User avatar
csturdiv
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:33 am

Carrier Ops In FS9?

Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:28 pm

Are there any freeware addons for FS9 that give you aircraft carrier operations (catapult takeoffs and the catch wires for landings?) Just got done watching the DVD Speed and Angels and loved the in cockpit video of the carrier landings and want to give it a go in FS9 if possible.
An American expat from the ORD area living and working in SYD
 
N1641
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu May 18, 2000 2:10 pm

RE: Carrier Ops In FS9?

Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:50 pm

 
User avatar
csturdiv
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:33 am

RE: Carrier Ops In FS9?

Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:53 pm

Thanks for the link, but being a broke homeowner, I need to stick to freeware for a while.
An American expat from the ORD area living and working in SYD
 
cptspeaking
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:49 pm

RE: Carrier Ops In FS9?

Fri Feb 15, 2008 12:10 am

There is a package out there although I forget the name of it. It comes with a launch guage that you can add to any cockpit, enabling launches from the catapult on deck. I seem to remember the package being associated with an F-14B, but I may be wrong...

I saw a pre-release version of Speed and Angels about a year ago and LOVED it!! The aerial shots both inside and out are absolutely amazing!  Smile

Your CptSpeaking
...and don't call me Shirley!!
 
User avatar
csturdiv
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:33 am

RE: Carrier Ops In FS9?

Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:18 pm

I found a package for FS2002 on AVSIM, I think it was called Arrestor Cables or something like that. I have not got the chance to install it yet, but it looks hopeful.

The DVD is awesome, especially on the big 50" tv with the surround sound...much better than when I watched it on my PC monitor. A friend of mine let me borrow a few of his World Air Routes DVDs and they were very interesting.
An American expat from the ORD area living and working in SYD
 
cptspeaking
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:49 pm

RE: Carrier Ops In FS9?

Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:37 am

Go to Avsim and search for 3wiresetup20.zip

It's an FS9 package...happy flying!
...and don't call me Shirley!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests