop in the baron, I had to go down all the way to stall speed. Totally unrealistic.

That's very disappointing and a step back from FS9, which did a good job of simulating engine feathering. Oh well, I guess I'll have to keep plugging away and see if I can figure it out.

Thanks for the responses.
 
tbanger
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 6:11 pm

RE: FSX Engine Feathering Problem

Sat Dec 02, 2006 6:46 am

Quoting FLY2HMO (Reply 2):
FSX doesn't seem to simulate feathering, at least visually.

Correct....sort of. The blade angle remains fixed after the prop has stopped. The visual stopping of the prop does happen though.

Quoting FLY2HMO (Reply 2):
In real life, the second you pull back the prop lever into the feather position, that prop will stop almost instantly.

OK.....in typing this reply I just fire up FSX and jumped in the Baron to see what happens to me. I shutdown number 2 and immediately saw the same as you guys. I also found out why. I used the throtte on the joysick to idle, CTRL/SHIFT/F1keys to get mixture cutoff and the Ctrl/F1 key to bring the prop lever all the way back. The result was a windmilling prop. Then I held the Ctrl/F2 keys down for about a second and the prop immediately feathered.

I remembered that this is what I do with the Kingair. There is a gate that the prop lever needs to come through between full slow and feather. If you are using the mouse to drag the lever, then it should go through the gate with no problem. I have just tried all twin aircraft in FSX and they all feather within a second or so. I always had to use the same technique in FS9.

To some this up, it is your technique. There is nothing wrong with FSX. You just aren't getting the prop lever into feather. You are merely selecting full slow prop.

I hope these instructions are clear as I can imagine it would be quite frustrating and a little difficult to fly like this.

Let me know if you are still having trouble and I wil try to explain it a little clearer.
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: FSX Engine Feathering Problem

Sat Dec 02, 2006 11:33 am

Quoting Tbanger (Reply 4):
Then I held the Ctrl/F2 keys down for about a second and the prop immediately feathered.

OMG I can't believe I forgot about that. You're right, thats the proper way to do it.
 
CO737
Topic Author
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2000 5:17 am

RE: FSX Engine Feathering Problem

Mon Dec 04, 2006 2:21 pm

Quoting Tbanger (Reply 4):
Then I held the Ctrl/F2 keys down for about a second and the prop immediately feathered.

Yup, that did it. I guess that it makes sense, I was just used to FS9 and being able to hit Ctrl+F1 and have the prop feather. Thanks a lot for your help!
 
tbanger
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 6:11 pm

RE: FSX Engine Feathering Problem

Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:22 pm

Quoting CO737 (Reply 6):
I was just used to FS9 and being able to hit Ctrl+F1 and have the prop feather.

I hate to burst your bubble, BUT FS9 was no different. You still need to feather the prop (Ctrl F2).......full slow or full course (Ctrl F1) won't cause the prop to feather.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests