jamesjimlb
Posts: 940
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 11:48 am

Fsx And Fs2004 Mistake With Sxm...

Fri Dec 01, 2006 7:44 am

when i looked at a REAL picture of SXM i realized how much smaller fsx and fs2004 made it. in fs2004 there is a tiny teminal and little parking space.
in fsx it is slightly better (i saw a 747-400) but it is still like fs2004's.
if you have an opinion,statement (etc.) please respond

,james
The sky is no longer the limit, but the mere minimum
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: Fsx And Fs2004 Mistake With Sxm...

Fri Dec 01, 2006 8:45 am

Most airports in FS9 and FSX are relatively basic. There are relatively few that provide greater accuracy, although there are supposed to be more in FSX. It's not a mistake, it's just a limitation of modelling tens of thousands of airports.
 
Mir
Posts: 19093
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: Fsx And Fs2004 Mistake With Sxm...

Fri Dec 01, 2006 9:20 am

I have yet to come across an airport in FS that isn't smaller than it is in real life - I'm not sure why.

But if you're talking about the new SXM terminal, that obviously wasn't around when FS2004 was being developed, and probably got built too late to be included in FSX.

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
malaysia
Posts: 2615
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 1999 3:26 am

RE: Fsx And Fs2004 Mistake With Sxm...

Fri Dec 01, 2006 9:43 am

Same goes with the new BKK airport too
There Are Those Who Believe That There May Yet Be Other Airlines Who Even Now Fight To Survive Beyond The Heavens
 
Gary2880
Posts: 1856
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:52 pm

RE: Fsx And Fs2004 Mistake With Sxm...

Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:29 pm

and FS2004 is too flat! RAF Tornado pilots can go skelping through the Cairngorms. according to microsoft Scotland is all but flat!
Patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel :- Samuel Johnson
 
David L
Posts: 8547
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: Fsx And Fs2004 Mistake With Sxm...

Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:28 pm

Quoting Gary2880 (Reply 4):
according to microsoft Scotland is all but flat!

I'll need to check that out. The first flight simulator I used was the SubLogik predecessor to MSFS. In that, Scotland was not only flat but tartan, too!
 
jamesbuk
Posts: 3712
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:52 pm

RE: Fsx And Fs2004 Mistake With Sxm...

Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:25 am

Just out of interest. MSFS has 20,000 airports, therefore 20K afcads. How long does it take to make all these and how many people are on the team?

Rgds --James--
You cant have your cake and eat it... What the hells the point in having it then!!!
 
phatfarmlines
Posts: 1236
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 12:06 pm

RE: Fsx And Fs2004 Mistake With Sxm...

Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:33 am

For FS2004's SXM, you can search for a modified AFCAD that will add additional parking space (particulary for heavies) to the west of the main yellow terminal. This was left out of the default, which is actually a construction site for the new terminal. I highly recommend this especially if you use Ultimate Traffic, otherwise parking will be quite tight at SXM.
 
QantasA380
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:22 pm

RE: Fsx And Fs2004 Mistake With Sxm...

Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:45 am

Quoting Malaysia (Reply 3):
Same goes with the new BKK airport too

Interesting that someone should mention this... I was flying around in FS2004 Thailand just last night, took off from Bangkok (the 'old' one) RWY21R, made a quick left turn to head towards Samui. After a couple of minutes, I noticed a rather large airport with no runways, etc, just terminal buildings. The buildings themselves seem to be the same shape as the new Bangkok airport (Suvarnabhumi), and yet I haven't added anything to the Bangkok area. Did MS plonk the buildings there when they made FS2004 and just not put a facility file with it???

Cheers,

Rowan
Virgin Blue - what colour's RED????
 
gunsontheroof
Posts: 3226
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 8:30 am

RE: Fsx And Fs2004 Mistake With Sxm...

Tue Dec 05, 2006 5:23 am

Quoting Jamesbuk (Reply 6):
Just out of interest. MSFS has 20,000 airports, therefore 20K afcads. How long does it take to make all these and how many people are on the team?

Not really important. Even the the default AFCAD files for the more detailed airports aren't very good. Just about any extensive realism in MSFS is going to come from add-on developers. Personally, I'm fine with that...all I care about is Microsoft giving them a solid platform to work off of, which unfortunately, they haven't done with FSX.
 
Cessna057
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:24 am

RE: Fsx And Fs2004 Mistake With Sxm...

Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:41 am

Quoting Gunsontheroof (Reply 9):
Not really important. Even the the default AFCAD files for the more detailed airports aren't very good. Just about any extensive realism in MSFS is going to come from add-on developers. Personally, I'm fine with that...all I care about is Microsoft giving them a solid platform to work off of, which unfortunately, they haven't done with FSX.

I agree. Another problem with making all of the airports totaly realistic is proformance. If every airport had an accurate representaion of that airport he file would be WAY to big. I think its better that we can just go on and add freeware / payware in order to make the airports which we fly at frequently better..
Hold it . . . Hold it . . . HOLD THE FREAKIN NOSE UP!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests