tortuga
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 5:51 am

How Will AI Traffic Run On My Computer? FS2004

Fri Apr 04, 2008 4:36 am

It's pretty embarrassing but I have an ancient computer. Big grin Still, I'm curious to see if I could install some AI traffic (i.e. World of AI) into FS2004.

My system specs:

AMD Athlon XP 2000+
1.66 GHz
512 MB of RAM
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 128 mb  Embarrassment

Will I even be able to fly with AI traffic installed?  Confused

Thanks.
 
metroliner
Posts: 847
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 4:35 am

RE: How Will AI Traffic Run On My Computer? FS2004

Sat Apr 05, 2008 1:23 pm

Yes, of course - I only recently upgraded from a similar system, was getting 10fps at LHR with Adobe's Traffic Pack (on a good day)  Smile

It really should be all right  Smile

Toni
Set the controls for the heart of the Sun
 
User avatar
United_fan
Posts: 6358
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2000 11:11 am

RE: How Will AI Traffic Run On My Computer? FS2004

Sat Apr 05, 2008 4:02 pm

Just down down your scenery sliders.
Champagne For My Real Friends,and Real Pain For My Sham Friends
 
User avatar
csturdiv
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:33 am

RE: How Will AI Traffic Run On My Computer? FS2004

Sat Apr 05, 2008 5:58 pm



Quoting Metroliner (Reply 1):
Adobe's Traffic Pack

Piece of crap package put together by a lower than pond scum pirate.
An American expat from the ORD area living and working in SYD
 
metroliner
Posts: 847
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 4:35 am

RE: How Will AI Traffic Run On My Computer? FS2004

Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:12 pm



Quoting Csturdiv (Reply 3):
Piece of crap package put together by a lower than pond scum pirate.

May I ask why? I find it better than my previous installation (of all the PAI packages). I've seen UT in FSX and it's not as good either. Sure, there are bugs, but it populates the world...
Set the controls for the heart of the Sun
 
User avatar
csturdiv
Posts: 1593
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:33 am

RE: How Will AI Traffic Run On My Computer? FS2004

Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:14 pm

Because that pack is put together without the consent of developers who have worked on those plans, repaints and models....that us why it is pirated software. While everything in this crap package is freeware, that does not mean the original developers lose their rights on how their work is distributed. Ask PAI, Aardvark and the other modelers who created the aircraft if they gave their approval for this moron to use their models. Ask the repainters who worked hard if they gave their approval. Ask the flight planners about this. If it includes AFCADS, ask the developers of those. Is there any airport scenery upgrades in it, if so, ask the developers of those airports. The answer will be the same, no. This is no different than the piracy of downloading mp3s, movies, games, apps and so on.
An American expat from the ORD area living and working in SYD
 
tortuga
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 5:51 am

RE: How Will AI Traffic Run On My Computer? FS2004

Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:30 am

I know this is old but thanks for the replies guys.

I've installed the World of AI packages and it actually runs pretty well. Actually, it feels like I'm getting better framerates than when I just had default AI's flying around. I fly in and out of LAX a lot with the airport packed, and the flights are pretty smooth.

Great work by WOAI. It's so much more fun now.  Smile

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests