xaapb
Posts: 382
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:08 pm

FS9 In A Laptop?

Sat Nov 24, 2007 11:12 pm

Hi,
Some months ago I bought a Laptop, it's a HP DV6500T with Intel Core2Duo T300 2GB DDR2 of RAM, 128MB of video with a Nvidia GeForce 8400M GS. I haven't installed FS since it comes with Windows Vista, however I want to try it.
What do you think, will it run FS ok?
Thanks in Advance for your help and advises.
Jorge
Jorge Meneses
 
QFA380
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sat Nov 24, 2007 11:20 pm

That should run FS9 pretty well and may even run FSX ok. I have a MacBook Pro with the same specs as that and FS9 runs very well. I haven't installed FSX yet, but it ran ok on my old computer which was less powerful than this.
 
jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:24 am

Yep, like QFA380 said, It'll run FS9 nicely.
 
ebs757
Posts: 619
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 11:45 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:24 am



Quoting QFA380 (Reply 1):
That should run FS9 pretty well and may even run FSX ok.

I can second that. 2gbs of ram is pretty good for FS9. I have a Dell inspiron 256mb ATI video card and 1.5 gb of ram and a 1.8gz prosesor. It should run fine for you
Viva la Vida
 
KL773ER
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:51 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Mon Nov 26, 2007 4:42 am

Jorge,

My laptop has less components than yours and runs FS9 quite well. The only really big issue I have on the laptop is receiving a FS9 error message every so often in-flight and the programme shuts down. (It is upsetting receiving this message during longhaul flights especially near reaching my destination.)

In general, you should have no problem.

Good luck,
-KL
 
KevinL1011
Posts: 2858
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 3:48 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Fri Nov 30, 2007 5:46 am

My Dell Inspiron 9100 has basically the same set up as Ebs757's Inspiron, but I only have a 40gb HD. I'm not sure how many Gb's FS9 is but FSX is about 13Gb. I bought a Lacie 120gb external HD to load and run FSX due to lack of space. If you go with an external drive, get one with an access speed of at least 20mbps. Mine runs OK but I have to sometimes de-content the graphic settings to get 20+ Fps.
I prefer the ATI Radeon cards but your dual core with 2gb ram should be awesome !
474218, Carl, You will be missed.
 
User avatar
TVNWZ
Posts: 1740
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 9:28 am

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Tue Dec 04, 2007 7:00 pm



Quoting KL773ER (Reply 4):
Jorge,

My laptop has less components than yours and runs FS9 quite well. The only really big issue I have on the laptop is receiving a FS9 error message every so often in-flight and the programme shuts down. (It is upsetting receiving this message during longhaul flights especially near reaching my destination.)

In general, you should have no problem,

I always save the flight at various stages so if that happens I can pick up again along the route. I really make it a point to save the flight just as I am advised by ATC to start descending for landing.
 
xaapb
Posts: 382
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:08 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Thu Dec 06, 2007 4:14 am

Thank you very much for your answer's, I will test the simulator and let you know what happen!
Again, thanks!!
Jorge
Jorge Meneses
 
cba
Posts: 4228
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2000 2:02 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:58 pm



Quoting QFA380 (Reply 1):
have a MacBook Pro with the same specs as that and FS9 runs very well. I haven't installed FSX yet, but it ran ok on my old computer which was less powerful than this.

Are you running FS through Paralells or VMWare, or do you boot up straight to Windows using BootCamp?
 
bilgerat
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 6:43 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sat Dec 15, 2007 10:49 am

That system should run FS9 fairly well, although the video card might choke a little if you try to run at a higher resolution with anti-aliasing and anistropic filtering.

If you are running on Vista there are a few things you can do to smooth things out. First of all don't install FS9 to the default directory (Program FilesMicrosoft GamesFlight Simulator 9). Install it to its own directory outside of your Program Files folder. For some reason Vista makes your Program Files folder read only which can cause problems. Likewise disable "User Account Control" (UAC). This is the cause of 99% of Vista's problems when running third party addons for FS9. I've found all my FS9 addons run fine when I disable UAC. If you're not sure how to disable it or what the implications are, Google it and make the decision. If you're a fairly savvy computer user and you aren't paranoid about security you shouldn't be too worried about disabling UAC.
 
airivoireA321
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:17 am

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:33 pm

i have a new laptop Toshiba with a ATI HD 2600 , i run fs9 with no prob and have many add ons like pmdg and many flytampa airport etc. i think you could run fs9 but dont put 100% in all performance
 
QFA380
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Mon Dec 17, 2007 3:20 am



Quoting Cba (Reply 8):

I use Bootcamp. I would get one of them but the performance loss from using them instead of a clean Windows is too great. I can run FSX fairly well but using one of them would make it unbearable.
 
AirframeAS
Posts: 9811
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 3:56 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:16 pm

I am currently using a Dell XPS M1210 (its a gamer's laptop, I found out..) and it works WELL!!
A Safe Flight Begins With Quality Maintenance On The Ground.
 
CXfirst
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:13 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:53 pm

same question - not as good laptop.

Dell Inspiron 6400 (uses different name in the US, not sure which)
1 GB ram
Intel Centrino duo T2050 1.60 Ghz
Intel(R) Graphics Media Accelerator Driver for Mobile Report (so not dedicated graphics, if I'm not mistaken)

-CXfirst
 
jamesbaldwyn
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:04 am

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:58 pm



Quoting CXfirst (Reply 13):

Without knowing your graphics card, based on the information I know, I'd say FS9.
 
CXfirst
Posts: 2961
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:13 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Mon Jan 07, 2008 3:35 pm



Quoting Jamesbaldwyn (Reply 14):

Without knowing your graphics card, based on the information I know, I'd say FS9.


I can almost safely say that it won't run FSX, but I'm still a bit skeptical on FS9

-CXfirst
 
vinniewinnie
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 4:23 am

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Wed Jan 09, 2008 10:08 am

The problem with laptops is overheating: Once you leave FS for a few hours on the processor really heats up which slows down general performance...
 
N231YE
Posts: 2620
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:24 am

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:13 pm

Should work fine, even at max settings. My older Tablet PC, which has older components in it, ran FS9 beautifully at max settings. FSX though, is a different story.

Specs: Acer TravelMate C314XMi with Intel Pentium M 760 (2.0GHz), 2GB 533MHz DDR2 SDRAM, NVIDIA GeForce Go 6200-128MB, Windows Vista Ultimate
 
IH8BY
Posts: 758
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:39 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:46 pm

I've been running FS2002 and then FS9 on my laptop over the last few years. Performance isn't amazing, and you do have to make compromises for either performance or visuals; you can't have both! But then again your system specs are much improved over mine:

Windows XP Home
Intel Celeron D (!) 2.8GHz
768MB RAM
40GB HDD
ATi Radeon 7000 IGP (uses up 128MB of my RAM, so I end up with 640MB)

I can't get water effects such as reflections as the DirectX support isn't up to date enough, but it looks OK. Given all that, unless you have issues with Vista the system should run FS9 fine.
Have you ever felt like you could float into the sky / like the laws of physics simply don't apply?
 
acroairfun
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:56 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Fri Feb 01, 2008 1:37 pm

My Laptop:

Windows XP Home Edition

Intel Pentium M 1.60 GHz

512 MB RAM memory

40GB HDD

and Intel Extreme Graphics graphic card (I hate Intel graphic cards!).

Don't try to run FS9 on Intel graphic cards! After flight (when the flight duration is over ~20 minutes and you're flying by a big aircraft) you must always restart your computer, because the drivers always "die"!  Wow!  Angry  Angry  Angry  bomb   confused 
Everything is flexible if you know how to bend it.
 
Gerry
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 1999 2:11 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:29 am

VinnieMinnie,

Agreed - overheating is a major problem when running FS9 on a laptop for extended periods. I bought a simple $30 USB cooling pad with three fans and the problem disappeared. By the way my laptop is a 3 year old ACER Ferrari 3400 with 1 Gb Ram, 128Mb video and an Athlon64 CPU. Runs like a dream even at high graphics settings but I do need that fan on.

Gerry
 
QFA380
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sat Feb 02, 2008 8:25 am



Quoting Gerry (Reply 20):

Hi Gerry, does that work well? If the heat is only moderte will it still bring the computer down or does it only really work when the computer is really hot? What about battery usage, noise and portability? Is your computers performance better with it ie the cooling is allowing it to run faster?

Do you have the Vantec Lapcool?
 
QantasA333
Posts: 480
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 5:21 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sat Feb 02, 2008 10:02 am

Does FS9 work with Mac computers?
 
Gerry
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 1999 2:11 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sat Feb 02, 2008 10:39 pm

QFA380

I have other Vantec stuff which works very well but all my cooling pad says is "Made in China". Being very simple devices I think that they would all run well. I only run my laptop from the mains while using FS9 and the main problem that it overcame was a total shutdown of fs everytime it got to some 30 minutes into a flight. It doesn't happen anymore - mind you that Athlon 64 chip did run so hot that I could hardly touch the bottom casing of the laptop after about 30 minutes of something as CPU intensive as FLight Sim.
All I can say about performance is that it seems better with the cooling pad but that may be psychological.

Regards

Gerry
 
EMA747
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:01 am

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:10 pm

Will either of these run FS9 well? Which is best?

Acer Aspire 5520 TL58
AMD Turion™ 64 X2 Dual Core
NVIDIA® GeForce® 8400M, 128MB shared
Memory 2Gb

or

HP dv6527
AMD Athlon 64 X2 mobile
NVIDIA® GeForce™ 7150M - Up to 559 MB total available graphics memory
Memory 2Gb
Failing doesn’t make you a failure. Giving up and refusing to try again does!
 
acroairfun
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:56 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Tue Feb 05, 2008 8:23 am



Quoting EMA747 (Reply 24):

FS doesn't need Dual Core. Anyway, I prefer Athlons. Shared memories aren't good - I think. on HP dv6527 you have older graphic card, but you wrote "Up to 559 MB total available graphics memory". If this 2GB of RAM are DDR I think HP will be better for FS.  Big grin  airplane 
Everything is flexible if you know how to bend it.
 
ShyFlyer
Posts: 4698
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:38 pm

RE: FS9 In A Laptop?

Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:09 am

For what it's worth, here are my specs:

Dell XPS M1730 w/ Windows XP Professional
2.6Ghz Core2 Duo
nVidia SLI Dual GeForce 8700MGT with 512MB GDDR3 Memory
4GB, DDR2, 667MHz 2 Dimm RAM
200G 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive

I've only recently installed FS9 and the little bit of flying I've done have proved the investment in this laptop was worth it. I have nearly all the sliders maxed out, and everything is buttery smooth. The only issue I'm having is a problem adjusting the contrast. While the nVidia control panel allows me to make adjustments, it always reverts to the default settings when I boot up.

Quoting Gerry (Reply 23):
All I can say about performance is that it seems better with the cooling pad but that may be psychological.

A good cooling pad is always a good idea for a laptop, especially for gamers.
I lift things up and put them down.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos