User avatar
longhauler
Topic Author
Posts: 4984
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 12:00 am

Flight Simulator Information

Thu Jan 24, 2013 5:50 am

I am looking for information about Flight Simulator programs for a home computer. I was looking online for information but then remembered there is a far greater wealth of knowledge on here.

For his 20th birthday, I am taking my nephew on a 4 hour ride in an A320 Full Flight Simulator in our training centre. (It's not as great as it sounds, we are only allowed to use the simulators for "practise" during the 0200-0600 time slot!) He is a private pilot, but I would like him to have a better knowledge of the MCDU/FMS in the A320 before we go.

Do the Flight Simulator programs also include input and loading from the MDCU? Or is it just assumed, during a set up?

Are all of the Flight Simulator programs the same? Some better than others?
Just because I stopped arguing, doesn't mean I think you are right. It just means I gave up!
 
Mir
Posts: 19107
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:55 am

RE: Flight Simulator Information

Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:35 am

If he has a version of Flight Simulator, there are add-on Airbus aircraft that do come with fairly realistic (or at least it seemed that way given my limited experience with an Airbus avionics trainer) MCDU setup.

I used the Phoenix Simulation Software programs (they make an A319/320/321, an A330 and an A340) with FS2004. Unfortunately, that company is no more, but they have re-organized into BlackBox Simulation, and those products are available from their website.

http://www.blackboxsimulation.com/in....php/products/fs-2004/airbus-a320/

If he only has FSX, then I'm not sure what would be a good program to use - I'm not up on what's out there for that version.

-Mir
7 billion, one nation, imagination...it's a beautiful day
 
steffenbn
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:37 pm

RE: Flight Simulator Information

Thu Jan 24, 2013 11:32 pm

Quoting Mir (Reply 1):
If he only has FSX, then I'm not sure what would be a good program to use - I'm not up on what's out there for that version.

There's the Airbus X Extended - http://en.shop.aerosoft.com/eshop.ph...ht%20Simulation&s_language=english

which is a very good airbus for FSX!

-Steffen

[Edited 2013-01-24 15:34:06]
A330, A319, 737,738,752,763,763ER,764ER,777-200LR
 
CalebWilliams
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:48 pm

RE: Flight Simulator Information

Thu Jan 24, 2013 11:51 pm

Quoting steffenbn (Reply 2):
Quoting Mir (Reply 1):
If he only has FSX, then I'm not sure what would be a good program to use - I'm not up on what's out there for that version.

There's the Airbus X Extended - http://en.shop.aerosoft.com/eshop.ph...ht%20Simulation&s_language=english

which is a very good airbus for FSX!

-Steffen

Second this. I'm not sure exactly what's in the real deal, but this has a lot of stuff in and has option for selected and managed modes. I'm not sure how it implements the various "laws" of the a/c, but I don't know how realistic you're getting.
Caleb Williams MSP AUS STL AMS CPH LGW YYZ
 
Fabo
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 1:30 am

RE: Flight Simulator Information

Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:10 pm

It is pretty good for basic operation. Not an option for abnormal training, but I dont think that should be a problem for you.

Only bigger drawback at the moment is not finished VNAV.
The light at the end of tunnel turn out to be a lighted sing saying NO EXIT
 
User avatar
longhauler
Topic Author
Posts: 4984
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 12:00 am

RE: Flight Simulator Information

Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:14 pm

That's great! Thanks for you help.
Just because I stopped arguing, doesn't mean I think you are right. It just means I gave up!
 
User avatar
Kaphias
Posts: 490
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 6:29 am

RE: Flight Simulator Information

Sat Jan 26, 2013 1:33 am

You could also try the X-Plane 10 demo http://www.x-plane.com/downloads/x-plane_10_demo with the QPAC A320 http://www.qpac.de/index1d9d.html?id=79&lang=en

[Edited 2013-01-25 17:34:31]
Flown on: C150/172/206, DHC-2/3, AS350, J32, Q400, CR7/9, E135/40/45/75, DC9, A320, B732/4/7/8/9, 744, 752/3, 763, MD80
 
apodino
Posts: 3030
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 2:11 am

RE: Flight Simulator Information

Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:25 pm

wilco pub makes some top quality software that emulates the airbus. The site is www.wilcopub.com
These are add ons for Microsoft FSX so you need that. But let me tell you, these things are so real. I have the EJets, the ERJ, and the A330/340. The ERJ is insanely realistic, and the FMS database can be updated to the current AIRAC cycle via navigraph.de.

Personally, I always use these add ons when I sim as it makes the experience so much more real.
 
Fabo
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 1:30 am

RE: Flight Simulator Information

Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:33 pm

Quoting Kaphias (Reply 6):
You could also try the X-Plane 10 demo http://www.x-plane.com/downloads/x-plane_10_demo with the QPAC A320 http://www.qpac.de/index1d9d.html?id...ng=en

There is no FMGS simulation in that AFAIK.

A full on, properly simulated airliner is a thing that is massively hindering XPLs progress, IMO. The JRollon CRJ has made some good progress, but is still not as complete as MSFS users are used to, and reportedly the 777 Wordliner add-on is quite nice, but these do not seem to cut it yet.
IXEG 733 looks very promising, and if there was an A320 to a similar level, I think X-plane could grab a lot of converts from MSFS.
The light at the end of tunnel turn out to be a lighted sing saying NO EXIT
 
FSXJunkie
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:30 am

RE: Flight Simulator Information

Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:14 am

Quoting CalebWilliams (Reply 3):

There's the Airbus X Extended - http://en.shop.aerosoft.com/eshop.ph...ht%20Simulation&s_language=english

which is a very good airbus for FSX!

-Steffen

[Edited 2013-01-24 15:34:06]

Did Aerosoft address the lack of wingflex in this version or are they sticking with their "not noticeable" bull?

Personally, I don't trust a simulated plane from a developer whom claims that variants in the same type rating are "too radically different to simulate." PMDG didn't have compunctions about the 600/700, I don't get Aerosoft's refusal to do the 318/319.
 
Fabo
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 1:30 am

RE: Flight Simulator Information

Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:00 pm

Aerosoft will be publishing the A318/19. The differences comment related to inclusion of A318/19 in the package and/or viability of development as a cheap add-on to the A320/21. However it seems that they had a proffesional demand for the 318/319 which would subsidize development costs.

Also, that "not noticeable" is not really bull. The wing is quite rigid and would move a couple pixels at best. Performance costs would be quite substantial meanwhile.
The light at the end of tunnel turn out to be a lighted sing saying NO EXIT

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests