MaverickM11
Topic Author
Posts: 15326
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2000 1:59 pm

Planning Flights In FS With Winds Aloft

Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:59 am

Is there a good way to choose a route in FS2004 taking into account the winds aloft? In other words how can I find out whether it's better to fly, say, ORD-BOM over the pole or over Europe using the winds that are programmed into FS2004 (they are real updated winds)?
E pur si muove -Galileo
 
N231YE
Posts: 2620
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:24 am

RE: Planning Flights In FS With Winds Aloft

Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:32 pm

Assuming you are using real world data and flying only within the USA, you can go to this site. You probably will have to interpolate data (they do in the real world) for locations that are between forecasting stations.
 
pilotboi
Posts: 711
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 8:16 am

RE: Planning Flights In FS With Winds Aloft

Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:33 pm



Quoting MaverickM11 (Thread starter):
(they are real updated winds)?

If you choose that option. It's in the wx setup dialog box.
 
MaverickM11
Topic Author
Posts: 15326
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2000 1:59 pm

RE: Planning Flights In FS With Winds Aloft

Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:02 pm

How abou trans oceanic flights?
E pur si muove -Galileo
 
MaverickM11
Topic Author
Posts: 15326
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2000 1:59 pm

RE: Planning Flights In FS With Winds Aloft

Mon Mar 03, 2008 5:27 pm

Nada? I'm surprised. How do y'all plan transpolar flights? Just point and fly?
E pur si muove -Galileo
 
MHTripple7
Posts: 591
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:17 am

RE: Planning Flights In FS With Winds Aloft

Mon Mar 03, 2008 11:19 pm

What I do when flying transatlantic flights online is look up current or recent flights of the routes I want to fly on flightaware.com. Then, I plug those routes into a freeware addon called vasFMC, which couples with the autopilot and will fly the route for you.
 
Mir
Posts: 19108
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: Planning Flights In FS With Winds Aloft

Tue Mar 04, 2008 6:27 am

http://squall.sfsu.edu/crws/jetstream.html

They have several pictures of current charts showing approximate direction and relative speed of winds aloft (300mb level only - about 30,000ft) I take a look at what the winds are doing, and plan my flight along the appropriate airways using FSNavigator.

As an example, for ORD-BOM with the current winds, I'd say about an ORD-Greenland-Black Sea-India route would keep you in the tailwind the most while minimizing diversions (not worth it to follow the big troughs off the Newfoundland coast or south of the UK).

Flightaware helps out a lot as well.

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
TropicalSQ744
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2001 3:17 am

RE: Planning Flights In FS With Winds Aloft

Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:03 pm

Jetstream forecasts for Asia and other regions can be obtained here:
http://www.wunderground.com/global/Region/EU/2xJetStream.html
 Smile
DMK(TG773/772) PEN(SQ772/MH734) PER(QF333) PEK(CA763) HKT(MI320) HKG(SQ744) ICN (OZ333), CJU,TAE(OZ734) TPE(3K320) KUL(T
 
kimberlyRJ
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 7:35 am

RE: Planning Flights In FS With Winds Aloft

Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:18 pm

Hello

I always follow this procedure when planning flight sim routes etc

1.While in flight sim plot the course using FS Navigator 4.7
2.Take the data and input it to FS Build 2.3.0 (this send your flight plan to any number of FS utilities including FS itself, Feel There, PMDG, Level-D & Active Sky
3.Using Active Sky I import the route, which gives me all the weather information you will never need, departure airport weather, in flight winds and temps etc
4.Engage the relevant fuel planner for the aircraft your using (I fly either feel there, PMDG or Level D – all of which have their fuel planners etc
5.Fly

Active Sky is the best utility for FS weather planning, it’s great! The website is http://www.hifisim.com/

Give me a shout if you need any further assistance.

Regards

Kimberly

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests