EGGD
Topic Author
Posts: 11880
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2001 12:01 am

Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sat Jul 21, 2001 7:34 pm

I personally don't.

Its too slow and sometimes doesn't even focus at all (just misses the stop). Its really hard on approach, although not so bad with aircraft taxiing or parked at the Gate etc.

Is it possible to catch an aircraft approaching or rotating with an SLR auto-focus lense?

Cheers

Dan
 
lewis
Posts: 3578
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 1999 5:41 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sat Jul 21, 2001 8:13 pm

I always use autofocus. How can you possibly use manual on a moving subject? I set the focus mode of my EOS 30 on servo and the focus doesn't lock, it just follows the moving subject until I press the button. Very useful feature. My lens is also ultrasonic and it focuses very fast, so no problems there either. Have you considered buying a new lens? What camera do you own?
 
EGGD
Topic Author
Posts: 11880
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2001 12:01 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sat Jul 21, 2001 8:18 pm

Old Minolta 7000e w/ Sigma 70-210 and 70-300  Smile

Very slow, very rubbish (i need a new camera Big grin)

Cheers

Dan
 
ebos
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2001 7:48 pm

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sat Jul 21, 2001 8:24 pm

I used a Minolta 7000 with Sigma 60-300 some years ago. Rather slow indeed.

My new Minolta 505si with Minolta 75-300 is much faster. I always use auto focus, except for take off pics on a wet runway

eBOS
An-225 stalker: 1 x LUX, 1 x EIN, 1 x DXB, 2 x SHJ, 3 x CGN
 
EGGD
Topic Author
Posts: 11880
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2001 12:01 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sat Jul 21, 2001 8:36 pm

Hi, i was thinking about buying a new camera but this one was given to me by my Uncle 3 months ago and he said when i was going to buy a new one that he would buy it off me for £100. I'd feel a bit guilty if he'd given it to me and then i sold it back to him straight away  Sad

Cheers

Dan
 
jwenting
Posts: 9973
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2001 10:12 pm

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sat Jul 21, 2001 11:03 pm

How can you possibly use manual on a moving subject?

People have been doing it for decades... When the subject is moving fast or is small I usually turn it off.

Set focus at near infinity and adjust smoothly as the subject comes closer.
I wish I were flying
 
EGGD
Topic Author
Posts: 11880
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2001 12:01 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sat Jul 21, 2001 11:10 pm

Manual focus is quite easy with my camera, it has 2 red arrows and a green circle LED at the bottom and when it is out of focus the red arrow flashes which way you need to turn the lense until it is perfect and the red arrows dissapear and it beeps + Green light appears

Cheers

Dan
 
Western727
Posts: 1428
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:38 pm

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sat Jul 21, 2001 11:17 pm

Well, since my camera only has manual...(Canon T 60: It's a few years old)

Even so, I don't have any trouble focusing on moving objects. I can see where auto-focus would be useful if it worked well though. My camera is equipped with aperature and shutter speed priority. I use those very often because I don't have to mess with the exposure while I'm trying to capture something moving. And usually there is enough light that messing with the depth-of-field in the photograph usually isn't an issue.
Jack @ AUS
 
lewis
Posts: 3578
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 1999 5:41 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sat Jul 21, 2001 11:43 pm

I have been an SLR user for a bit more than a year and I don't think that I can manage to use manual focus on approaching aircraft. I have to pay attention to the exposure and make sure that the aircraft is correctly framed. If I manage to get used to those, maybe I can try to spend some time on MF.
 
Jan Mogren
Posts: 2014
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2000 2:47 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sat Jul 21, 2001 11:51 pm

The viewfinders of Autofocus cameras are Not suitable for manual focusing. The focusing screen of manual cameras are.
The AF ones are too bright (yeah, sounds weird!) and are not ground the way they should to allow manual focusing.
It LOOKS sharp in the viewfinder, yeah, but when you check your slide with a 10x loupe you find out...
/JM
AeroPresentation - Airline DVD's filmed in High Definition
 
LGW
Posts: 4281
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2000 6:07 pm

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sun Jul 22, 2001 1:05 am

I always use auto-focus, I have had no problems with any photos I have taken, including rotation and landing shots etc

LGW
 
da Fwog
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 1999 5:25 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sun Jul 22, 2001 1:06 am

Depends on the subject and its motion and framing as to how easy it is to manual focus. Those of us using autofocus are probably more concerned about twsiting the zoom ring to ensure the aircraft is framed correctly while letting the camera take care of the exposure or focus. Those people who are adjusting the exposure themselves - doesn't your camera have aperture priority or shutter priority? If it has, turn it on! You have enough to worry about without asjusting the exposure manually!

In many cases, you can prefocus the camera before the aircraft comes into view, if you know where you're going to take the shot. Just don't prefocus on infinity and think you'll get away with it! Best thing to do is either: focus on an object on the ground that will be the same distance away as the aircraft (e.g. a tree under the flight path, or the runway lights etc.), OR prefocus on one aircraft going past, and then use this focus point to photograph the following aircraft. But if you're going to do this, it helps to be using an aperture of F8+, as this will give you a little (but only a little) latitude with depth-of-field. (You also need to make sure the focus doesn't slip between shots)

Jan, you're right about the focusing screen on autofocus cameras, but most, like Dan's, have a way of detecting if the image is in focus and indicating this in the viewfinder. You're not gonna tell me you are squinting at the 3-way split in the middle of your viewfinder and twisting the focus ring this way and that as 747s roar overhead?  Smile
 
EGGD
Topic Author
Posts: 11880
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2001 12:01 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sun Jul 22, 2001 1:16 am

I used to use infinity, then i found out that it was focused slightly short of infinity.

Here is another problem:

I was thinking of focusing on an aircraft and then leaving it for the rest and just zooming in for the different aircraft types, but it means that it is less sharp. Is there any way of doing this (having it focused on the aircraft and then zooming in and out to meet the size)?

Thanks

Dan
 
thomasphoto60
Posts: 3716
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2000 1:04 pm

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sun Jul 22, 2001 2:36 am

Well, for my aviation work I use MF some 98% of the time! I rarely have an out of focus image as a result. I am a little surprised by Jan's comments about AF's focusing screens since you and I both use the same systems. I currently use 2 EOS1Ns and an EOS 3 so far (some 6 years now for the EOS1n) using MF on any one of these 3 cameras have always yeilded tack sharp results, and yes I do check my slides with an 4x and 10x loupes.

I do however use AF more often when I am covering a sporting event such as baseball or tennis.

Thomas
"Show me the Braniffs"
 
Blackened
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2001 4:19 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sun Jul 22, 2001 3:35 am

Jan Mogren:
Do you mean SLR autofocus cameras? I have never experienced anything bad with MF when using an EOS AF camera. The pics are always as sharp as in the viewfinder. I'm always suprised how sharp they are and I check them even with projector and loupe.
For EGGD: Of course there are cameras that can manage almost every situation with their AF. We're in the 21st century, man.
But you can also do almost every shot with MF. Somebody mentioned it - that has been the solution for decades. When I'm using MF I get an unsharp shot once in a blue moon. That's what I say but maybe a pro like Jan Mogren would say they're all unsharp - I don't know.  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
Bring it back, bring it back, bring it back
 
Jan Mogren
Posts: 2014
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2000 2:47 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sun Jul 22, 2001 5:04 am

Thomas and Blackened,

Focusing screens made for manual focus are ground matte (sp?) in a way that when focus is adjusted perfectly they look clear and sharp. When focus is a bit off they look more blurred than it really is, so to speak. More distinct border between in-focus and out-of-focus. The screen in an Auto Focus camera isn't ground matte at all so it doesn't give any help.
If you guys can tell when the ultimate focus is obtained,
well then I'm probably just old.  Wink/being sarcastic and I'll more or less back off here since this is up to the individual photog.

I will however address two things mentioned in posts above:

*Using the focus indicator to focus manually.
This is pretty interesting. Take your AF camera, switch to manual focus and focus on something, say 5 meters away. Don't touch the focus ring after that and slowly move towards or away from the subject you focused on.
How far can you move before the camera indicates out-of-focus? You will not beleive you paid that amount for your camera...

*Checking the sharpness of your slide with a projector.
Unless you have bought some extraordinary lens for your projector this won't work. Anything looks sharp!
I throw away loads of slides that looks sharp thru the proj. When checked with a 10x loupe they turn out unsharp. On the other hand they look sharp under a 6x loupe...

All this leads into another discussion I hope to bring up at some other time...  Smile/happy/getting dizzy

/JM
AeroPresentation - Airline DVD's filmed in High Definition
 
Blackened
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2001 4:19 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Sun Jul 22, 2001 7:07 am

Oh, yeah, seems we are talking about a completely differnent topic now. Just wanted to say I don't care about the focus indicator of the camera because I've noticed it fools me quite often.
I think the slide-sharpness-check topic is also an interesting one.
Bring it back, bring it back, bring it back
 
ckw
Posts: 4586
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:26 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Mon Jul 23, 2001 9:40 pm

After 20 years of focusing manually I've been lured over to the darkside of autofocus - and I must say I'm impressed with how well it works!

Using an EOS-3 body and Canon USM lenses, focus is fast and accurate, and no problem with follow focus - even with long lenses and convertors. But pre-purchase testing did indicate a great deal of variation between brands and models, and my choice of the EOS-3 was in part due to what I felt was superior auto-focus capability.

While in general I never found much problem manually focusing aircraft, there are other situations (sports, wildlife etc.) where the only practical solution was to pre-focus and wait for the subject to come to you. With the EOS I'm delighted to discover that autofocus can actually track much better than I could in some cases.

Cheers,

Colin
Colin K. Work, Pixstel
 
AndyEastMids
Posts: 1058
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2001 10:24 pm

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Mon Jul 23, 2001 10:33 pm

Dan,

I was thinking of focusing on an aircraft and then leaving it for the rest and just zooming in for the different aircraft types, but it means that it is less sharp. Is there any way of doing this (having it focused on the aircraft and then zooming in and out to meet the size)?

There is often a need to refocus for pin sharp accuracy AFTER zooming, as the focus can change slightly with the length of the lens (or more realistically, the depth of field will certainly change with lens length / zoom setting). Most camera manuals will tell you that you should refocus if you zoom after focussing. For this reason, I don't think that your idea will work particularly well, unfortunately.

I sympathise with you a fair bit - earlier AF systems were no where near as good as current ones and I used to loose loads of action pics when the darned focusing failed to achieve an accurate or quick lock at the critical moment. I particularly remember a day in Zurich when I was practically ready to trash the AF camera because of the amount of pics I missed on the tour. In fact I did give up on my first Canon AF camera - I sold it and dusted off my trust old MF Canon AE-1, such was my frustration with AF at the time. It was quite a few years before I went back to AF, but now I find it to be a huge benefit.

Andy
 
mikephotos
Posts: 2887
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2000 12:52 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Tue Jul 24, 2001 8:05 am

With todays AF bodies, results are excellent. I've probaby shot around 200 rolls (if not more) since January and not a single frame was manual-focused. Of course, it all depends on the model SLR you have. Some are quicker than others and the older AF-bodies can be somewhat annoying. For me, MF is just not an option. I couldn't even imagine trying to MF a rotating 747-400 standing in 50mm range of the runway and expect to nail 15+ shots like I do with AF.

Jan is right, AF SLR/lenses aren't really designed for manual focusing. These lenses are usually too "loose" and the viewfinder not as easy as MF viewfinders. Sure, it's not difficult to get excellent results but what he's trying to say is if you plan to do most of your work MF, get a MF body. Or, get a AF Nikon body with a MF screen and "real" MF lenses.

Michael

 
N312RC
Posts: 2584
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2000 10:58 am

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Wed Jul 25, 2001 12:30 am

Dan,

Ive got the exact same lenses as you. Both made by Sigma.

The camera I use though we bought new (Canon Eos Elan) about 2 years ago. Great camera, can do just about everything. My dad shoots pics of Formula One/Indy cars and I shoot pics of airplanes.
N/A
 
cfalk
Posts: 10221
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2000 6:38 pm

RE: Do You Use Auto-focus?

Wed Jul 25, 2001 12:57 am

I resorted to manual focus when I was on a trip and my Sigma AF lens went south. The results were iffy at best. some pics OK, some were not.

The biggest headache with trying to go manual with an AF lens is that they have removed all hyperfocal indicators. The old MF pump-style zooms still had them.

Charles
The only thing you should feel when shooting a terrorist: Recoil.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests