SdntPilot

Spotting For Begginers

Sun Jan 06, 2002 10:27 am

Hi

I was wondering if anyone could help?

Im looking for someone to tell me the basics of airplane photography and spotting, just to help me get started. Of course I know i need a camera, but if anyone could give some tips or hints, and a list of the basic things that i would need. It's just to get me started. I'v always wanted to get involved in this hobby, but I just realy never knew how.

Also, sorry if my grammer isnt perfect, im a pilot not an english major.

Thank you for any help

EGGD

RE: Spotting For Begginers

Sun Jan 06, 2002 10:48 am

ok, first you need a camera, although i see that you've identified that already. I'll bet if you don't want to start off serious and spend alot of money you can use a compact camera with a zoom lens and take some pictures panning with the aircraft.

Then you can move on and buy a Second hand SLR and a lens (preferrebly one with 200mm+ focal length) and maybe a film/slide scanner..

Then you need to learn the basics, always have the sun behind your back for best results, try and avoid taking photographs on cloudy days, pan with the aircraft (follow it with the viewfinder), try and get it to fill most of the frame.

Then read the manual to learn about aperture, light metering and shutter speed. This knowledge will help you alot.

Regards

Dan

fallingeese

Sun Jan 06, 2002 11:22 am

If you're going for the photo aspect of this hobby, basically everything that Dan said. But binoculars, a pen, pad of paper, and some freetime, is also great.
Mark McWhirter...Contrails Photography

cfalk

Sun Jan 06, 2002 4:10 pm

Try this article. It'll give you the basics.

http://www.airliners.net/articles/read.main?id=16

Charles
The only thing you should feel when shooting a terrorist: Recoil.

hkg_clk

Sun Jan 06, 2002 5:28 pm