egph
Topic Author
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:54 am

Increasing The Thrust In FS9 Aircraft

Sun May 08, 2011 4:21 pm

Hello fellow flight-simmers,

I am am long time flight-simmer who has just started flying regularly again after a break of about a year or so. I usually fly the Overland Airbus and Boeing series aircraft for various different airlines. However recently I have acquired the Project Airbus A320. I find the model OK and I have downloaded a freeware panel for it so as not to use the default 734 one. The only problem I do have is that the aircraft is massively underpowered, it taxies OK on a low power setting however on the take-off roll it has the roll length of a fully loaded Jumbo and struggles to climb at all without stalling.

My question is, what bit of the aircraft cfg do I need to tweak to increase the thrust capabilities? I used to be quite proficient at tweaking cfg's a while back but have lost my touch.

Kind regards
EGPH
 
Fly2HMO
Posts: 7207
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 12:14 pm

RE: Increasing The Thrust In FS9 Aircraft

Tue May 10, 2011 10:04 pm

Quoting egph (Thread starter):

My question is, what bit of the aircraft cfg do I need to tweak to increase the thrust capabilities? I used to be quite proficient at tweaking cfg's a while back but have lost my touch.

I get the feeling your problem is an incorrectly loaded aircraft. Lighten up the fuel/pax loads. No plane will ever fly with 100% pax and fuel. I've noticed that when switching planes FS will mess up the loads. There's no point messing with the CFG unless there is seriously something wrong, which I doubt is the case here.
 
User avatar
EA CO AS
Posts: 13438
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2001 8:54 am

RE: Increasing The Thrust In FS9 Aircraft

Wed May 11, 2011 7:40 am

Can't it be done by changing the static thrust data in the aircraft file?

[TurbineEngineData]
fuel_flow_gain = 0.002
bypass_ratio=6.00
inlet_area = 33.5757
rated_N2_rpm = 29920.000
static_thrust = 43734.000
afterburner_available = 0
reverser_available = 1
"In this present crisis, government is not the solution to our problem - government IS the problem." - Ronald Reagan

Comments made here are my own and are not intended to represent the official position of Alaska Air Group
 
User avatar
thebatman
Posts: 835
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 12:15 am

RE: Increasing The Thrust In FS9 Aircraft

Wed May 11, 2011 8:33 am

Quoting EA CO AS (Reply 2):
Can't it be done by changing the static thrust data in the aircraft file?

I just did it in FS9 with the default 737-400 (which I never use) I increased the thrust rating from 23,500 lbs each to 43,500. What a blast! With 20k lbs of fuel, I was climbing at 6000 fpm maintaining 260kts IAS. I got up to FL380 very quickly, turned off #2 engine, and still got an overspeed warning!!!
Aircraft mechanics - because pilots need heroes too!
 
EDICHC
Posts: 1545
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 9:38 pm

RE: Increasing The Thrust In FS9 Aircraft

Wed May 11, 2011 8:43 am

Quoting Fly2HMO (Reply 1):
I get the feeling your problem is an incorrectly loaded aircraft. Lighten up the fuel/pax loads. No plane will ever fly with 100% pax and fuel.

I agree, I have found the Project Airbus (realistically) unforgiving if overweight.
A300/319/320/346 ATR72 B722/732/3/4/5/6/8/742/4/752/762/3/772/3 BAC111 BAe146 C172 DHC1/6/8 HS121 MD80 PA28
 
egph
Topic Author
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:54 am

RE: Increasing The Thrust In FS9 Aircraft

Wed May 11, 2011 11:10 am

Thank you for your responses guys. It seems that shedding 50% of the pax and baggage weight is enough for the plane still to T/O and climb with a good fuel load (so that I can still do the LGW-TFS and LTN-SSH sectors in my EZY Airbus A320). Even then on a test flight from VCV-LAX I found that the plane thundered down the runway, kept level flight and descended and landed fine (on a very low weight and fuel setting) but struggled to climb at anything above 6 degrees nose up (about 1600 fpm). So I increased the static thrust which on the cfg had a warning DO NOT CHANGE on it and it seems to have kind of sorted the climb issue out!

Thanks again for all your help  
 
kcrwflyer
Posts: 2534
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 11:57 am

RE: Increasing The Thrust In FS9 Aircraft

Wed May 11, 2011 3:05 pm

Whats the point of making a plane less realistic?
 
bj87
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:26 am

RE: Increasing The Thrust In FS9 Aircraft

Wed May 11, 2011 8:37 pm

Quoting TheBatman (Reply 3):
I just did it in FS9 with the default 737-400 (which I never use) I increased the thrust rating from 23,500 lbs each to 43,500. What a blast! With 20k lbs of fuel, I was climbing at 6000 fpm maintaining 260kts IAS. I got up to FL380 very quickly, turned off #2 engine, and still got an overspeed warning!!!

I just tried that. Didn't know a Mooney could climb that fast  
 
KPDX
Posts: 2373
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:04 am

RE: Increasing The Thrust In FS9 Aircraft

Thu May 12, 2011 7:32 pm

Easiest way is to increase the thrust_scalar.
View my aviation videos on Youtube by searching for zildjiandrummr12
 
User avatar
JohnKrist
Crew
Posts: 1537
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:54 pm

RE: Increasing The Thrust In FS9 Aircraft

Thu May 19, 2011 10:47 am

Quoting KPDX (Reply 8):
Easiest way is to increase the thrust_scalar.

Correct, changing the thrust scalar can give a 737 the power of Endevour and then some 
Did that and went so fast I hit a building on take off and the wingless fuselage went on flying to some 30.000 feet before falling back to earth
Airliners.net Crew-Head Support
5D Mark III, 7D, 17-40 F4 L, 70-200 F2.8 L IS, EF 1.4x II, EF 2x III, SPEEDLITE 600EX-RT

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests