flame
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2001 6:27 am

300DPI..how To Calculate..?

Tue Jan 29, 2002 8:54 am

Hi Guys / Gals;

Can anyone help me with this one please, I do not know how to save or send a picture file at 300DPI after taking the pic with my digital camera. Now, I know that this may be a dumb question to ask ..but can anyone help me at all. I am using a Olympus C3040 Zoom, which BTW is giving me superb results.

Also, I see that airliners.net prefers to accept 1024X768, can I send pics in different sizes.

Hopefully these are not stupid questions, but the 300DPI has me flumaxed

TIA
 
flame
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2001 6:27 am

RE: 300DPI..how To Calculate..?

Thu Jan 31, 2002 6:47 am

Sorry about this guys...but can anyone help with this one
 
planenut
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2001 10:54 pm

RE: 300DPI..how To Calculate..?

Thu Jan 31, 2002 7:08 am

In your imaging software you should have the option to save the photo at what ever dpi you want. I use adobe Elements this has the option to set the dpi when I crop a image, I do this a 96dpi because this is what most screens are.

As for the size airliners.net require, if you send your photos in at a differnt size they are likely to get rejected.

The 1024X768 is what size most screen are.

One question why do you want to save it at 300dpi?

This photo I took was saved at 96dpi:


Click for large version
Click here for full size photo!

Photo © Steven Fleuty



Steve (G.B)  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
 
Staffan
Posts: 3879
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:21 am

RE: 300DPI..how To Calculate..?

Thu Jan 31, 2002 8:10 am

It doesn't matter at what resolution (dpi) you save a photo as, unless it's for printing. For uploading a photo to a.net it is the total amount of pixels across the photo that should be 1024, if it's 10,40,65,72 or 100 dpi doesn't matter, since they will all look the same on the screen. Most monitors show photos at 72 dpi.
Most photo software has a feature to resize the photo, for uploading to a.net simply set the width to 1024 pixels. If you want to have it at 300 dpi for some reason, there should be a feature to resample the image, there you choose 300dpi and it should work out fine.

Hope this helps,

Staffan
 
T prop
Posts: 909
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2001 4:33 pm

RE: 300DPI..how To Calculate..?

Thu Jan 31, 2002 11:46 am

I was wondering the same thing.

I was contacted by a company requesting the use of one of my pictures.
I sent the image to them as an attachment to an E mail, they got back to me and asked if I could resend it at 300dpi so that they would be able to print it.

Back to photo shop I went, to image size and the box that has resolution, I changed it from 72 to 300 pixels per inch.
Well the image becomes huge, so I resized it back to original and I noticed that the image looks the same as the 72pixel per inch version.
What I'm thinking now is when I went to 300dpi and resized the image back down (that file is to huge to e-mail) is it really still 300dpi?
Sorry if I sound like I don't know what I'm doing, I'm what you might call a computer neanderthal.

Anyway, I took my photoshop results and e-mailed the company back, this time attaching the picture in a zip file. They contacted me today with a link (it didn't work) to the press release they were planning to use the photo in. I don't know if they ended up using the photo or not. If they didn't it may be because I'm doing somthing wrong when I try to send these images. If I am and anyone could point me in the right direction I would be most grateful.

If I sound like I don't know what I'm doing it's probably because I'm what you might call a computer neanderthal. Oh well, I'm getting it slowly.

T prop.
 
flame
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2001 6:27 am

RE: 300DPI..how To Calculate..?

Wed Feb 06, 2002 1:35 pm

Many thanks for the assistance and advice, the main reason I ask about the 300DPI..is exactly the reason "T-Prop" was stating...most publications require a pic as a "30DDPI" file to print from.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests