Cross757
Topic Author
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:32 pm

Running FS9 And FSX On Same Computer

Sat Aug 22, 2009 11:39 pm

I did a thread search for this same topic and could not find it:

Are there any software issues (i.e. "bugs") with loading FS9 and FSX on the same computer? Obviously I won't be running them at the same time...I just didn't know if it would cause my computer to crash or mess up settings/addons between the two in the event there are duplicate files and my computer can't tell the difference. I just recently bought a new computer and the hardware I have (RAM, Video card, etc) are more than sufficient to run FSX. Any insight/comments are appreciated. Thanks!
 
T8KE0FF
Posts: 291
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 7:19 pm

RE: Running FS9 And FSX On Same Computer

Sun Aug 23, 2009 11:51 am

I have both on my PC and X-Plane and it all work's fine  Smile
RJ85 E145 E195 A319 A320 A330 A340 A380 B737 B747 B757 B767 B777 B787 DH4
 
Cross757
Topic Author
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:32 pm

RE: Running FS9 And FSX On Same Computer

Sun Aug 23, 2009 1:54 pm



Quoting T8KE0FF (Reply 1):
I have both on my PC and X-Plane and it all work's fine

Thank you very much! Have a great day.
 
wilco737
Posts: 7279
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 12:21 am

RE: Running FS9 And FSX On Same Computer

Sun Aug 23, 2009 3:21 pm

No problem. I have FS9 on my PC and FSX (although I don't use it). They work just fine.
Just watch out what add-ons you add where. Big grin

wilco737
 
Cross757
Topic Author
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:32 pm

RE: Running FS9 And FSX On Same Computer

Sun Aug 23, 2009 6:20 pm



Quoting WILCO737 (Reply 3):

Thank you as well. I have FSX loaded now, and I would say the most frustrating aspect is configuring the default settings and key assignments...FSX is certainly does not appear to be as intuitive as FS9. That aside, the terrain accuracy seems much improved. Thanks again.
 
wilco737
Posts: 7279
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 12:21 am

RE: Running FS9 And FSX On Same Computer

Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:27 pm



Quoting Cross757 (Reply 4):
I would say the most frustrating aspect is configuring the default settings and key assignments...FSX is certainly does not appear to be as intuitive as FS9. That aside, the terrain accuracy seems much improved. Thanks again.

Yeah the key assignments are annoying. I couldn't get really used to it and I still prefer FS9.

Happy flying...

wilco737
 
Burkhard
Posts: 1916
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:34 pm

RE: Running FS9 And FSX On Same Computer

Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:30 am

All works well if you install FS9 first and FSX later. I once did it the other way around, and that was the biggest mess I ever had with FSX...
 
User avatar
thebatman
Posts: 835
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 12:15 am

RE: Running FS9 And FSX On Same Computer

Fri Sep 04, 2009 3:18 pm

I also have run all three (FSX, FS9, X-plane) with no problem. But, like WILCO737 said, when using add-ons, make sure you know "what" goes "where"...enjoy.
Aircraft mechanics - because pilots need heroes too!
 
wntex
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 10:54 pm

RE: Running FS9 And FSX On Same Computer

Tue Oct 20, 2009 3:26 am

so yes, I run both and they work fine...but what's funny is how many of us still sim on FS9 over FSX (myself included).

hope they work well for you,

WNTex
"The chief cause of failure and unhappiness is trading what you want most for what you want now." -Zig Ziglar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests