User avatar
TWA1985
Topic Author
Posts: 467
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 3:24 am

Jetbridg Extending With Downloaded Aircraft On FSX

Tue Jul 17, 2007 12:18 pm

Hi,

I just got Microsoft Flight Simulator X and downloaded an American Airlines Boeing 767-200, but the jetbridges will not extend towards the aircraft like they do with the default Microsoft produced aircraft. Is this a glitch? Do other downloadable aircraft allow for jetbridge extension? Will the jetbridge only work on default aircraft? What can I do to fix this?
Live Young. Live Wild. Live Free.
 
jetmatt777
Crew
Posts: 2809
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 2:16 am

RE: Jetbridg Extending With Downloaded Aircraft On FSX

Tue Jul 17, 2007 3:02 pm

I don't own FSX, but it probably has something to do wit what's inside the aircraft.cfg file. Open it up and see if you can't find anything in it about jetways, jetbridges or something similar.

-Matt
Lighten up while you still can, don't even try to understand, just find a place to make your stand and take it easy
 
QFA380
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: Jetbridg Extending With Downloaded Aircraft On FSX

Tue Jul 17, 2007 4:13 pm

Yeah, as Jetmatt777 said it does have something to do with the aircraft.cfg, many 3rd party developers have left this out for some reason. Not too sure but it may just be rather hard and they may be trying to get some basic experience.

It shouldn't be a glitch, if your really worried send the developer an email I'm sure they'll help or post something in the avsim forums where those guys hang out.
 
tbanger
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 6:11 pm

RE: Jetbridg Extending With Downloaded Aircraft On FSX

Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:53 pm

Correct it is in the aircraft.cfg file.

FS9 and before had the following info for exits.
Example 1. Taken from FS9 default B777

[exits]
number_of_exits = 2
exit_rate.0 = 0.4 ;Percent per second
exit_rate.1 = 0.4 ;Percent per second


Whereas FSX has the following info for exits.
Example 2. Taken from FSX default A321

[exits]
number_of_exits = 3
exit.0 = 0.4, 45.50, -6.0, 7.0, 0 //openclose rate percent per second, longitudinal, lateral, vertical positions from datum (feet), type (0=Main 1=Cargo 2=Emergency)
exit.1 = 0.4, -33.50, 5.85, 0.0, 1 //openclose rate percent per second, longitudinal, lateral, vertical positions from datum (feet), type (0=Main 1=Cargo 2=Emergency)
exit.2 = 0.4, 29.90, 6.0, 1.0, 2 //openclose rate percent per second, longitudinal, lateral, vertical positions from datum (feet), type (0=Main 1=Cargo 2=Emergency)


Notice how in FSX there is information showing precisely where the door is. If this is missing, then the jetway won't operate because it doesn't know where to go to.

Quoting QFA380 (Reply 2):
many 3rd party developers have left this out for some reason. Not too sure but it may just be rather hard and they may be trying to get some basic experience

The reason why is because most developers for FSX are simply modifying the panel so that their existing FS9 aircraft work in FSX.
 
ANITIX87
Posts: 2952
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:52 am

RE: Jetbridg Extending With Downloaded Aircraft On FSX

Tue Jul 17, 2007 8:46 pm

Quoting TWA1985 (Thread starter):
but the jetbridges will not extend

Haha. That's what is good about FS' stress on graphics. In X-plane, the default scenery doesn't even have terminals. Just a gray expanse where the tarmac would be.

TIS
www.stellaryear.com: Canon EOS 50D, Canon EOS 5DMkII, Sigma 50mm 1.4, Canon 24-70 2.8L II, Canon 100mm 2.8L, Canon 100-4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests