User avatar
cpd
Posts: 4594
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:46 am

Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Mon Mar 24, 2008 11:52 am

Has anyone here flown round the world in Flight Simulator? If so, which routes - and in what planes?

I did the west-bound round-the-world record attempt with Concorde (F-BTSD) going from Lisbon and finishing in Lisbon, along with a number of the British Airways world-tours.

I've been looking for some other fast ways around the world with flights that would just be at the limits of Concorde:

NKW-HER, HER-FLW, FLW-MZT, MZT-PMDY, PMDY-TPE, TPE-NKW


NKW (07°18'48"S 72°24'40"E) HER (35°20'23"N 25°10'49"E) 316° (NW) 6838 km 3:13
HER (35°20'23"N 25°10'49"E) FLW (39°27'19"N 31°07'53"W) 292° (NW) 4926 km 2:19
FLW (39°27'19"N 31°07'53"W) MZT (23°09'41"N 106°15'58"W) 279° (W) 7173 km 3:23
MZT (23°09'41"N 106°15'58"W) PMDY (28°12'13"N 177°22'46"W) 291° (W) 7059 km 3:20
PMDY (28°12'13"N 177°22'46"W) TPE (25°04'40"N 121°13'58"E) 281° (W) 6056 km 2:51
TPE (25°04'40"N 121°13'58"E) NKW (07°18'48"S 72°24'40"E) 242° (SW) 6387 km 3:01

I think that one would just work, it has a lot of long sectors. FLW-MZT would be tricky. I can't think of any airports further than Flores Island (FLW) that would be in range from HER.
 
jamesbuk
Posts: 3712
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:52 pm

RE: Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Mon Mar 24, 2008 3:09 pm

Sure - Ive done it quite a few times.

I done it in a Cessna 172 - put it on unlimited fuel, set up some way points and let it fly for 5 days. From Singapore to Singapore. Straight after that done it in a Blackbird which took about 8-12 hours. Ive also done commercial flights around the world.

Over the next 2 weeks Ive got a route to follow which takes me all over the place.

The long route

Rgds --James--
You cant have your cake and eat it... What the hells the point in having it then!!!
 
ajd1992
Posts: 2390
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:11 am

RE: Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Mon Mar 24, 2008 5:32 pm

I've done it in:
Baron, C172/182RG (well, almost, i'll get to these in a moment)
B737
Lockheed Vega (2500 mile range my arse, it's gotta be at least 3500, if not more if you lean it)
Mooney Bravo
Route: http://gc.kls2.com/cgi-bin/gc?PATH=e...E=best&RANGE-COLOR=navy&MAP-STYLE=
(I did combine my prop flights with a B737 flight i'm doing so it is a bit wrong but generally, these are the major airports i fly through.
The Cessna flights got from Liverpool, England right the way to Gander going east, so i'd already gone through Denmark, Russia, etc etc and i didn't have the range to reach Nuuk, 1300 miles away. I was... annoyed to say the least because i refuse to use unlimited fuel. The C182 ended with me crashing into the north atlantic 25 miles from Reykjavik, so i failed that one too. I tend to stick to the northern routes, otherwise once you get to the eastern Asian seaboard, you need to be at somewhere like Vladivostok or Petropavlovsk-Kamchatskiy to make the Pacific crossing to Dutch Harbor.

It's a good thing to try in a short (as in Baron, Mooney, Cessna) range aircraft because it teaches you planning for fuel, time, wind and just general flying over oceans or sparsely populated areas. And the limits of each aircraft in terms of range and maximum altitude you can safely get to without stalling it and crashing On the Mooney flights i was regularly flying with the commercials in the upper 20's and lower 30's without much of a problem. The only problem was if you went too high, then engine didn't have enough power to pull you through the thin air and well, gravity takes over quite violently (i.e. Crashing into the ocean or the middle of Siberia).

It does get quite boring, but it's a real achievement if you actually do it without crashing

Edit: Didn't add my route in.

[Edited 2008-03-24 10:42:43]
 
ACDC8
Posts: 7203
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:56 pm

RE: Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:00 pm

I've done it in an Air Canada A319. Didn't really have a plan, just started in YVR and went where ever I felt like. Some short segments and some long segments. Just took off, flew somewhere and landed. Made a note of where and when I stopped and continued on to the next segment. Stopped off at some airports I've used many times before like LHR, YYZ, KEF along with some more obscure ones that I can't even remember their names or codes. It took a couple of months to do (I only had time on the weekends) but it was a lot of fun.
A Grumpy German Is A Sauerkraut
 
CPH-R
Posts: 6059
Joined: Thu May 03, 2001 5:19 pm

RE: Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:18 pm

Once did a "mileage run" for the VA I was in, during the summer holiday. Off the top of my head, it went something like CPH-DEL-HKG-SYD-HNL-YVR-LHR-CPH  Smile
 
Zuluaviator994
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:50 pm

RE: Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:32 pm

I know this may sound like cheating, but I've done this with the PSS 777-200LR.
I flew from SYD to JFK, JFK to EZE in Argentina, to LHR, to Singapore, to Capetown, then back to SYD. It took me about 4 or 5 days.
Regards
If Speed is life, Altitude is life insurance. No one has ever collided with the sky.
 
ANITIX87
Posts: 2958
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:52 am

RE: Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:45 pm

I actually just started RTW flight yesterday with quite a crazy routing. Mostly short-hauls with a couple of long flights.

First around the east coast of the United States, starting at my local airport here at school.
ABE-IAD-LGA-BOS-JFK-

Then off to Europe
-LHR-CDG-LCY-SIR-EBA-GVA-FRA-INN-ZRH-ATH-

And the the Middle East and Asia, to eventually get back to the West Coast of the USA.
-DXB-HKG-HNL-

Flying around the Western and Central USA, before one final sprint up and down the east coast, back to where I started from.
-SEA-SFO-LAX-DEN-MSP-ORD-ATL-MCO-DCA-EWR-CLT-ABE


Have already completed everything up until JFK.

TIS
www.stellaryear.com: Canon EOS 50D, Canon EOS 5DMkII, Sigma 50mm 1.4, Canon 24-70 2.8L II, Canon 100mm 2.8L, Canon 100-4
 
KL773ER
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:51 pm

RE: Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Wed Mar 26, 2008 12:38 am

Yes.

JFK-AMS, 77W
AMS-LHR, 734
LHR-SYD, 744
SYD-MEL, 734
MEL-LAX, 77W
LAX-JFK, 77W

I wouldn't mind doing it again, either.
 
David L
Posts: 8551
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:26 am

RE: Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Wed Mar 26, 2008 10:42 pm

I did it in the PMDG 737 (FS9):

http://gc.kls2.com/cgi-bin/gc?PATH=K...O-KBFI%0D%0A&RANGE=&PATH-COLOR=red

and in the PMDG 744(FS9):

http://gc.kls2.com/cgi-bin/gc?PATH=E...OLOR=&PATH-UNITS=mi&SPEED-GROUND=4

Quoting Ajd1992 (Reply 2):
it's a real achievement if you actually do it without crashing

Um... let's not dwell on my decision to land a 744 at McMurdo Station, Antarctica  eyepopping .

Landed OK and slid... and slid... into the sea. Managed to get off after "restarting" on the "apron", though.  Smile
 
ZKSUJ
Posts: 6812
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 5:15 pm

RE: Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Fri Apr 04, 2008 3:46 am



Quoting David L (Reply 8):
Um... let's not dwell on my decision to land a 744 at McMurdo Station, Antarctica

Great it sounds like I'm not the only one who has done that... Not too hard once you're used to it
 
cptspeaking
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:49 pm

RE: Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Fri Apr 04, 2008 4:33 am

Another flight isntructor buddy of mine and I are doing an around-the-world trip using FS Pax, but we've got about 105 destinations we have to hit, and he created a scenario where you have to hit 5 war zones, no more than 5 crashes, 7% failure rate, etc. We've also come up with bonus points for the smoothest landing, most pax carried, least fuel used, etc.

Should be fun  Smile I'm using Google Earth to plan which order I go places...so far I've done England, France, Germany and the rest of northern Europe and Moscow in a CRJ7, southern Europe in an ATR-72, and Hong Kong-Kuala Lumpur-Singapore in a KLM Cargo B763...next on to Darwin, Perth and Sydney in the 767, and when I have enough cash I'll trade it in for the 744F  Smile

Takes a while, but it's a lot of fun  Smile
...and don't call me Shirley!!
 
flipdewaf
Posts: 1552
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 6:28 am

RE: Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Sun Apr 06, 2008 11:27 pm

http://www.flightsimworld.com/forums...topics&highlite=%2Bround+the+world

This shows my shots from one I did about 2 years ago. not in the right order though.

Fred
Image
 
WidebodyLover
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:16 pm

RE: Around The World In Flight Simulator?

Mon Apr 07, 2008 2:21 am

I've flown around the world on Flight Simulator 2004 with Landmark's Boeing 773. Each stop over was 2 hours long.
Here is my route:
JFK - MEX - BOG - SCL - EZE - GIG - JNB - LOS - CMN - LHR - FCO - TLV - DXB - BOM - BKK - HKG - NRT - ICN - SYD - AKL - PPT - YVR - JFK

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests