User avatar
cpd
Topic Author
Posts: 4595
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:46 am

FSX On Dual Westmere Xeon Mac Pro?

Fri Nov 19, 2010 10:29 pm

With the dramas that are affecting my PC at the moment - I'm thinking of eventually getting rid of the PC and using a Mac Pro to replace it (and keeping all my photo work on Mac).

Obviously - I'd have it running Windows 7 64bit for gaming, but Mac OS X for everything else. Main question is, can put my existing Nvidia GTX295 video card into the Mac Pro?

It comes with a ATI 5770 (two of them) or 5870 - which I'm unfamiliar with. The specs I'm looking at are:

# Two 2.66GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon “Westmere” (12 cores)
# 8GB (4X2GB)
# 1TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s hard drive
# ATI Radeon HD 5870 1GB
# One 18x SuperDrive (a DVD burner)
# Apple Magic Mouse (wireless mouse)
# Apple Keyboard with Numeric Keypad (International English) and User Guide (English)
# Apple Mini DisplayPort to DVI Adapter

I could also option up Two ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB. Any opinions on which might be a better option in the video cards? I don't need a screen - I already have a decent one.
 
KevinL1011
Posts: 2858
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 3:48 pm

RE: FSX On Dual Westmere Xeon Mac Pro?

Mon Nov 22, 2010 7:12 am

Quoting cpd (Thread starter):
Main question is, can put my existing Nvidia GTX295 video card into the Mac Pro?

Man, I wouldn't mess with configuring an Apple OS to optimize a non OE video card.

Quoting cpd (Thread starter):
It comes with a ATI 5770 (two of them) or 5870 - which I'm unfamiliar with

If two vid cards are standard, then forget about adding the GTX295.

Quoting cpd (Thread starter):
I could also option up Two ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB. Any opinions on which might be a better option in the video cards? I don't need a screen - I already have a decent one.

1GB isn't a big deal anymore. Maybe that's why they're offering two cards? AFA not needing another screen, you could set up one screen for your flight POV and another screen for the panel.

Whatever you choose, get the maximum power supply and cooling available.

IMHDAO, stick with what you know. A MacPro is most likely the best professional choice however a PC may be better suited for simming with add-on controllers.

Klaus is the man to ask here. Send him an IM with your concerns. I have when I need help. He's a very knowledgeable and open guy.
474218, Carl, You will be missed.
 
Burkhard
Posts: 1916
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:34 pm

RE: FSX On Dual Westmere Xeon Mac Pro?

Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:23 am

The ATI 5770 is fine for FSX, even an I7-860 cannot really fill it. If you can get one 5870, even better, the ATI 5xxx are the first ATI cards that run without problem with FSX as good as least as the latest Nvidia.

1 GB of video RAM is compeltely enough for FSX, I have never seen more than 470MB used.
 
User avatar
cpd
Topic Author
Posts: 4595
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:46 am

RE: FSX On Dual Westmere Xeon Mac Pro?

Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:40 am

Good, I'll save up and get one.

I'm done with building my own computers and providing my own technical support. I just don't care for troubleshooting them anymore.  

I'll keep all my photo editing and work on the Mac OS side, while keeping windows clean for FSX. I suppose using Mac every day is pushing me more towards them.

My work computer is iMac 27" Core i7 860 with 8gb ram and 1TB HDD, it is a very fast work computer with an awesome screen.  
Quoting KevinL1011 (Reply 1):
Whatever you choose, get the maximum power supply and cooling available.

Mac Pro has pretty good cooling built in - as you'd expect given its enormous sized box and everything sectioned into component areas with hundreds of fans everywhere.
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: FSX On Dual Westmere Xeon Mac Pro?

Mon Nov 22, 2010 9:34 pm

Just get a 5870 OP. And what happened to your PC?

Quoting cpd (Reply 3):

I'm done with building my own computers and providing my own technical support. I just don't care for troubleshooting them anymore.
 
User avatar
cpd
Topic Author
Posts: 4595
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:46 am

RE: FSX On Dual Westmere Xeon Mac Pro?

Tue Nov 23, 2010 3:06 am

Quoting Fly2HMO (Reply 4):
And what happened to your PC?

Random lockups, and now, not working at all. I haven't lost any data - (all backed up), but still, annoying.

I just don't have the energy to worry about my own computers anymore. I just want to turn on the computer, have it work - rather than spend time working out why it won't work.

I'll go for the 5870 single-card option in the Mac Pro.   The little research I've managed to do suggests people are having very high frame rates once they've configured FSX.CFG options correctly, though many people are experiencing stutters which seems to be a common (and easily solved) thing regardless of computer type.

I might eventually add a 27" LED Cinema Display, but not right away.  Wink

[Edited 2010-11-22 19:12:05]
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: FSX On Dual Westmere Xeon Mac Pro?

Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:33 am

Quoting cpd (Reply 5):

I just don't have the energy to worry about my own computers anymore. I just want to turn on the computer, have it work - rather than spend time working out why it won't work.

Well, I wonder what happened, because my homebrew PC has turned out to be infinitely more reliable than any brand name computer I've had. I'm never buying a big brand computer ever again. It was well worth the effort in my case.

Quoting cpd (Reply 5):

I'll go for the 5870 single-card option in the Mac Pro. The little research I've managed to do suggests people are having very high frame rates once they've configured FSX.CFG options correctly, though many people are experiencing stutters which seems to be a common (and easily solved) thing regardless of computer type.

You have chosen wisely. Nvidias are known to have lots of problems with FS as it is. Heard great things with FSX and the 5870.
 
User avatar
cpd
Topic Author
Posts: 4595
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:46 am

RE: FSX On Dual Westmere Xeon Mac Pro?

Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:13 am

It seems to be video card failure of some sort, or maybe something else.  

I had a look at a Mac Pro today in Apple Store Sydney (a low specced 6gb model). It seems the Westmere six-core is hardly faster than the previous Nehalem Xeon, and a 3.2ghz Quad-core Nehalem Xeon with 8gb ram and ATI 5870 will be a rocket of a computer, much faster than my current one.

I tried the one out in store which was a fairly low specified machine and in common tasks I'd do in Photoshop, and other similar stuff, it thrashed my PC so badly. Looking at the benchmarks, it appears that the thing will be very fast in Windows 7 64bit with games. The computer has good scope for expansion. The ATI 5870 appears to be an off the shelf item (I looked at it inside the machine). RAM is massively expandable - should I need to go to crazy amounts (I don't) and the whole machine looks pretty well screwed together. Adding extra HDDs looks like childs play, open the side, flip open the door to the drive bay and click it in place.

It's possible to put 4 video cards in it as well.

So since the price ends up being cheaper than I expected through not having the six core processor - that's not so bad. I'm also pleased about not needing to do my own support anymore.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests