Can't Understand It .....

Thu Nov 22, 2001 2:55 am

I know I'm not the first and won't be the last but I can't figure out what the **** I'm doing wrong scanning my photo's in.
Every one I've ever sent in as been rejected and before I get complaints about moaning, YES it is obviously something I'm not doing right.
My camera is a Nikon 801 with a good selection of Sigma lenses (nothing wrong there then) I use Kodacolour Gold Royale film (not everyones choice but we are all different) I've a Canon N650U scanner and an ADSL connection (so far so good) + probably the most important thing of all I'm an ex semi pro photographer, but when it comes to computers....well er.
Right down to bussiness, I scan my photo's using Arcsoft Photo studio 2000, and I've tried 300dpi right up to 1200dpi then I reduce the image to 1024 width and the height is done auto, I then save it as a jpeg.
When I open up the file again I can zoom in a few times before it begins to break up. I can send photo's as E-Mail attachments and nobody says the quality is bad? I've got loads of brilliant quality slides from Manchester Airport (1970s) etc, but until I sort this problem out I can't be bothered spending so much time scanning them in.
Somebody help pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease...

RE: Can't Understand It .....

Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:05 am

What about some examples?

Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:26 am

Yeah, a few examples and we may be able to help.

Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:36 am

as Peter said, please let us see some pics.

You wrote that you scan with 300-1200dpi, right? So I guess you scan prints. By scanning prints with 300dpi you "can" get some good results. Before I started with slides, I´ve had a really hard time getting prints accepted. Later some of them made it. I used to scan at 300 dpi, resized to 1024, used the unsharpen tool and saved the picture with jpg-wizard and NO compression! Maybe the best way getting prints accepted???

Hope it helps!

Regards from FRA

Thu Nov 22, 2001 5:10 am