wilco737
Posts: 7275
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 12:21 am

Question About FSX (problem)

Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:45 pm

Hey guys,

so I finally have a new Computer and using Windows Vista, so I tried the FSX and I must say I am shocked...

Framerates are okish, but I have another problem. When I am using the normal cockpit view, the runway and the ground disappear below the glareshield so I cannot see the airport or the runway during final approach, which sucks. In 2004 I used Shift + Enter to "sit higher", but in FSX this feature doesn't work...
Then I thought: ok, using the virtual cockpit (which I don't like very much). But here I encountered another problem: during short final at about 150' above the ground the screens (PFD, ND, etc) get "see through"... So I can see the ground objects on the ground through the screens, but at short final I need the PDF and ND or so... and no "see through screens"...
So, I cannot use the VC or the normal cockpit view to land properly...

Any suggestions, any help?

At the moment I am using FS2004 again which is working amazingly good on my new PC...

Thanks for the help

WILCO737 (MD11F)
 airplane 
 
gunsontheroof
Posts: 3228
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 8:30 am

RE: Question About FSX (problem)

Tue Nov 13, 2007 9:26 pm



Quoting WILCO737 (Thread starter):
Any suggestions

Yes...

Quoting WILCO737 (Thread starter):
At the moment I am using FS2004 again which is working amazingly good on my new PC...

Stick with it!  Wink

Seriously though, that sounds pretty strange. Hopefully somebody else here who doesn't share my hostility towards FSX can help you get it working properly.
 
DFW13L
Posts: 809
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:22 pm

RE: Question About FSX (problem)

Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:48 am



Quoting WILCO737 (Thread starter):
2004 I used Shift + Enter to "sit higher", but in FSX this feature doesn't work...

I tested this tonight and here's the deal. In FSX the shift+enter and shift+backspace works differently in 2D cockpit than it does in 3D cockpit. In 3D cockpit it works the same as in FS2004, where your eye level inside the cockpit moves up. In FSX 2D cockpit view it's different. It's as if the entire airplane is lifted higher...and the result is that it is more like you are higher in the cockpit looking down just above the nose of the plane when on final to a runway.

It's imperceptable unless you know what it's doing. Set up in FSX on a nice big runway and then hit shift enter and watch what the runway does...it moves down.

Try it. No I don't like change either, but it made it where I could land on 2D view. Though I admit that in FSX I now use 3D to land. (by 3D I mean virtual cockpit, sorry if that was confusing)

Matt
See, I knew American Eagle was first class all along!
 
wilco737
Posts: 7275
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 12:21 am

RE: Question About FSX (problem)

Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:06 am



Quoting DFW13L (Reply 2):

Thanks for the reply! So I guess FSX is NOT an option anymore... When I sit in my cockpit I want to see the instruments properly AND the runway as well! The 3D view (virtual cockpit) is just weird! When the aircraft accelerates it moves up... this is just weird... Don't like it at all...

So, FS2004 with all graphic details set to highest with great framerates...

WILCO737 (MD11F)
 airplane 
 
B727-200
Posts: 1008
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 1999 11:28 am

RE: Question About FSX (problem)

Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:35 am

I found the virtual cockpit took a little getting used to, now I struggle when I go back to FS9 because of the 2D cockpit views on most of my downloaded aircraft.

Stay with it and you will grow to like it. The only thing that annoys me now is the number of buttons that don't work in VC and you have to go to the 2D pannel to switch on/off.

B727-200.
 
wilco737
Posts: 7275
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 12:21 am

RE: Question About FSX (problem)

Thu Nov 15, 2007 6:05 pm



Quoting B727-200 (Reply 4):
The only thing that annoys me now is the number of buttons that don't work in VC and you have to go to the 2D pannel to switch on/off.

And thats friggin annoying and NOT very realistic! And I thought FSX is more realistic than FS2004... But apparently it makes it harder to get to the "real" thing...

But thanks for the reply!

WILCO737 (MD11F)
 airplane 
 
David L
Posts: 8553
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: Question About FSX (problem)

Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:42 pm



Quoting DFW13L (Reply 2):

Shift-Enter does work differently in FSX but you can use Shift-Q and Ctrl-Shift-Q for exactly the same effect:
FS X Problem (not A Frame Rate Problem)  Wink (by WILCO737 Oct 16 2006 in Aviation Hobby)

Um... sound familiar, Wilco?  duck 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos