Cessna057
Topic Author
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:24 am

FS9 Airspeed Indicater

Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:38 am

Ok. When I have been flying on FS9, after I get pass about 2k, my Airspeed drops to 0. Any ideas or any help as to what the problem is would be greatly appreciated.
Hold it . . . Hold it . . . HOLD THE FREAKIN NOSE UP!!
 
jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

RE: FS9 Airspeed Indicater

Mon Jan 15, 2007 3:56 pm

Check in your simulated failers page in case you have selected something which may cause this problem.


Cheers

Baldwyn Smile
 
FlyingPie946LJ
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 2:45 pm

RE: FS9 Airspeed Indicater

Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:01 pm

possibly try turning on the pitot heat, that should fix the problem
 
cptspeaking
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:49 pm

RE: FS9 Airspeed Indicater

Tue Jan 16, 2007 4:40 am

Quoting FlyingPie946LJ (Reply 2):
possibly try turning on the pitot heat, that should fix the problem

Just as clarification as to why this would be the case...

FS sims the buildup of ice in the pitot tube, which is one of the instruments used by the airspeed indicator. When this is blocked, it doesn't work. So, in order to get rid of the ice, you turn on the pitot heat to burn it off and prevent it from building up again...

Hope this fixes it!

Your CptSpeaking
...and don't call me Shirley!!
 
Cessna057
Topic Author
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:24 am

RE: FS9 Airspeed Indicater

Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:55 pm

Pitot heat fixed it! Thanks guys.
Hold it . . . Hold it . . . HOLD THE FREAKIN NOSE UP!!
 
CVGpilot
Posts: 579
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2003 5:20 am

RE: FS9 Airspeed Indicater

Tue Jan 16, 2007 3:46 pm

- Holy crap, I had no idea fs9 really simulated pitot ice, hmmmm....  cold 
 
Cessna057
Topic Author
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:24 am

RE: FS9 Airspeed Indicater

Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:53 am

Quoting CVGpilot (Reply 5):
- Holy crap, I had no idea fs9 really simulated pitot ice, hmmmm....

Lol I know . . I was suprised as well.
Hold it . . . Hold it . . . HOLD THE FREAKIN NOSE UP!!
 
EZEIZA
Posts: 4421
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 12:09 am

RE: FS9 Airspeed Indicater

Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:23 pm

I learnt that the hard way too. It only happened to me once though, so i guess it's pretty uncommon
Carp aunque ganes o pierdas ...
 
Cessna057
Topic Author
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:24 am

RE: FS9 Airspeed Indicater

Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:38 am

Quoting EZEIZA (Reply 7):
I learnt that the hard way too. It only happened to me once though, so i guess it's pretty uncommon

Well I fly in VATSIM, which uses a different type of real world weather and pitot ice is very common.
Hold it . . . Hold it . . . HOLD THE FREAKIN NOSE UP!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests