spencesaab
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:03 pm

FSX Airport Altitude Problem

Mon Feb 25, 2008 6:07 pm

Hi guys,

did a search and couldn't find anything so I'm wondering if its just me thats had this problem:

I frequently fly to and from various Canary Islands in MSFS. In FS9 I'd often fly using the PMDG 737, Camarysim's VFR scenery and simwings airport scenery. It was brilliant, and I was hoping to continue this in FSX.

Taking off from Gatwick towards Fuerteventura was fine, and so was apporach, the problem occurs on final when, to my suprise the airport appears to be on a plateau about 500ft ASL. Oh well I figure that FS has poor mesh anyway, so I figured increased mesh setting to max might help. It didn't.

Furthermore no matter what I try there seems to be these 500ft deep craters in the ground between the runways and the taxiiways.

Is this an issue that anybody else has had? I've tried searching for scenery, the canarysim stuff is taking an absolute age, the website still says "Expected release Summer 2007" !!! avsim.com had a small scenery update where somebody has made it all look a bit better but the airports all seem to be on this strage plateau miles higher than in reality!

What's going on with FS? Surely this cannot be just bad work by the MSFS guys?
Silence is Golden when you don't know a good answer
 
spencesaab
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:03 pm

RE: FSX Airport Altitude Problem

Mon Feb 25, 2008 6:44 pm

Just thought:

In FS9 you could change the height of airports using AFCAD. I'm under the impression that AFCAD does not work in FSX...am I wrong? Or could I in fact use AFCAD to lower the height to the airports to a realistic height?

regards,
-Spence-
Silence is Golden when you don't know a good answer
 
David L
Posts: 8553
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: FSX Airport Altitude Problem

Mon Feb 25, 2008 7:26 pm

I just took a look at Fuerteventura in FSX - I see the same as you do. The airport is definitely elevated compared to what I see in photos.

Quoting SpenceSaab (Reply 1):
In FS9 you could change the height of airports using AFCAD.

Yes, but not the height of the surrounding terrain.

Quoting SpenceSaab (Reply 1):
I'm under the impression that AFCAD does not work in FSX...am I wrong?

Correct though I think you can convert the FSX files into AFCAD versions, edit certain features then convert them back. Don't ask me how!
 
spencesaab
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:03 pm

RE: FSX Airport Altitude Problem

Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:26 pm

Oooh, thanks. I'll give it a go and see what I get. Thanks!

regards,
-Spence-
Silence is Golden when you don't know a good answer
 
David L
Posts: 8553
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: FSX Airport Altitude Problem

Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:59 am



Quoting SpenceSaab (Reply 3):
Oooh, thanks. I'll give it a go and see what I get. Thanks!

OK, I'm not sure what inspiration I've inspired but I was really saying there's not much you can do about it until someone releases corrected scenery for the area.  Smile
 
spencesaab
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:03 pm

RE: FSX Airport Altitude Problem

Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:25 am

lol...I was saying I'll try and lower the airports using AFCAD, by trying to find something that will convert FXX into FS9 AFCAD files and back again after editing.

The rest of the land can be solved using the scenery I found on avsim.com, that only lowers all of the surrounding land to its correct levels, but I can now (if I can find the FSX-FS9-FSX converter) I can lower the airports to kinda "complete" this scenery from avsim if you get what I mean.

Thanks again,
regards,
-Spence-
Silence is Golden when you don't know a good answer
 
David L
Posts: 8553
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: FSX Airport Altitude Problem

Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:53 am



Quoting SpenceSaab (Reply 5):
The rest of the land can be solved using the scenery I found on avsim.com, that only lowers all of the surrounding land to its correct levels,

Ah, I didn't realise you had an FSX scenery add-on for the area - fair enough. What is the avsim file? I'd like to have a look at it, just out of interest.

Quoting SpenceSaab (Reply 5):
by trying to find something that will convert FXX into FS9 AFCAD files and back again after editing.

Before you do that, take a look at these:

http://www.zbluesoftware.com/fsxplanner/overview.cfm
http://www.scruffyduckscenery.co.uk/
 
spencesaab
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:03 pm

RE: FSX Airport Altitude Problem

Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:59 pm

Oooh, thanks, looks like that will make things a lot easier! Thanks again!

regards,
-Spence-
Silence is Golden when you don't know a good answer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 1 guest

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos