MCIGuy
Topic Author
Posts: 1445
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 8:15 am

FSX Issues

Fri Jan 05, 2007 5:41 pm

Man, I really love this sim, but I'm starting to be disappointed with it in many ways. I have a P4/3.2 Ghz. system with a Radeon 9700 Pro video card and 2 gigs of RAM. For some reason, I can't turn the scenery setting up past "medium low" or my screen goes psychedelic and my system hard locks. I noticed that this turned off most of the airport terminals so I obviously can't use the fuel truck and jetway options. It's still a great sim, so I said "ok, I can live with that". However, it seems to have taken away more than just airport terminals. When I flew the first training mission in the ultralight out of Edwards AFB it was amazing! I did the mission and then turned toward the base. Wow, all sorts of cool planes on the ground! There were two 747's, five F-22's (with "TY" tail markings, Tyndall?), some F-18's and some B-52's! "How cool", I thought, until I tried the same thing in "Free Flight". There was nothing, just one truck and the Space Shuttle. I have to believe this is a matter of the scenery settings. If so, I guess I'm out of luck. This makes me disappointed enough with the sim to put it away until I get a faster computer/video card. I tried playing around with the settings within the "medium high" setting, stil no luck, locks up every time I'm flying. Is there some other setting I can use to get the non-moving ground aircraft? Is there something else I'm missing?
I can't imagine what kind of a system you'd need to go full-on with FSX.

PS> Any suggestions as to why this setting locks up my system would also be highly appreciated. It is definitely the scenery setting, "medium high" = lock-up on the first flight, "medium low" = hours of trouble-free flight.

[Edited 2007-01-05 09:44:05]
Airliners.net Moderator Team
 
MCIGuy
Topic Author
Posts: 1445
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 8:15 am

RE: FSX Issues

Fri Jan 05, 2007 7:28 pm

FIXED, sort of. I think I got it to work with the "medium high" scenery setting. I forgot that I'd manually tried to crank up the frame rate, so I let it choose this time (20 fps) and it seems to be stable now. I also turned down the "Global texture resolution" in the "Graphics" settings to "medium" and it seemed to help a lot. It's a lot less choppy than when I tried to use that setting before in fact, it looks pretty good. This was a low-level flight around Kansas City departing from 0L8. I flew pretty low the whole time and made several low passes over Arrowhead Stadium. I still don't get the military planes on the ground at EDW. I guess that's either a special deal for the training flight or you have to have a monster system and turn the detail way up.  

[Edited 2007-01-05 11:32:16]
Airliners.net Moderator Team
 
MCIGuy
Topic Author
Posts: 1445
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 8:15 am

RE: FSX Issues

Mon Jan 08, 2007 4:56 am

NAILED IT!!!
I got it dialed in now and I'm getting 30 FPS, shhh-wheat!  Smile
Airliners.net Moderator Team
 
jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

RE: FSX Issues

Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:07 am

Glad you got it sorted, Lucky Little * 30 FPS lol
 
pjflysfast
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 11:05 pm

RE: FSX Issues

Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:13 am

I just went in and set my settings to the same as yours and am going to try it out. I will be back with a report.
 
David L
Posts: 8553
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: FSX Issues

Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:03 am

Quoting MCIGuy (Reply 2):
I got it dialed in now and I'm getting 30 FPS

And some people said it couldn't be done.  Smile
 
pjflysfast
Posts: 442
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 11:05 pm

RE: FSX Issues

Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:59 am

I have mine at different settings and it works fine. Thanks for the advice though.
 
MCIGuy
Topic Author
Posts: 1445
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 8:15 am

RE: FSX Issues

Tue Jan 09, 2007 3:27 pm

I have two setting configurations, one named "Detail" and one named "Performance". The "Performance" is the one I'm talking about.
Here are my settings:

http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n26/formattc/fsxset1.jpg
http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n26/formattc/fsxset2.jpg
http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n26/formattc/fsxset3.jpg
http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n26/formattc/fsxset4.jpg
http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n26/formattc/fsxset5.jpg


Hope this helps someone.  Smile

Matt C.

[Edited 2007-01-09 07:45:07]
Airliners.net Moderator Team
 
QFA380
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: FSX Issues

Tue Jan 09, 2007 4:37 pm

Quoting MCIGuy (Reply 7):

I've changed my settings to yours, not sure how it will go as some things I brought some down and others went up.
 
MCIGuy
Topic Author
Posts: 1445
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 8:15 am

RE: FSX Issues

Tue Jan 09, 2007 4:52 pm

Quoting QFA380 (Reply 8):

Yeah, you have to make a few changes manually. That's what makes your settings show as "custom" in the pull down.  Smile
Airliners.net Moderator Team
 
QFA380
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: FSX Issues

Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:13 pm

Quoting MCIGuy (Reply 9):
Yeah, you have to make a few changes manually. That's what makes your settings show as "custom" in the pull down. Smile

I did have it Custom, but I really couldn't be bothered doing trial and error to get it right. I just said, I think it might get this and each time my system performed better than expected so I upped the settings.
 
MCIGuy
Topic Author
Posts: 1445
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 8:15 am

RE: FSX Issues

Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:20 pm

Quoting QFA380 (Reply 10):

Sorry, wasn't being rude, just didn't understand.
Glad it worked out for you.  Smile
Airliners.net Moderator Team
 
MCIGuy
Topic Author
Posts: 1445
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 8:15 am

RE: FSX Issues

Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:50 am

UPDATE:

It turns out that the settings in FSX had nothing to do with it's locking up my system. Apparently, I have one of the "winlogon" viruses.
Last night, my FSX started slowing down during just navigating the menus and it suddenly locked up, on the menus, not actual flying. Only this time, it let me do a normal shutdown, not just a reset. I shot the error report off to MS as soon as it came back up and they immediately responded with "your computer is infected withe the winlogon trojan virus". Too bad it wasn't more specific. There are several variations of it and most if not all hide from antivirus software. Looks like this one's going to be rough. Ugh.
 Sad
Airliners.net Moderator Team
 
QFA380
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: FSX Issues

Fri Jan 12, 2007 9:34 pm

Quoting MCIGuy (Reply 12):

Must suck dude, heres hoping that it works out for you.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos