DavecFlyer
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:25 pm

FS9 ATC Problem In Morocco

Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:31 pm

Hi,

While flying over Morocco in FS9 today I changed frequency as instructed and when changed, could not transmit as there was an ATIS message just repeating over and over on a centre frequency. I got the warnings about not answering transmissions and after the three warnings or so my flight plan was terminated...  Sad

Anyone else experienced this and is there any way to stop it?
ei,sf,fr,amm,cc,wx,bd,ba,ok,ua,ma,ay,re,cx,qf,fj,as,ac,az,adh,fua,ib,aww,km,aa,vs,nw,skb,cli,ne,kl,sa,ek,fi,lh,sn,af,qi,
 
ACDC8
Posts: 7205
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:56 pm

RE: FS9 ATC Problem In Morocco

Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:17 am

If you haven't experienced this before, I would say it was just a glitch. Maybe re-try the same flight and see what happens. I had something similar happend just a few weeks ago, after I declared a missed approach into FRA, I followed ATC instructions. I was flying on the insructed heading and just kept going farther and farther away from the airport with no contact from ATC. After I was about 100 miles out, ATC came on and cancelled my flightplan with no warning. Hasn't happened since though.
A Grumpy German Is A Sauerkraut
 
ShyFlyer
Posts: 4698
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:38 pm

RE: FS9 ATC Problem In Morocco

Mon Feb 04, 2008 5:06 pm



Quoting ACDC8 (Reply 1):
after I declared a missed approach into FRA, I followed ATC instructions. I was flying on the insructed heading and just kept going farther and farther away from the airport with no contact from ATC. After I was about 100 miles out, ATC came on and cancelled my flightplan with no warning.

Similar thing happened to me, though at ATL. Then there are those times when ATC hands me off to the next center, only to have that center (and all the traffic in it) call itself by the wrong name (i.e. being handed off to Albuquerque Center while just north of Montreal). This happens randomly though and not always in the same area. The basic ATC functions work though.
I lift things up and put them down.
 
DavecFlyer
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:25 pm

RE: FS9 ATC Problem In Morocco

Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:47 pm



Quoting ACDC8 (Reply 1):
I was flying on the insructed heading and just kept going farther and farther away from the airport with no contact from ATC. After I was about 100 miles out, ATC came on and cancelled my flightplan with no warning.

Yes, I have had that happen to me as well. Or if other traffic is pointed out and you get a frequency change before you acknowledge it, it sometimes gets itself confused.

I did try it again, taking off from Casablanca and the same thing happened again...

I only recently moved to FS9 after many years without ATC and I have to say I love the extra bit of realism but it does still annoy slightly when these glitches occur.
ei,sf,fr,amm,cc,wx,bd,ba,ok,ua,ma,ay,re,cx,qf,fj,as,ac,az,adh,fua,ib,aww,km,aa,vs,nw,skb,cli,ne,kl,sa,ek,fi,lh,sn,af,qi,
 
B737200
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 5:30 pm

RE: FS9 ATC Problem In Morocco

Wed Feb 06, 2008 3:47 pm

It happened to me once (quite a while ago). What you could do is maybe open the AFCAD file of the airport with the problem ATIS and change its frequency. I'm not sure if it had worked for me because it was a while ago.
Lady Guinness is ready to fly...
 
Arniepie
Posts: 1429
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 11:00 pm

RE: FS9 ATC Problem In Morocco

Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:38 am

A known problem in FS9.

The problem is a faulty BGL (bvcf.BGL) in the scenery/world/scenery folder and cannot be adjusted by changing the ATIS frequency with AFCAD.

There is a patch that deals with this issue.
Log in to AVSIM.com and look for casablanca_centre.zip made by Fern Marques
[edit post]
 
DavecFlyer
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 10:25 pm

RE: FS9 ATC Problem In Morocco

Fri Feb 08, 2008 6:55 pm



Quoting ArniePie (Reply 5):
There is a patch that deals with this issue.
Log in to AVSIM.com and look for casablanca_centre.zip made by Fern Marques

Fantastic. Thank you very much  Big grin
ei,sf,fr,amm,cc,wx,bd,ba,ok,ua,ma,ay,re,cx,qf,fj,as,ac,az,adh,fua,ib,aww,km,aa,vs,nw,skb,cli,ne,kl,sa,ek,fi,lh,sn,af,qi,
 
EZEIZA
Posts: 4421
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 12:09 am

RE: FS9 ATC Problem In Morocco

Tue Feb 12, 2008 2:28 pm



Quoting DavecFlyer (Thread starter):
While flying over Morocco in FS9 today I changed frequency as instructed and when changed, could not transmit as there was an ATIS message just repeating over and over on a centre frequency. I got the warnings about not answering transmissions and after the three warnings or so my flight plan was terminated...

same problem here! Not only in Morrocco, but it also happens to me going through some point of texas (can't remember where exactly).
One thing to avoid this is the following, posted a long time ago by user NorthstarDC4M.
If you use this you won't have services terminated when you have this screwed up ATIS message:

1> wait until you are at cruising alt
2> wait for center handoff
3> confirm handoff
4> swtich freqs
5> DO NOT CONTACT NEW CENTER

now just let the autopilot take you there...

when you are say 150nm from destination, contact the currently available center, and if it start telling you to turn around 180*... just keep confirming until it calms down and tells you "resume own navigation". Once in a long while it will get stuck and keep telling you to fly to a point 3000nm behind you. Just cancle IFR in that situation.


hope it helps!
Carp aunque ganes o pierdas ...
 
LUPOR1D
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:41 pm

RE: FS9 ATC Problem In Morocco

Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:53 pm

There are many instances of this throughout the default atc in FS9

But since i've gone to VATsim i've never looked back Big grin
Always lurking.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests