ANITIX87
Topic Author
Posts: 2952
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:52 am

Upgraded X-Plane...some Questions.

Mon Dec 31, 2007 7:38 pm

Hello, all.

I just got a new computer, so I upgraded my X-plane to version 864, and have some issues and questions.

Firstly, I hate the new autopilot. I don't like that you have to put it on AUTO yourself, because when you do, it automatically activates WLV, ALT, and NAV, something I rarely want it to activate right away. Then I try to turn them off and the ALT hold won't go away unless I disconnect all AP, in which case the dial goes back to OFF. Also, when on approach, is there a way to just get the aircraft to fly a V/S (e.g. -800 fpm) in another way than entering 0000 as the altitude and the hitting the V/S button, like there was in the older autopilot?

Secondly, on take-off, the aircraft always veers quite significantly to the right, almost going off the runway unless I steer ALL the way left. Is there a way to center the nose gear? I've tried re-centering the joystick but this doesn't do anything.

Thirdly, I was curios how accurate the runway at Courchevel would be and, even with "Allow Sloped Runways" as an option, the airport was completely flat. Is this a design flaw or something that simply can't be done accurately?

TIS
www.stellaryear.com: Canon EOS 50D, Canon EOS 5DMkII, Sigma 50mm 1.4, Canon 24-70 2.8L II, Canon 100mm 2.8L, Canon 100-4
 
Longhornmaniac
Posts: 2958
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 2:33 pm

RE: Upgraded X-Plane...some Questions.

Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:02 am

All of these issues point to only one thing....buy FS9!!!!!!

Hehe, sorry. I couldn't resist.

Wish I could help ya, man.

 wave 

Cheers,
Cameron
Cheers,
Cameron
 
QFA380
Posts: 2013
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:38 pm

RE: Upgraded X-Plane...some Questions.

Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:18 am

X-plane 9's beta has come out although I haven't downloaded it yet. Maybe you should try that and see if you like it, or you could just uninstall 8.64 and go back to the old one if you have it.
 
chksix
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 6:16 pm

RE: Upgraded X-Plane...some Questions.

Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:45 pm

The autopilot being simulated is a PIA both for pilots and designers since it's a package. I's functions can't be modified or turned off. The debate about it has been going at http://forums.x-plane.org
The conveyor belt plane will fly
 
ANITIX87
Topic Author
Posts: 2952
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:52 am

RE: Upgraded X-Plane...some Questions.

Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:00 pm

Couple more questions...

1. If I fly at night, I can't see the runway lights at all. I can see the glideslope lights, and the lights just before the runway, but I can't see center-line lights, taxiway lights, or the lights at the outer boundaries of the runway. In X-plane 840, this was not the case, and the airports were always very well-illuminated. Any ideas?

2. I wanted to fly into LFLJ (Courchevel) but all they have is a flat grass-strip, and not anything like the real-life runway there. Is there scenery for it that will over-ride the present runway and make it realistic? I know in FSX you can land there and it looks pretty much correct, why did the X-plane designers slack off here?

TIS
www.stellaryear.com: Canon EOS 50D, Canon EOS 5DMkII, Sigma 50mm 1.4, Canon 24-70 2.8L II, Canon 100mm 2.8L, Canon 100-4
 
chksix
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 6:16 pm

RE: Upgraded X-Plane...some Questions.

Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:06 pm

There's a discussion about LFLJ here: http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?showtopic=29785

Unfortunately xplane has no generic airport buildings, everything has to be hand built by enthousiasts and added as custom scenery.

The lights issue might be a video card or driver problem. Search for runway lights at http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?act=idx

I'm sorry I can't help more.

/Pierre
The conveyor belt plane will fly

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests