airNick
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:53 pm

Touble When Landing In FS9.

Tue Aug 07, 2007 4:53 am

Okay, this is happening consistently.

When on approach I intercept the localizer and leave 3000 feet (as instructed) by turning off whats left of the autopilot ie. As I was coming into approach, I disengage different parts of the autopilot one by one.

The problem is when turning off the altitude part of the autopilot (which is the final thing I do) the nose suddenly lifts - and doesn't stop lifting. This takes a good amount of force to get it back level, only to find when you let go, the nose lifts again.

Should this be happening?

Nick.

[Edited 2007-08-06 21:55:37]
 
ANITIX87
Posts: 2960
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:52 am

RE: Touble When Landing In FS9.

Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:05 am

Check the trim on your horizontal stabiliser. That would be my advice. I don't know exactly where it should be, as I tend to either land nose-wheel first, or to slam my main gear down, bounce, and then land nose-wheel first.

TIS
www.stellaryear.com: Canon EOS 50D, Canon EOS 5DMkII, Sigma 50mm 1.4, Canon 24-70 2.8L II, Canon 100mm 2.8L, Canon 100-4
 
ebs757
Posts: 618
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 11:45 pm

RE: Touble When Landing In FS9.

Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:27 am

If your coming in too slow your elevator is going to trim your nose up like that.
Viva la Vida
 
jamesbuk
Posts: 3712
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:52 pm

RE: Touble When Landing In FS9.

Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:40 am

Basically the Autopilot trimmed the aircraft into a nose up position, all it means is when you take it off autopilot, nose trim it out untill you feel comfortable, i normally trim it to about neutral so its not pushing up or down. The trim gauge is normally on the panel where the throttles are.

Rgds --James--
You cant have your cake and eat it... What the hells the point in having it then!!!
 
stevesdream69
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 2:37 pm

RE: Touble When Landing In FS9.

Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:40 pm

Recently started sim-flying. In an instrumental landing (ILS) should I just switch the ILS button on to get the liner to correctly descent on the runway? How would the autopilot be set at that time?
At the moment once I get the final instructions from ATC i switch all the autopilot off and descend manually.
I am simflying airbus 320 or 738 at the moment and I usually manage to make heavy landing not exactly on the runway just before. I'm getting there LOL, but I don't know how to start using the ILS. Any quick tip?
 
GAIsweetGAI
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 5:19 am

RE: Touble When Landing In FS9.

Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:15 pm

You might want to make sure you disconnect the autothrottle when you disengage the altitude hold. Just a thought.  Smile
"There is an art, or rather a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
 
stevesdream69
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 2:37 pm

RE: Touble When Landing In FS9.

Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:27 pm

So.... I have autopilot engaged, I switch the ILS button on, disconnect autothrottle and altitude hold. How about heading? Should I leave it on? Or shoud I disengage the heading as well?
 
ANITIX87
Posts: 2960
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:52 am

RE: Touble When Landing In FS9.

Wed Aug 08, 2007 12:40 am

I don't know if FS is the same, but on x-plane you choose LOC as the source for the heading hold, and NAV on the autopilot source (with the ILS frequency as the active NAV radio frequency). Then, as long as you approach the ILS from a small enough angle, it should intercept the glideslope.

TIS
www.stellaryear.com: Canon EOS 50D, Canon EOS 5DMkII, Sigma 50mm 1.4, Canon 24-70 2.8L II, Canon 100mm 2.8L, Canon 100-4
 
GAIsweetGAI
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 5:19 am

RE: Touble When Landing In FS9.

Wed Aug 08, 2007 4:53 am

When you have the approach/ILS hold engaged as well as the heading and altitude hold, the heading hold will disconnect when you intercept the localizer and the altitude hold disconnects when you cross the glideslope. After that you should have no problem disconnecting the autopilot and autothrottle. If the nose still wants to pitch up, you do have a slight problem that I wouldn't know how to solve.
"There is an art, or rather a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."
 
ACDC8
Posts: 7270
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:56 pm

RE: Touble When Landing In FS9.

Wed Aug 08, 2007 6:03 pm

It's most likely your pitch trim, you need to adjust it as you disconnect your autopilot. I don't play FS nearly as much as I used to, but I am very sure that this is what your problem is as I've had it with certain (not all) FS aircraft. However, another problem I've had quite often is when the autopilot intercepts the g/s, the ALT hold will go off and the plane will go almost vertical for no apparent reason. Thats one problem I've still not been able to figure out, but your's sounds like you just need to adjust the trim.
A Grumpy German Is A Sauerkraut
 
zarniwoop
Posts: 255
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 11:43 pm

RE: Touble When Landing In FS9.

Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:09 am

Can you give more details of your sequence of turning things of and exactly when?

If you are in level flight with the autopilot & autothrottle on and switch the autopilot off then the plane should theoretically stay in level flight (since the autopilot is just changing the trim instead of you). If anything changes it will be a slow drift not a sudden change in pitch or bank.
The only problem I have noticed with FS9 is that the resolution of the trim is sometimes not good enough to maintain a constant level flight (ie, you have to keep adjusting the trim up and down). The autopilot does this as well. So if the autopilot is constantly adjusting the trim (& autothrottle if it is on) to maintin level flight and speed then when you switch one of them off it could explain a suddent change in pitch. Some autopilots work better than others in FS9.

The best sequence of events that I have found for transitioning from level flight to the ILS in FS9 is to use the autopilot to maintain altitude, heading and speed to get lined up with the runway. When you intercept the glideslope turn off the autopilot and hand fly. Up to you wether you switch off the autothrottle off or not. One less thing to think about but I find manually control of the throttle is better when adding in flaps, etc. I'm not sure why you would want to slowly turn of bits of the autopilot as you intercept the glideslope.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos