Cleco
Posts: 545
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 4:21 am

Kodak DC4800 Question

Wed Dec 26, 2001 12:27 pm

Hey guys, whats up?

I just got a Kodak DC4800, if I set it to 3.1MP at HighComp, how many pics can I fit on a 16MB card?

Thanks guys
Jake
EMBRY-RIDDLE BABY
 
AUS_Spotter
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2000 1:35 am

RE: Kodak DC4800 Question

Wed Dec 26, 2001 12:48 pm

It entirely depends on the composition of the photo....but I'd guess somewhere around 30. Don't use the high compression setting if you plan on uploading any photos to this site. It really degrades the quality of the photo. I have a few photos that I've had accepted here taken with the 4800 and all were taken on the standard 3.1MP setting.

Jason
 
AirNikon
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2000 11:31 am

RE: Kodak DC4800 Question

Wed Dec 26, 2001 12:52 pm

Did you look it up in the owner's manual? I suggest that you do...
Don't get married, don't have kids, and you will have more money than you know what to do with...
 
Cleco
Posts: 545
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 4:21 am

RE: Kodak DC4800 Question

Wed Dec 26, 2001 1:00 pm

AirNikon

I checked the manual. It gives a file size of 9170kb for 3.1MP. I dont know how to translate that to MB. So I decided to come here.

Jake
EMBRY-RIDDLE BABY
 
Cleco
Posts: 545
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 4:21 am

RE: Kodak DC4800 Question

Wed Dec 26, 2001 1:03 pm

AUS_Spotter
Thanks for the help.

How much of a difference does the type of compression I use make in the quality of the photo?

Jake
EMBRY-RIDDLE BABY
 
AUS_Spotter
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2000 1:35 am

RE: Kodak DC4800 Question

Wed Dec 26, 2001 1:05 pm

The 9170kb figure is for the uncompressed 3.1MP format (TIFF) and translates into about 9MB. You will fit 1 picture on a 16MB card at this size.

Using the normal 3.1 setting my picture sizes vary from around 500kb to 1.5mb depending on the photo. More colors usually result in a larger file size.

Jason
 
Cleco
Posts: 545
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 4:21 am

RE: Kodak DC4800 Question

Wed Dec 26, 2001 1:09 pm

Aus_Spotter

Under what name can I find your pics on A.net?

Jake
EMBRY-RIDDLE BABY
 
AUS_Spotter
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2000 1:35 am

RE: Kodak DC4800 Question

Wed Dec 26, 2001 1:13 pm

Guess I missed your last post......

3.1MP high compression will result in noticeable defects in the pictures. I wouldn't recommend it if you plan on uploading pictures to airliners.net.

Just experiment to find out what looks best to you.

These are a few of the photos I've taken with the 4800 using the normal 3.1MP setting:


Click for large version
Click here for full size photo!

Photo © Jason Knutson



Click for large version
Click here for full size photo!

Photo © Jason Knutson



Click for large version
Click here for full size photo!

Photo © Jason Knutson



Jason
 
AUS_Spotter
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2000 1:35 am

RE: Kodak DC4800 Question

Wed Dec 26, 2001 1:15 pm

A majority of my photos are 35mm. If you'd like me to point out more of the digital shots let me know.

Jason
 
Cleco
Posts: 545
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 4:21 am

RE: Kodak DC4800 Question

Wed Dec 26, 2001 1:34 pm

aus_Spotter

Could you recomend some accessories? Batteries, Memoy cards, bags, lenses...

thanks
Jake
EMBRY-RIDDLE BABY
 
LGW
Posts: 4281
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2000 6:07 pm

RE: Kodak DC4800 Question

Wed Dec 26, 2001 5:49 pm

Youll need a lot more than 16MB! I have 4x64MB and a 32MB card and I need more!

LGW
 
Cleco
Posts: 545
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2000 4:21 am

RE: Kodak DC4800 Question

Thu Dec 27, 2001 12:56 am

Yeah, I will need MUCH more. But right now I'm just starting so it should be fine for a while. None of my pics are NEAR a.net quality.

Jake
EMBRY-RIDDLE BABY
 
AUS_Spotter
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2000 1:35 am

RE: Kodak DC4800 Question

Thu Dec 27, 2001 10:49 am

With flash prices where they are right now I'd recommend getting a 128MB card. As far as the Kodak lenses go, I can't say. I haven't tried any of them. I'd definitely recommend getting a second battery and the quick charger.

The best shots you will be able to get of aircraft with this camera will be when you are close. I haven't had much luck getting good enough photos for airliners.net unless I'm really close to the plane (gate shots).

Until I can afford a digital SLR, I still prefer my 35mm. Don't get my wrong, the DC4800 is a great camera but it just doesn't meet my needs for aviation photography (which is not what I purchased the camera for anyways).

Jason

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests