EWRkid1990
Topic Author
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:12 pm

Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:19 am

My Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 recently stopped running on my computer, so I decided it was time to upgrade to FSX. I have made heavy use of FS9 freeware aircraft and scenery, mostly SGA, Project Opensky and Airbus, Skyspirit, TDS, FRF-Scenery and Mach1 scenery. How do I know which aircraft/scenery from FS9 will work on FSX, and is there a way of making them compatible? I appreciate any and all help, and would appreciate correspondence via email as well, if some of you are willing to go the extra mile to help a guy with somewhat limited computer knowledge. Great minds of Airliners.net, BRING ME YOUR WISDOM!

-Thank you SO much
EWRkid1990
 
User avatar
Thunderboltdrgn
Posts: 1681
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:39 pm

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:32 pm

FSX support varies from one add-on to another.

However POSKY and Project Airbus will work on fsx although it will require some effort from you
http://poskyarchive.com/fsx-support/

http://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showth...rit2010-767-300-not-working-in-FSX

In general go to the website where you downloaded them and see if you can fins any info
or if the downloads came with a readme file.

Otherwise the easiest way is to google for "freeware name fsx support" or
goto http://forum.avsim.net and se if there is any info there,

I don't have any experience from these freewares so I can't give you much more advice then this.
Like a thunderbolt of lightning the Dragon roars across the sky. Il Drago Ruggente
 
FSXJunkie
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:30 am

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Fri Oct 04, 2013 4:26 pm

Quoting EWRkid1990 (Thread starter):
My Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 recently stopped running on my computer, so I decided it was time to upgrade to FSX.

Did you try reinstall?

Quote:
I have made heavy use of FS9 freeware aircraft and scenery, mostly SGA, Project Opensky and Airbus, Skyspirit, TDS,

POSKY, SkySpirit, TDS, Project Airbus, are compatible, I suggest getting FSX model files and replacing the .MDL's in your current folders. POSKY FS9 planes use exposed colored models for some elements (antenna's, etc.) FSX doesn't support that.

Oh another reason to get FSX .MDL's is Virtual Cockpit merging.

Quote:
FRF-Scenery and Mach1 scenery.

Scenery is going to be a bit of roulette, the FSX world is a bit different and anomalies are likely when using FS9 scenery, some could work...but better to just find FSX versions of those areas.

Quote:
How do I know which aircraft/scenery from FS9 will work on FSX, and is there a way of making them compatible? I appreciate any and all help, and would appreciate correspondence via email as well, if some of you are willing to go the extra mile to help a guy with somewhat limited computer knowledge. Great minds of Airliners.net, BRING ME YOUR WISDOM!

Okay...how did you get your current freeware in the first place?

http://simviation.com/1/front-page
http://library.avsim.net/ (requires account, register...it's free.)
http://www.flightsim.com/

Check the FSX sections, for your aircraft just replace model files, sound folder (all contents), panel folder (all contents) and replace the aircraft.cfg data (everything after your livery entries.)

Or you can just re-download the FSX planes (it's free after all) and rebuild your collection from scratch..

For your scenery just search the FSX fields for the areas you want, you'll likely find them.
 
MIAspotter
Posts: 2848
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 1:57 pm

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Sun Oct 06, 2013 9:38 am

I am on the same boat right now, I was happily running FS9 on my old laptop, I bought a new VAIO with 6GB of RAM and 1GB dedicated graphic cards and W8 64bit (I downgraded it to W7 64bit) and obviously FS9 does not run here (running out of HD space and memory) It is something about FS9 and FSX being 32bit applications and therefore unable to run on 64bit environments.

So I am thinking on purchasing FSX Professional Edition and installing it here, but I am sort of worried it will have the same compatibility issues as FS9.  

MIAspotter

[Edited 2013-10-06 02:39:01]
Nos vamos de Vueling?
 
mdavies06
Posts: 322
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:28 pm

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Sun Oct 06, 2013 11:53 am

FSX will run on W8. Mine does. Not sure about FS9 as really FS9 is now 10 years old! Its time to migrate to the younger 7 years old program.
 
User avatar
UltimateDelta
Posts: 2075
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 7:56 am

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Sun Oct 06, 2013 3:22 pm

Quoting FSXJunkie (Reply 2):

Yes, most of the time FS9 scenery will not work properly in FSX. However, I have packages from both Mach-1 and FRF, both of which work for me without any problems. But in general, I would take your advice and look for FSX-specific stuff.

[Edited 2013-10-06 08:25:20]
Midwest Airlines- 1984-2010
 
User avatar
Thunderboltdrgn
Posts: 1681
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:39 pm

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Mon Oct 07, 2013 10:18 pm

Quoting MIAspotter (Reply 3):
It is something about FS9 and FSX being 32bit applications and therefore unable to run on 64bit environments.

I run FSX on win7 64-bit Ultimate. It works but obviously FSX, being a 32-bit application,
cannot fully use the full capacity of a 64-bit system such as extra RAM and etc.

I used to have FSX on 32-bit WInXP pro before I upgraded to WIn7 and FSX is much
more stable on my Win 7 system then it was on the XP-system.
Like a thunderbolt of lightning the Dragon roars across the sky. Il Drago Ruggente
 
MIAspotter
Posts: 2848
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 1:57 pm

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:46 pm

Quoting ThunderboltDrgn (Reply 6):

Do you run it in compatibility mode? or just as it installs?

Might give FSX a try. 

MIAspotter
Nos vamos de Vueling?
 
User avatar
Thunderboltdrgn
Posts: 1681
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:39 pm

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:07 pm

Quoting MIAspotter (Reply 7):

Do you run it in compatibility mode? or just as it installs?

Might give FSX a try.

MIAspotter

compatibility mode set to Windows Vista SP2.
Like a thunderbolt of lightning the Dragon roars across the sky. Il Drago Ruggente
 
MIAspotter
Posts: 2848
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 1:57 pm

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Tue Oct 15, 2013 11:18 am

Quoting thunderboltdrgn (Reply 8):
compatibility mode set to Windows Vista SP2.

Thanks a lot, ok, I will give FSX a go, will buy it later this week, install and see how it goes, I really miss flightsimming (4 months since last flight) had to make do with OMSI bus simulator...

Another couple of questions:

I will mainly fly Project Airbus A320 series, I know I will need to install FSX models, but will the FS9 repaints still work? and what´s the difference between FSX textures (DDS I think) and the FS9 standard DXT or BMP?

And my other concern is my AI traffic, I read somewhere that FSX reads the week differently to FS9 but that there was a program that could easily convert FS9 AI bgls into FSX bgls. and again will I need to reinstall FSX models and textures or will the existing ones work straight away?

MIAspotter
Nos vamos de Vueling?
 
User avatar
Thunderboltdrgn
Posts: 1681
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:39 pm

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Tue Oct 15, 2013 1:01 pm

regarding AI-traffic se these links:

http://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13543
https://www.google.se/search?q=AI-traffic+convert+fs9+bgl+to+fsx+bgl+site:www.fsdeveloper.com&safe=off&hl=sv&biw=1920&bih=836

As for PA: http://talk.pafs.wf/viewforum.php?f=...d=c532d2f5a74ef4235fde2e4aa75d368f
Like a thunderbolt of lightning the Dragon roars across the sky. Il Drago Ruggente
 
MIAspotter
Posts: 2848
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2001 1:57 pm

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Mon Oct 21, 2013 1:09 pm

Quoting thunderboltdrgn (Reply 10):

Thank you for your help!

So I went ahead and purchased FSX Professional edition ( a steal at 12€ in MediaMarkt) Installed it, and so far so good, I am still adjusting and porting over some stuff from FS9 (AI Traffic and some panels and sound)

Let´s see if this weekend I can take to the skies again 

MIAspotter.
Nos vamos de Vueling?
 
kevinkevin
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:52 pm

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:47 pm

Quoting mdavies06 (Reply 4):

FS9 works like a dream on W8 64bit for me.
 
EWRkid1990
Topic Author
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:12 pm

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Sat Dec 28, 2013 4:24 pm

Ok, so ANOTHER question, how does one add virtual cockpit and Jetway capability to aircraft that don't currently have it? Thanks again for all of your help.

-EWRkid1990
 
User avatar
Thunderboltdrgn
Posts: 1681
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 5:39 pm

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Sun Dec 29, 2013 1:22 pm

Quoting kevinkevin (Reply 12):
Ok, so ANOTHER question, how does one add virtual cockpit and Jetway capability to aircraft that don't currently have it? Thanks again for all of your help.

-EWRkid1990

https://www.google.se/search?q=how+to+add+Virtual+cockpit+to+a+FSX+aircraft&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:sv-SE:official&client=firefox-a&gws_rd=cr&ei=9yHAUuDRHKeoyQPnhIBo

[Edited 2013-12-29 05:23:53]
Like a thunderbolt of lightning the Dragon roars across the sky. Il Drago Ruggente
 
User avatar
csturdiv
Posts: 1623
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:33 am

RE: Transitioning From FS9 To FSX, Help

Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:40 pm

Quoting EWRkid1990 (Reply 13):
Ok, so ANOTHER question, how does one add virtual cockpit and Jetway capability to aircraft that don't currently have it? Thanks again for all of your help.

At one time there was an article posted at http://www.flightsimworld.com/forums...efault-fsx-vc-with-an-addon-plane/ but it seems that either that topic or website is no longer up. (I had this site in my bookmarks). Do a similar Google search for how to use default VC with addon planes and you should see similar articles.

For the jetways there is an edit needed in the aircraft.cfg file. Over at the Alpha-India forums is a topic that shows the edits needed for AI aircraft and some user flyable aircraft. http://www.alpha-india.net/forums/index.php?topic=3515.0 Also the forums for the aircraft model might have some settings as well. I need to readd these in, I had them in for my AI aircraft, but removed them as I was worried about lower frame rates. Maybe I'll start on that on New Years Day.
An American expat from the ORD area living and working in SYD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests