VueScan Vs Minolta Software

Wed Aug 01, 2001 5:55 pm

I was wondering what your thoughts are regarding the VueScan 7.1.7 compared to the software that's bundle with Minolta Dimage Duel Scan II. I have tried the trial version of VueScan and it seams that the result is slightly better and faster/easier to use, Mmm i never understand how to change the film setting to Fuji, there was only standard or Kodak.

But before I pay the 40$ I really would like to here some other thoughts from Minolta owners (if any)

Kind regards

Posts: 1060
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2001 10:24 pm

RE: VueScan Vs Minolta Software

Wed Aug 01, 2001 6:12 pm


I use the Dual Scan II and VueScan, although I've not yet got around to 7.1.7 - I'm still on 7.0.something, as I can't be bothered to download the new version at the moment (dial in modem!). I'm sure that if you spend enough time tinkering around and experimenting with the Minolta software you will get good results from it.

I tried the Minolta software and whilst the "out of the box" settings produced reasonable results, it didn't produce results that either I was happy with or which would have been accepted here. OK, so I could have spent more time working out how to "tune" the Minolta software to get higher quality results, but at the time I didn't. I was already curious about VueScan anyway because it was recommended on this forum, so I downloaded the trial version. It gave me almost instantly acceptable results without any significant amount of tinkering with the settings. In this instant gratification world, going for VueScan was an easy choice for me!  Smile/happy/getting dizzy

If you want any further "guidance", I bought the scanner on a Saturday, started playing with it on the Sunday, and tried VueScan on the Monday. I uploaded my first ever pic to on the Wednesday (scanned using VueScan), and it was accepted. Now, about 95% of my pics (530 odd) on airliners have been scanned using VueScan. The few negatives I have scanned have been done using Minolta's software, which I now prefer for negs, and this also allows me to leave VueScan set up as I prefer it for Kodachrome 64.

Hope this helps,


Thank You

Wed Aug 01, 2001 9:23 pm

So it will be...just bought the "full" version of VueScan, now I will fully try it out.

Kind regards

Posts: 4586
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:26 am

RE: VueScan Vs Minolta Software

Wed Aug 01, 2001 9:57 pm

Ulvar - there are no settings for Fuji slide, only generic E6 and Kodak - the reason being that as far as the scanner is concerned these are the only 2 major variations in film construction that need to be allowed for - I find generic E6 works fine. There are many more settings for neg film, because Vuescan has compensation incorporated for the many variations in orange masking which are found in neg. film. I would very strongly endorse Vuescan - best $40 I ever spent.

Andy - I scan both negs and slides with Vuecan. Some of the settings (colour) seem to be retained as you switch from one to the other - so if you choose color neg., the last settings you used for colour neg are displayed. I'm not 100% sure if ALL the critical settings are recalled, however, you can "save settings" and recall as desired.


Colin K. Work, Pixstel
Posts: 1266
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 1999 3:53 am

RE: Minolta Software -driver Problem?

Thu Aug 02, 2001 3:30 am

Anyone have problems with the Minolta driver?

My W98 system was initially failing to boot properly since my new Dimage II came along and now will only go into Windows Safe Mode. Have run the Win diagnostics but nothing seems to fix it?

Any theories?
Posts: 9973
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2001 10:12 pm

RE: VueScan Vs Minolta Software

Thu Aug 02, 2001 4:32 am

Have had stability problems under Windows 2000 with the 1.0.0 version. The 1.0.2 seems stable.
Only installed it a few hours ago, so I can't really tell yet, but it seems to produce slightly dark and undersaturated results with Sensia. Does anyone have some good settings for it that might work?
I wish I were flying
Posts: 973
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2000 1:37 pm

RE: VueScan Vs Minolta Software

Thu Aug 02, 2001 4:37 am

Dstc47, try doing a Windows install over it self. When the computer boots up, put your Win 98 CD in and proceed to install it. It will then say there is already an OS there and it will just install right over the old copy. I had a problem with a USB printer and after doing the reinstall everything worked fine.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests