Cadet985
Topic Author
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 6:45 am

FSX Callsigns

Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:20 am

Okay, I know this is really a non-issue, but is there a way in FSX to actually get ATC to pronounce airline callsigns? I'm tired of having a BA flight for example, and not have the callsign pronounced, and just be called "xxx heavy."

Marc
 
B737200
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 5:30 pm

RE: FSX Callsigns

Sun Jul 31, 2011 4:47 am

Try this:

http://www.editvoicepack.com/

I've only ever used it on FS9 but according to the website it also works with FSX.
Lady Guinness is ready to fly...
 
Cadet985
Topic Author
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 6:45 am

RE: FSX Callsigns

Sun Jul 31, 2011 8:47 am

Is the program itself (editvoicepack) known to crash...a lot?

Marc
 
B737200
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 5:30 pm

RE: FSX Callsigns

Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:49 am

I don't think it ever crashed for me. I have the FS9 version though. I've used it on Windows 7 64-bit.

I don't really know what the problem can be, maybe someone else can help you more than I can.

Does it even start? And did you install it using the "Run as Administrator" function?
Lady Guinness is ready to fly...
 
Cadet985
Topic Author
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 6:45 am

RE: FSX Callsigns

Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:09 am

I'll try it later today...I've been having so many issues with FSX and add-ons for it that I'm seriously ready to uninstall it for good.

Marc
 
drerx7
Posts: 4218
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2000 12:19 am

RE: FSX Callsigns

Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:03 pm

I have editvoicepack for FSX and it works and I don't have any problems with it at all. Cadet985 - try reinstalling, I really don't have issues with FSX.
Third Coast born, means I'm Texas raised
 
User avatar
UltimateDelta
Posts: 2068
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 7:56 am

RE: FSX Callsigns

Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:43 pm

Sometimes you just have to use weird variations. For example, all my BA aircraft use 'Speed Bird' instead of 'Speedbird'. Of course, Editvoicepack is probably a better permanent solution, but I'm just putting that out there.
Midwest Airlines- 1984-2010
 
Burkhard
Posts: 1916
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:34 pm

RE: FSX Callsigns

Mon Aug 01, 2011 11:35 am

EDVP 4.0 works very stable, I have created about 1000 callsigns for it.

Now, the call sign that is uses is written in the aircraft.cfg. If there you find am ATC_airline=Speed Bird, Speed Bird will be used, and if you have speedbird there, speedbird will be used. Checking through the literature, you find both ways of spelling.
 
Cadet985
Topic Author
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 6:45 am

RE: FSX Callsigns

Mon Aug 01, 2011 11:47 am

I'm having trouble importing various callsigns...all I want are some of the major and regional carriers.
 
B737200
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 5:30 pm

RE: FSX Callsigns

Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:21 pm

This is what I do (disclaimer I do this for FS9)

1. Go on File and click "Update Voicepack"

2. After you perform an update go on file and click "save."

3. Then go on tools and click on "update airliners.cfg"

You may be actually downloading the call signs but if you do not update the airlines.cfg file they will not show up.

That is my procedure it works for me, let us know if you have any luck.
Lady Guinness is ready to fly...
 
User avatar
GEG
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 11:45 am

RE: FSX Callsigns

Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:19 pm

Quoting Burkhard (Reply 7):
EDVP 4.0 works very stable, I have created about 1000 callsigns for i

I'll have to try this when I get home, thanks
I have no idea what I'm doing...
 
Cadet985
Topic Author
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 6:45 am

RE: FSX Callsigns

Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:05 am

Quoting b737200 (Reply 9):

Followed your instructions, and some callsigns are working...for example, it is pronouncing "Colgan Air" but not Cathay Pacific. Any suggestions?
 
B737200
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 5:30 pm

RE: FSX Callsigns

Tue Aug 02, 2011 3:33 pm

Then I think you need to download the voice files for those airlines. I'm not where to find them, maybe try avsim.

I'm not sure if AI packages like WOAI come with voice files, maybe you can try downloading the AI traffic for Cathay, installing it and running the update process once again.
Lady Guinness is ready to fly...
 
Cadet985
Topic Author
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 6:45 am

RE: FSX Callsigns

Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:42 pm

Quoting b737200 (Reply 12):
I'm not sure if AI packages like WOAI come with voice files, maybe you can try downloading the AI traffic for Cathay, installing it and running the update process once again.

I've never been able to get any of the AI packages to install correctly.
 
Ned Kelly
Posts: 397
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2001 8:14 am

RE: FSX Callsigns

Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:09 pm

Editcoicepack must be the #1 MUST HAVE freeware addon for FSX IMO (&FS2004, FS2002) if you intend on using non-default AI aircraft or flying non-default aircraft.

A couple of links for info:

http://www.fsonline.dk/en/index.php?title=EditVoicepack
http://www.editvoicepack.com/

p.s. I have never known this program to cause the compute to crash.

[Edited 2011-08-07 09:10:40]

[Edited 2011-08-07 09:11:27]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests