G-KIRAN
Topic Author
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2000 1:55 am

MS2004 On Dual-Core Computers

Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:02 pm

Dear All

I have descided to go back to FS2004 after hearing alot of the hoo haa about FSX not being able to run well on current machines. My old computer which I no longer have, was a P4 2.4ghz with 512mb of RAM. I am currently thinking of buying something that is at least equivalent to a P4 3ghz with 1mb RAM. However I have read elsewhere and on this forum somewhere that Fs2004 is not optimized for dual core operatiuon and that it will run faster on a P4 3ghz single core machine than a 2offghz dual core setup. Is this true?

Would it be better to buy a Celeron at 3+ghz and lots of ram than a low-end dual core set up also with lots of RAM to get a smooth (15-20 fps) performance in FS2004? I am aiming to use some freeware scenary airport addones, dense AFCAD and the odd bit of high-tech planes such as PMDG's 747.

G-KIRAN
 
AFC_Ajax00
Posts: 740
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2000 5:33 am

RE: MS2004 On Dual-Core Computers

Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:55 pm

I'm running FS2004 on a Dell 640M with a dual core 2.0Ghz Intel, 1 gig of RAM and 64mb of shared video memory. I don't have much add-on scenery or other add-ons for that matter (save the usual freeware aircraft) but the game runs fine on this setup, I'm quite pleased actually!
Once you have tasted flight, you will walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward; for there you long to return
 
jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

RE: MS2004 On Dual-Core Computers

Wed Aug 29, 2007 1:32 am

Although FS9 isn't using both cores, it has the whole of one core for itself leaving the other for running everything else.
 
ACDC8
Posts: 7182
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:56 pm

RE: MS2004 On Dual-Core Computers

Wed Aug 29, 2007 2:44 am

What about the new Quad processors?
A Grumpy German Is A Sauerkraut
 
jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

RE: MS2004 On Dual-Core Computers

Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:46 am

Quoting ACDC8 (Reply 3):
What about the new Quad processors?

Same thing for FS9 and FSX only uses 2.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests