QFA380
Topic Author
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Fri Jan 12, 2007 5:44 pm

Hey all.

Recently FS9 has been playing up. Here is what Microsoft has to say about the problem and solution:Right Here

Now I have tried all of these and none have worked.

I rang Microsoft but they will charge me $50 because I use add-ons. So I was hoping some of you guys would be able to help me out or suggest something.

PS: I am very sorry if this has been posted before (I'm sure it has), searches were made, threads were not found.

Thanks in advance.
 
airfoilsguy
Posts: 3485
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 7:28 am

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Fri Jan 12, 2007 7:35 pm

My suggestion would be to take the last add on you put in and get rid of it. That is what is probably screwing up your system. That is the easy way out.
It's not a near miss it's a near hit!!
 
QFA380
Topic Author
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:34 pm

Quoting Airfoilsguy (Reply 1):
My suggestion would be to take the last add on you put in and get rid of it. That is what is probably screwing up your system. That is the easy way out.

It sucks cos my last add-on was PSS 757, which I paid AU$75 for. Although yeah, I have uninstalled it already and it still doesn't work.

Unfortunately I think it may have been Vista Australis, although I got rid of that once it started playing up and it still doesn't work.

It badly sucks...
 
User avatar
csturdiv
Posts: 1623
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:33 am

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Fri Jan 12, 2007 9:50 pm

So what exactly happens with your FS9? Lately I have been having FS9 crash on me when I load a flight, but this is caused by an online gaming app called XFire. When I disable XFire, FS9 loads without a problem. Since I am not playing online with FS9, I do not need XFire running, which XFire shows what game I am playing, the server IP and other information for my friends to see and gives them the choice of joining me on that server.
An American expat from the ORD area living and working in SYD
 
Qantas744er
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 4:36 am

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:40 am

Quoting QFA380 (Reply 2):
Unfortunately I think it may have been Vista Australis, although I got rid of that once it started playing up and it still doesn't work.

Hell Yeah! they did a great add-on but no real installed-uninstaller..

Im guessing like me by getting rid of it it deleted all your scenerey files because their backup is corrupt. I had to re-install my whole FS because of them and i wa so pissed.

The only thing you can do is back up all you fs-planes etc. scenery and re-install FS9 + delete the flight simulator 9 folder.

Leo
You live and you die, by the FMA
 
jamesbuk
Posts: 3712
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:52 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:43 am

To be honest, i think the best thing to do is a complete uninstall and reinstall.

If theres a corrupt scenery file, its easier and quicker to reinstall than to get sent it.

Not sure if FS9 provides a repair button, if so you could try that.

Rgds --James--
You cant have your cake and eat it... What the hells the point in having it then!!!
 
jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sat Jan 13, 2007 2:16 am

Quoting Jamesbuk (Reply 5):
Not sure if FS9 provides a repair button, if so you could try that.

Yea on the start menu go to:

Start
Programs
Microsoft Games
Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004
Restore Settings
 
jamesbuk
Posts: 3712
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:52 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sat Jan 13, 2007 2:35 am

Quoting Jamesbaldwyn (Reply 6):

That will only put the graphic qualitys down, what he needs is to overwrite some files, so he needs to insert CD1 and let it overwrite some folders.

Rgds --James--
You cant have your cake and eat it... What the hells the point in having it then!!!
 
QFA380
Topic Author
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sat Jan 13, 2007 6:33 am

Okay, I'm doing a reinstall now, sure hope this works....
 
QFA380
Topic Author
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sat Jan 13, 2007 8:45 am

Unfortunately I've done it twice and it still doesn't work.

Thanks guys for your advice so far.
 
jamesbuk
Posts: 3712
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:52 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:11 am

see normalyl theres a few files left, so uninstall, then go to your FS folder and just delete it.

Rgds --James--
You cant have your cake and eat it... What the hells the point in having it then!!!
 
QFA380
Topic Author
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:22 am

Quoting Jamesbuk (Reply 10):
see normalyl theres a few files left, so uninstall, then go to your FS folder and just delete it.

Well thats what i did the 2nd time, just deleted my FS folder and then reinstalled it. And it still doesn't work.
 
QFA380
Topic Author
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:34 am

Ok, I just restarted my computer, stupid me I forgot to do that after every single reinstall. And now its working again.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to try and help.

Now lucky me, its time to install all my add-ons again, starting with PSS 757 to see if it will work now.
 
cptspeaking
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:49 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:25 pm

Glad you fixed it...

I've had this problem once in the past, and it didn't coincide with any installation whatsoever, which had me even more frustrated...

I found that somehow, the airplane I had been using in my previous flight had been deleted and the game was hanging up trying to find the files it needed for the main menu display. (I have my game set to load the previous flight by default.)

What I ended up doing was going into My Documents->Flight Simulator Files and opening the game by double-clicking a pre-loaded flight file (.FLT) with a default aircraft. e.g. Seattle-Tacoma in the 172...

Not sure if this was your problem, but a fresh install would do virtually the same thing as I did, plus get rid of all your add-ons, which I know is a pain to restore...

Hope this helps anybody in the future!!

Your CptSpeaking  wave 
...and don't call me Shirley!!
 
QFA380
Topic Author
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sat Jan 13, 2007 7:48 pm

Quoting CptSpeaking (Reply 13):
Not sure if this was your problem, but a fresh install would do virtually the same thing as I did, plus get rid of all your add-ons, which I know is a pain to restore...

It sure is, this time I've only installed 3, A430 Pro, PMDG 744 and PSS 757.

Now I have another problem,  frown   banghead  though I will try and fix it before asking for help.
 
QFA380
Topic Author
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sun Feb 18, 2007 7:35 pm

Ok, now I have a brand new problem that started occuring yesterday.

What happens is the rudder will turn to the left. It started yesterday when I was flying Level-D 767 on VATSIM (at a packed ATL, felt like a fool). So the plane veers to the left. This is bad especially when I'm slewing to have a look and the plane keeps spinning around in circles.

So far I haven't done anything but I thought I would ask you guys first to see if any of you had seen this before.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

PS: 999th post on a.net after one a half years.
 
LYRFlyer
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:52 am

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:22 pm

Quoting QFA380 (Reply 15):

What happens is the rudder will turn to the left. It started yesterday when I was flying Level-D 767 on VATSIM (at a packed ATL, felt like a fool). So the plane veers to the left. This is bad especially when I'm slewing to have a look and the plane keeps spinning around in circles.

You probably need to calibrate your joystick.. start a flight in fs - click "options" then "controls" then "calibrate joystick"

Hope this helps!
Suck, squeeze, bang, blow.
 
cptspeaking
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:49 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:32 pm

Quoting LYRFlyer (Reply 16):
You probably need to calibrate your joystick..

That is my first suggestion as well.

Also, there is something that I deal with every time that may be your issue...

I have a 3 year old joystick that still works great, but the Z axis (rudder twist) is messed up sometimes. When I first plug it in, most of the time it will just start going nuts, usually with full rudder deflection to the left at the center pont on the joystick. If I unplug the joystick then plug it back in (sometimes having to do this entire procedure several times), the twist the stick to its stops a few times, it will fix the issue and normally work great the rest of the time it is plugged in. Also, sometimes the deflection at the neutral position isn't that drastic, so I'll still get a slight turn on the ground and be slightly uncoordinated in flight. The same procedure fixes this, and although annoying, it isn't enough to make me buy a new joystick YET. BTW...I've got a Logitech Extreme 3D Pro joystick...and the 3 years old may be a little exaggerated, but its at least two...  Wink

Again, hope this helps!!
Your CptSpeaking  wave 
...and don't call me Shirley!!
 
QFA380
Topic Author
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Mon Feb 19, 2007 2:38 pm

Ok guys, I'm having a little trouble. I don't get what you mean by Calibrate it. Because it isn't constantly pointing to the left. It just goes there every few seconds.

And CptSpeaking, it is a Saitek X52 with all the lights on it and lives in my bedroom so at night I pull it out. So it gets plugged in and out every day.
 
united319
Posts: 446
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:07 am

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sat Feb 24, 2007 7:01 am

The only time it crashes on me is when I load the checklist. When I exit out of that window my laptop freezes and then FS9 exits.
It's Time To Fly
 
bimmerkid19
Posts: 284
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 4:43 pm

RE: Very Bad FS9 Problem....

Sun Feb 25, 2007 2:52 pm

Quoting United319 (Reply 19):
my laptop freezes and then

many laptops aren't designed to handle the computing power that FS requires...
Last flights: LH 3738 MUC - ZRH , LH 3749 ZRH - MUC . Upcoming: EK 50 MUC - DXB 3-aug. and EK 322 DXB - ICN 7- Aug.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests