jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Mon May 07, 2007 6:54 am

My current specs:

AMD 2500 1.7Ghz
Nvida 6200 128MB
1.23GB DDR2 RAM
80GB HD
230V Power Pack


I am thinking of upgrading my processer to intels E6600 £ 150 and with a motherboard with it.

Also some high speed 1GB RT
 
noelg
Posts: 2313
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:39 pm

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Tue May 08, 2007 6:42 pm

For FS9 the new processor probably won't help too much as it only utilises one core of the E6600, but you may see some improvement. SP1 for FSX comes out in the next few weeks which will make FSX use both cores together so there should be some improvement then.

The other thing is that your graphics card will restrict the speed somewhat. I would recommend upgrading that to a Geforce 7950, or even the new DX10 Geforce 8600s that are pretty reasonably priced, and will aid FSX a long way, particularly once the DX10 patch comes out.

Oh and you will need a bigger PSU once you start upgrading components - at least a 400W. You can pick one up for not a lot of money.
 
David L
Posts: 8552
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Tue May 08, 2007 8:07 pm

Quoting Noelg (Reply 1):
SP1 for FSX comes out in the next few weeks which will make FSX use both cores together

Has it actually been confirmed that it will provide dual-core utilisation? There's been a lot of conflicting information about it.
 
regupilot
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 11:45 pm

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Tue May 08, 2007 9:53 pm

Quoting Jamesbaldwyn (Thread starter):
Nvida 6200 128MB

Take this piece to the nearest junker and destroy it. It doesn't deserve to be in any gamer's PC.. Well, you can give it to your mother, or your sister's PC.

Like Noelg said, that will slow down your PC, not a bit, but A LOT!! Those beautiful, nice sharpened graphics you see in the screenshots threads, are because of the graphics.. well, also because of the CPU... and also because of the RAM. See, to have great visual effects, it takes 3 components: CPU + Graphics+RAM. If you underestimate any of the tree, your games will not be as pleasant. You can also gain more performance by getting a fast spinning Hard Drive, no less than 7,200 RPM. You'll also notice a big performance increase overall in your whole PC experience by using a RAID 0 or RAID 1 configuration (that requires to hard drives).

But yeah, you need a great (not good) graphics card for FSX.
 
jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Wed May 09, 2007 2:20 am

So if I were to upgrade over the next year? I would plan to buy a component every couple of months so whats first in my list. I would play FS9 more as I just like it more Big grin

But I agree its not the best but I play FS9 on Medium High so its not that bad Big grin
 
noelg
Posts: 2313
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:39 pm

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Wed May 09, 2007 4:58 am

Quoting David L (Reply 2):
Has it actually been confirmed that it will provide dual-core utilisation? There's been a lot of conflicting information about it.

Sure has, see:

http://blogs.msdn.com/ptaylor/archiv...4/09/fsx-sp1-news-intel-quote.aspx

Quoting ,reply=0:
Today Intel announced their new 2.93G QX6800 Quad Core processor here.

As part of this press release, Aces Studio participated with a quote about our improved multi-core support in SP1. The quote stated

“The latest version of Microsoft Flight Simulator* X, Service Pack One (SP1), due out later this month, is a great match for the extreme multi-core processing delivered by the new Intel Core 2 Extreme quad-core processor”

and

“Flight Sim X SP1 greatly increases multicore utilization and will scale as more threads are available leading to reduced load times as well as frame rate improvements and greater visual complexity during flight. The Flight Simulator team at Microsoft is pleased to work with Intel to provide our end users with a great gaming experience."

And I wanted to take some time and explain what this means for FSX and FSX flyers.

Our multi-core support will take advantage of both 2 and 4 cores today, and more cores in the future when they become available via a config setting. This is for both Intel and AMD processors.
 
David L
Posts: 8552
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Wed May 09, 2007 5:52 am

Quoting Noelg (Reply 5):
Sure has, see:

OK, looking good - not that I actually have a dual-core processor yet.  Smile

Thanks.
 
jasond
Posts: 648
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 5:23 am

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Wed May 09, 2007 9:47 am

Quoting Noelg (Reply 1):
The other thing is that your graphics card will restrict the speed somewhat.

I have used a 6200 (256Mb) card for FS9 and the performance was pretty good for what it was, by todays standards it is a pretty cheap, entry level card by any yardstick. You need to couple it with a decent CPU and RAM (I had a Sempron 2400 and 1Gb of RAM) however. This setup, particularly the graphics card will struggle on FSX though
 
regupilot
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 11:45 pm

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Wed May 09, 2007 11:49 am

Quoting Jamesbaldwyn (Reply 4):
So if I were to upgrade over the next year? I would plan to buy a component every couple of months so whats first in my list. I would play FS9 more as I just like it more Big grin

I would upgrade my CPU very badly AND my Graphics Card. Now, here comes some weird specs from your machine: You're using an Athlon XP 2500+, which relies on DDR 1st generation memory. It is NOT DDR2. To upgrade your processor, you might have to change your motherboard and RAM. Its a smart choice to wait for a bit to upgrade, since DX10 cards are a bit expensive or restricted to the nVidia solution; also, FSX is still not DX10 ready. So by waiting, you might be able to get a really good proven system.

If I were you, I would try to catch the last Athlon 64 4000+ on the market, or the last of the Athlon X2 4600+ using socket 939. That would really increase your FS9 performance at a very cheap price. You will also have to upgrade your motherboard, since AthlonXP fit on sockets 462, not 939. I should point out that the 939 plattaform is dying now, but if you stick to it, you will not have to upgrade your RAM and your Graphics card so quickly. If you, however choose the current AM2 plattaform from AMD, you will have to buy new DDR2 memory, which is not the one you have, and will also have to buy a PCI Express graphics card. Doing that at the moment is still quite cheaper than building a high performance Core 2 Duo PC, but

#1. It will die soon
#2. Is more expensive than getting a new board and a new, cheaper 939 CPU.
#3. Forgot what to write here.. LOL!

So, to save money, I would get:
#1. Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego core (939) $61.99 at Newegg.com
#2. A new board, the Abit AV8 is a great choice (as long as you don't do RAID). - The reason I picked this particular board its because it is the few High Performance 939 boards available that has an AGP slot. Most 939 boards at the moment have PCI Express. However, this is the only board I found in Newegg.com with 939 and AGP.
#3. A new graphics card.This nice geForce 7600GS make do it until you're ready for DX10.

That's what I would do. That's my cheap, great upgrade for the moment. By the time you're ready for DX10, AMD Quad core CPU should be out, and also its graphics solution. Nvidia should have improved its offerings, maybe new 9000 series GPU, and who know what Intel has under its sleeve.

Good luck.
 
jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Wed May 09, 2007 3:55 pm

Quoting ReguPilot (Reply 8):
You might have to change your motherboard and RAM

Seeing as my RAM has just failed on me  Sad I am now only running on 512 so I should juist go for all 3

Quoting ReguPilot (Reply 8):
A new graphics card.This nice geForce 7600GS make do it until you're ready for DX10

The 7600GTX I think it is is DX10 and vista etc etc compatible so I think I will go for that

Just another note my power pack it 400w not 230w ( I was reading Volts  Smile )

Cheers Guys
 
ag92
Posts: 1045
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 5:23 pm

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Wed May 09, 2007 5:53 pm

Quoting Jamesbaldwyn (Reply 9):

The 7600GTX I think it is is DX10 and vista etc etc compatible so I think I will go for that

AFAIK only the Nvidia 8 Series are direct X compatible

Regards
Ag92
 
airbusA346
Posts: 7284
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:05 am

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Wed May 09, 2007 6:38 pm

Why waste your money on an Intel chip, you can get an AMD Athlon X2 5000 for £102.21.

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=401105

And the Intel chip you are on about getting costs £150

If you ask me it's a no brainer - AMD!!!!!!!!!

Tom.
Tom Walker '086' First Officer of a A318/A319 for Air Lambert - Hours Flown: 17 hour 05 minutes (last updated 24/12/05).
 
noelg
Posts: 2313
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2002 11:39 pm

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Wed May 09, 2007 9:23 pm

Quoting Jamesbaldwyn (Reply 9):
The 7600GTX I think it is is DX10 and vista etc etc compatible so I think I will go for that

As Ag92 said, only the NVidia 8*00 are DX10 compatible.

Quoting AirbusA346 (Reply 11):
Why waste your money on an Intel chip, you can get an AMD Athlon X2 5000 for £102.21.

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=401105

And the Intel chip you are on about getting costs £150

If you ask me it's a no brainer - AMD!!!!!!!!!

It's not as clear cut as it was - these days the Core2Duos and Core2Extreme are getting much better benchmark results than AMD. How long this will last is negotiable, but for the moment the Intel is the way to go!
 
jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Thu May 10, 2007 3:23 am

Quoting AirbusA346 (Reply 11):
Why waste your money on an Intel chip, you can get an AMD Athlon X2 5000 for £102.21.

I can get a 2.4Ghz Dual Core for £150
 
regupilot
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 11:45 pm

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Thu May 10, 2007 4:44 am

Quoting Jamesbaldwyn (Reply 13):
Why waste your money on an Intel chip, you can get an AMD Athlon X2 5000 for £102.21.

Well, as for this moment, getting an Intel chip, namely a Conroe core chip (Core 2 Duo, etc.) is an investment rather than a waste.

Quoting Jamesbaldwyn (Reply 13):
It's not as clear cut as it was - these days the Core2Duos and Core2Extreme are getting much better benchmark results than AMD. How long this will last is negotiable, but for the moment the Intel is the way to go!

Correct. I also debated over this about a year ago in this forum, but the story was different back then. AMD was the clear leader, and the Conroe architecture was still being tested, but some info on its performance was being leaked. Again, the Intel Conroe architecture is better than AMD current offering in general terms. The Athlon, however, can kick the Pentium's butt in just about every benchmark.

Quoting Jamesbaldwyn (Reply 13):
I can get a 2.4Ghz Dual Core for £150

Right, but which one? The Pentium D is a dual core processor. Also the Athlon X2 is Dual Core, and the Core Duo, the Core 2 Duo and the Athlon 64 FX60+.... So which one of those is it?

Quoting Ag92 (Reply 10):
AFAIK only the Nvidia 8 Series are direct X compatible

Correct, the only DX10 capable cards in the market today are the nVidia GeForce 8 series cards.

As I have mentioned elsewhere, you can have DX10 installed in your PC while having a GeForce 7 series card. Your games will run fine, and it will be shown that you have DX10. Thing is that, since your card is not DX10 capable, it will not render the DX10 only effects, but the ones your card is capable of. So if you have a DX8 capable card, and you have DX10 installed in your PC... you won't be able to see the nice water reflections in FSX or FS9. Why? Because water reflections are DX9 effects, and your card can only show DX8 effects, EVEN while having DX10 installed in your PC. What you'll end up seeing is a big water texture. No more.

Quoting AirbusA346 (Reply 11):
Why waste your money on an Intel chip, you can get an AMD Athlon X2 5000 for £102.21.

This sounds like a very nice price. Problem is that, it's an AM2 based processor, which means he would have to buy new RAM (DDR2) and a new PCI Express board.

Quoting Jamesbaldwyn (Reply 9):
Seeing as my RAM has just failed on me Sad I am now only running on 512 so I should juist go for all 3

If that is the case, then why not get a whole new system instead. Try getting a nice Athlon X2 based system or, if you can, get an Intel Core based system. The Core 2 Duo E6400 is a good deal but better is the E6600. For the Athlon, I would not get anything lower than the Athlon X2 5600+.
 
jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Thu May 10, 2007 6:17 am

Quoting ReguPilot (Reply 14):
Right, but which one? The Pentium D is a dual core processor. Also the Athlon X2 is Dual Core, and the Core Duo, the Core 2 Duo and the Athlon 64 FX60+.... So which one of those is it?

Your answer is

Quoting ReguPilot (Reply 14):
but better is the E6600

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/112706/rb/27658155468

Its amazingly cheap and with the FSX dual core patch I see this as a very worthy investment Big grin
 
SaturnVRocket
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:52 am

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Thu May 10, 2007 9:59 am

Quoting Jamesbaldwyn (Thread starter):
My current specs:

AMD 2500 1.7Ghz
Nvida 6200 128MB
1.23GB DDR2 RAM
80GB HD
230V Power Pack


I am thinking of upgrading my processer to intels E6600 £ 150 and with a motherboard with it.

Also some high speed 1GB RT

I hate to say this but your system is so outdated you would want to just save up and buy a whole new computer. The reality is that as it stands RIGHT NOW, the Intel Core2Duos are the best chips right now as far as benchmark tests go. Not to say it wont change in a week though.

The video card is yucky. I have a D840 3.2 Dual core and I HAD a GeForce 6800. When I upgraded it to a GeForce 8800GTS 640 MB VRam I went from about 20-24 FPS to 35-40 FPS in dense scenery.

The new generation of Video cards will never run on your power supply. The GeForce 8800 recommend a 425 Watt.

SVR
 
jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

RE: Am I Upgrading The Right Component For FSX/FS9

Thu May 10, 2007 2:59 pm

Quoting SaturnVRocket (Reply 16):
425 Watt.

I can't see myself affording the 8800GTX £££

I have a 400w Power supply - I was reading the Voltage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PatrickZ80 and 3 guests

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos