cfalk
Posts: 10221
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2000 6:38 pm

Upload File Sizes

Thu Jan 18, 2001 8:09 pm

When I work on my files, I resize them to be 1000 pixels across and 600 or so high, and the jpg file I end up with (without any compression) is anywhere between 400K and 600K. But on the full-size display on A.net, if you right-click on the picture and select properties (or do Save As... and download the file), the filesize is only 150K or so. I don't see any degradation due to compression, so I am curious if I can somehow further reduce the filesize, and thus reduce the time spent waiting on uploads.

If it makes any difference, I use Corel PhotoPaint 7.

Has anybody else noticed this?

Charles
The only thing you should feel when shooting a terrorist: Recoil.
 
Cliffie
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2000 4:59 am

RE: Upload File Sizes

Thu Jan 18, 2001 8:59 pm

Charles,

this one was only 64k when I sent it in. PS 5.0LE compression level 6.


Click for large version
Click here for full size photo!

Photo © Ingo Richardt



Cheers,
Ingo
 
Invader
Crew
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2000 7:41 am

RE: Upload File Sizes

Thu Jan 18, 2001 9:43 pm

Charles,

I also use the 1000 pixels horizontal. After it has gone through my Adobe Photoshop, I save the file as JPG file, whereby you get a separate window with the JPEG Options to select the Quality. I normally use quality 6. As an example I give you some K values for the following photo :

Click for large version
Click here for full size photo!

Photo © Peter Vercruijsse


Quality 10 : 805k
Quality 8 : 286k
Quality 6 : 116k
Quality 4 : 79k
Quality 2 : 39k
Quality 0 : 22k
Differences between quality 10 and 6 are barely noticeable, but it makes a huge difference in k !
The picture above is at 116k, although the value given in the properties of the actual Airliners.net picture gives 131k, maybe caused by the text or so.

Regards,
Peter
 
Sukhoi
Posts: 1561
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:03 am

RE: Upload File Sizes

Thu Jan 18, 2001 10:15 pm

Everytime you save a jpeg image from the net its automatically compressed by windows hence the difference in file sizes. And every time you save it after that it gradually gets smaller in kb and the quality decreases.

Regards

Paul
 
sia jubilee
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2000 12:48 am

RE: Upload File Sizes

Fri Jan 19, 2001 12:43 am

Hi Charles,

I think your problem is always happen with the photographer who still using 56Kbps or slower modem.
In my experience, I used to compress the file to Quality 8 in Photo shop 5.01.
The file of a picture with 1024 wide and 684 high is around 400Kb for the shot with a sky background. And 600Kb with a massive background.
But the upload speed is .....acceptable. around 40sec.
After "dot net" request us scan the photos without compression.
I scan them in Quality 10 (ideal). All file are sized from around 900Kb to 1.1Mb.
But the upload speed so.....around 1 minute.
Recently, I set the broadband for internet connection (1.5Mbps). But the upload speed so strange....
sometimes 10-15 sec for 1Mb file, sometimes 40-45 sec.
So guess "dot net" has a speed restriction, do you think so?
 
BO__einG
Posts: 2646
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2000 5:20 am

RE: Upload File Sizes

Mon Jan 22, 2001 3:33 pm

Hey Charles.
What kind of scanner do you have??
Because part of the good quality photos you have may also be the scanner.
I got my Provia and eh/./ I just wiggle my hands on a so-so fashion cuz when i scanned. It was grainy..

 Sad\
Follow @kimbo_snaps on Instagram or bokimon- on Flickr to see more pics of me and my travels.
 
cfalk
Posts: 10221
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2000 6:38 pm

RE: Upload File Sizes

Wed Jan 24, 2001 9:57 pm

Hi Bo,

That's curious - you're the first person I've heard say that. I use a Nikon Coolscan III. What do you have?

Charles
The only thing you should feel when shooting a terrorist: Recoil.
 
Pixair
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2001 11:34 pm

RE: Filmscanner

Wed Jan 24, 2001 11:44 pm

Hi Charles

Yes, grain can come also from the filmscanner, if your slides a underexposured. I recommend to use the latest firmware and software upgrade for your CoolScann III and take your airliner photos with a exposure compensation of +2/3EV .. +1EV. You can also set the scanner analog gain up to +2EV to correct existing underexposured slides. I use Fuji Sensia II ISO 100/200 slides (Provia is much better) and prepare my airliner-net images (1024x684) with Photoshop (ImageReady). The resulting sizes (high quality compression 60..70%) are all between 80k and 150k.

Robert
 
BO__einG
Posts: 2646
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2000 5:20 am

RE: Upload File Sizes

Thu Jan 25, 2001 2:02 am

Im stuck with a S20.
Ya know. I got my privias, and started scanning them
Somwhow, my scanner (S20) doesnt seem to cope with Provias very well.
I noticed --dampy colors.
Like the original slide when I put in a projector, the color and stuff is great but when I scan them.. Uhh.
They dont look as great with all them darkness and **grains*
Hmm.. But I've submitted some shots of my Provia and waiting for acceptance, I''ll show you when they're in.

Bo Kim
Follow @kimbo_snaps on Instagram or bokimon- on Flickr to see more pics of me and my travels.
 
Jan Mogren
Posts: 2014
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2000 2:47 am

RE: Scanner/BO_einG

Thu Jan 25, 2001 2:34 am

Bo,
have you tried Vuescan?
www.hamrick.com

/JM
AeroPresentation - Airline DVD's filmed in High Definition
 
User avatar
Scooter
Posts: 837
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 1999 12:18 pm

RE: Upload File Sizes

Thu Jan 25, 2001 5:29 am

Yeah, when I had an S20, I was amazed at how much better the Vuescan software was. Well worth the $40US(?)...
My name is Scott, and I am addicted to writing trip reports.
 
Dazed767
Posts: 4967
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 11:55 am

I Need Help!

Thu Jan 25, 2001 11:18 am

My photo sizes usually come out to 1500kb!!! It takes forever to upload, I need help bad. The pic size is usually 900x640 for example. I use Corel Photohouse 1.1, it's basic, but it works well. What can I do?? I tried making the quality not as high, but it doesn't change the file size for me.
 
Dazed767
Posts: 4967
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 11:55 am

I Need Help! Pt2

Thu Jan 25, 2001 11:23 am

I have it scanned at 16 million colors, should it be set there? Next smallest is 256, and has little dots on the picture.
 
USAir_757
Posts: 949
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2000 12:30 am

RE: Upload File Sizes

Thu Jan 25, 2001 12:38 pm

I save on no compression(max quality) at all times. Usually the end result is between 500-600kb.

-----------------------------

To Bo:

Go SELL your S20 and use the money for an Acer-Scanwit 2720S, or Minolta-Dimage scan dual II.

These are much better scanners for the same price range.

-----------------------------

To Propfreak:

30% compression?! Don't stick with that...

There is no need for compression if the file is under 600kb after all editing, as airliners.net will add a reasonable amount of compression. If it's more 600 once edited, go ahead and stick 6% or 8% on...

-----------------------------

Regards,
C. Wassell
-Cullen Wassell @ MLI | Pentax K5 + DA18-55WR + Sigma 70-300 DL Macro Super
 
USAir_757
Posts: 949
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2000 12:30 am

RE: Upload File Sizes

Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:03 pm

Oops that was directed to PixAir - not Propfreak.


C. Wassell
-Cullen Wassell @ MLI | Pentax K5 + DA18-55WR + Sigma 70-300 DL Macro Super
 
nscaler
Posts: 236
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 1999 2:00 pm

RE: Upload File Sizes

Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:08 pm

I think Robert knows what he is doing. And 600 kb is a huge file, try to get it down to a third of that without losing quality (and yes its possible)

Saul

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests