dla320
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:48 pm

Sga Md 80 Takeoff

Thu Aug 11, 2011 11:10 pm

Has anybody had any problems with tailscrapping in the sga md 80 models, everytime i attemp to takeoff the back of the plane rides the ground for a while and then starts lifting off the ground. Is it just something that im doing wrong or is it the plane?
 
alaskamd80
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 5:55 am

RE: Sga Md 80 Takeoff

Fri Aug 12, 2011 1:23 am

Hi, did you remember to set the trim? that might be your problem...
Luciano
 
dla320
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:48 pm

RE: Sga Md 80 Takeoff

Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:03 am

Quoting alaskamd80 (Reply 1):
Hi, did you remember to set the trim? that might be your problem...

How would i set the trim
 
usair330
Posts: 691
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 12:48 pm

RE: Sga Md 80 Takeoff

Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:18 am

Quoting DLa320 (Reply 2):
How would i set the trim

Makes me wonder.... Did you set the flaps for takeoff as well? Rotate speed should also be @ 145 knots, with those aircraft newayz..... (Not %100 accurate)
 
User avatar
KPDX
Posts: 2378
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:04 am

RE: Sga Md 80 Takeoff

Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:26 am

I think I know the problem you are referring to... I guess one way would be to increase the cruise lift scalar in the aircraft.cfg by 1 or so.
View my aviation videos on Youtube by searching for zildjiandrummr12
 
kcrwflyer
Posts: 2565
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 11:57 am

RE: Sga Md 80 Takeoff

Fri Aug 12, 2011 4:11 am

I haven't had any problems.

1. stop rotating so steeply
2. check your weights, make sure youre not over weight
3. Flaps ( you should be able to take off on the 2nd-4th settings) and trim. Your trim should be fine by default, that doesn't seem to be the problem since you're getting the nose up.
 
phatfarmlines
Posts: 1272
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 12:06 pm

RE: Sga Md 80 Takeoff

Sat Aug 13, 2011 1:49 pm

Quoting kcrwflyer (Reply 5):
3. Flaps ( you should be able to take off on the 2nd-4th settings) and trim. Your trim should be fine by default, that doesn't seem to be the problem since you're getting the nose up.

Actually, the SGA/Erick Cantu T-Tail models (DC-9, MD-80, MD-90, 717, 727) require setting the trim for proper takeoff. User DLa320, please go into your FS2004 / FSX commands assignment and find what keys on your keyboard or joystick are used to set the trim. If you are doing this correctly, you should see your horizontal stabilizer move up or down.

The fact that he's getting lift tells me DLa320 is setting flaps, but without the proper trim, is resulting in a very long takeoff roll. Otherwise, we'd have a NW 255 on our hands......
 
kcrwflyer
Posts: 2565
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 11:57 am

RE: Sga Md 80 Takeoff

Sat Aug 13, 2011 11:50 pm

Quoting phatfarmlines (Reply 6):
The fact that he's getting lift tells me DLa320 is setting flaps, but without the proper trim, is resulting in a very long takeoff roll. Otherwise, we'd have a NW 255 on our hands......

If he's dragging the tail down the runway then he's more than trimmed enough.
 
dla320
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:48 pm

RE: Sga Md 80 Takeoff

Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:35 am

i always set the flaps so i know thats not the problem, its just fustrating that on some runways it take the whole runway and then some to get up
 
User avatar
JohnKrist
Crew
Posts: 1734
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:54 pm

RE: Sga Md 80 Takeoff

Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:42 pm

Default trim is shift+1 (pitch up) and shift+7 (pitch down) if I'm not mistaken. I never remember which so I try both until the plane does what I want  
Airliners.net Crew-Head Support
5D Mark III, 7D, 17-40 F4 L, 70-200 F2.8 L IS, EF 1.4x II, EF 2x III, SPEEDLITE 600EX-RT
 
kcrwflyer
Posts: 2565
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 11:57 am

RE: Sga Md 80 Takeoff

Sun Aug 14, 2011 5:34 pm

Quoting DLa320 (Reply 8):
i always set the flaps so i know thats not the problem, its just fustrating that on some runways it take the whole runway and then some to get up

Youve never said, how much runway are you using? Also, make sure the plane isnt over weight.
 
flymia
Posts: 6906
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2001 6:33 am

RE: Sga Md 80 Takeoff

Sun Aug 14, 2011 8:38 pm

Quoting DLa320 (Reply 8):
always set the flaps so i know thats not the problem, its just fustrating that on some runways it take the whole runway and then some to get up

Make sure your not overweight. If you are flying for example DFW-MCI you dont need 100% fuel maybe just put in 40% etc.. Change the passenger numbers etc.. If you are using large 8,000ft plus runways you should have plenty of room to takeoff.
"It was just four of us on the flight deck, trying to do our job" (Captain Al Haynes)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos