User avatar
UltimateDelta
Topic Author
Posts: 2075
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 7:56 am

Unmovable Dash 8

Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:20 pm

Hi everyone. Recently I downloaded the Dreamwings Dash 8 Q400 and today I tried to fly it. I had had it before and the FDEs that came with it rendered it virtually unflyable because it had the tendency to point up at a 75 degree angle whenever it was in the air. This time I copied the ones from the default 738. I fired it up for a flight, and once it was ready, prepared to taxi. I applied first a little throttle, then more, and then finally opened it all the way. The sound indicated that the engines were running at full power, as did the throttle indicator on the panel, but the plane WILL NOT move at all. Is there any way to fix this?
Midwest Airlines- 1984-2010
 
MidEx216
Posts: 547
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:19 am

RE: Unmovable Dash 8

Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:59 pm

Are you sure you switched over the .air model in the cfg?

If not, I'm not very knowledgeable about this, but I believe it's possible they're simply just not compatible...

I'm sure you took off the parking break, right..?
 
User avatar
UltimateDelta
Topic Author
Posts: 2075
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 7:56 am

RE: Unmovable Dash 8

Sat Sep 12, 2009 1:07 am

Umm... maybe that's teh problem. How do you adjust the .air model? Thanks
Midwest Airlines- 1984-2010
 
MidEx216
Posts: 547
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:19 am

RE: Unmovable Dash 8

Sat Sep 12, 2009 4:38 am

Open the aircraft.cfg. Scroll down to the line that says "sim=xxxx". Make sure xxxx is the same as the name of the xxxx.air file in the aircraft folder. Leave out the .air
 
GST
Posts: 808
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 10:27 am

RE: Unmovable Dash 8

Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:31 am

Are you sure you havent fixed a nonissue? I think I remember that the plane loaded with the trim fully up, and that you merely need to reduce it a good bit before takeoff.
 
User avatar
UltimateDelta
Topic Author
Posts: 2075
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 7:56 am

RE: Unmovable Dash 8

Sat Sep 12, 2009 6:39 pm

I tried both of those things, and the plane still stays put. I also found that from the outside, the sound is kind of messed up. It is much quieter and you can't hear most of the idling or running noises it usually makes.
Midwest Airlines- 1984-2010
 
User avatar
thebatman
Posts: 835
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 12:15 am

RE: Unmovable Dash 8

Sat Oct 31, 2009 12:50 am

Are your props feathered?
Aircraft mechanics - because pilots need heroes too!
 
GAIsweetGAI
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 5:19 am

RE: Unmovable Dash 8

Sat Oct 31, 2009 1:24 am

I've had the opposite happen - the A/C moving but the props not spinning - after changing some engine settings in the .cfg file. I think they were originally set as jet engines, and I switched them to turboprops. Could be something like that...?

With the default FDE's and .cfg, did you try playing around with the flight control effectiveness settings etc?
"There is an art, or rather a knack to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests