b757300
Posts: 3914
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 10:27 pm

Minolta Dimage Scan Elite?

Thu Jul 26, 2001 11:17 am

This is the scanner I'm looking @ buying however I am wondering what the Adaptec AVA-2906 is. I found you can order this scanner with one or without one and the only difference is the thing costs more. Also, I assume this thing scans both slides and negatives.

Without:http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00004UE5N/qid=996113576/sr=1-3/ref=sc_e_3/002-8812385-2827227

With:http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00004UE5R/qid=996113576/sr=1-1/ref=sc_e_1/002-8812385-2827227

"There is no victory at bargain basement prices."
 
ebos
Posts: 448
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2001 7:48 pm

RE: Minolta Dimage Scan Elite?

Thu Jul 26, 2001 2:50 pm

Adaptec AVA-2906 is the SCSI II-card you need for data transfer from the scanner to your PC.

eBOS
An-225 stalker: 1 x LUX, 1 x EIN, 1 x DXB, 2 x SHJ, 3 x CGN
 
b757300
Posts: 3914
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 10:27 pm

RE: Minolta Dimage Scan Elite?

Thu Jul 26, 2001 9:36 pm

Thanks EBOS. Guess I won't need that since I use USB for most things.
"There is no victory at bargain basement prices."
 
bodobodo
Posts: 545
Joined: Wed May 03, 2000 6:43 pm

RE: Minolta Dimage Scan Elite?

Thu Jul 26, 2001 9:45 pm

B757300,

Maybe I'm misunderstanding what you mean but USB isn't an option on this scanner. The only reason that they give you the option with or without the SCSI card is that some people might already have a SCSI interface card and will not want to pay extra for a card that they won't need. A SCSI card of some sort is required to use this scanner. If you're looking for a USB scanner from Minolta check out the Scan Dual II. It uses a USB interface and works great.

Cheers,
Felix
 
b757300
Posts: 3914
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 10:27 pm

RE: Minolta Dimage Scan Elite?

Thu Jul 26, 2001 10:54 pm

That figures. FUBAR
"There is no victory at bargain basement prices."
 
J.C. Harrist
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2001 3:08 am

RE: Minolta Dimage Scan Elite?

Fri Jul 27, 2001 1:33 pm

I just bought an Adaptec 2906 SCSI card about a week ago. Cost me about $70US. You do need an available PCI slot in your computer to install it though.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sunandan and 4 guests