Topic Author
Posts: 3630
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2001 12:49 am


Tue Jan 29, 2002 11:15 pm

Hi all!

I have been looking around at Ebay.com and saw this offer:


Now I have 2 questions:

How the hell can it be so cheap????

Does anyone in Europe, preferably in the Netherlands, have experiences with Ebay.com, and how were they?

If this price stays at this level for much longer...  Wow!

Thanks in advance,

Wietse de Graaf
Posts: 1561
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:03 am

RE: Ebay?

Tue Jan 29, 2002 11:42 pm

Apparently the box is still smoking its that hot  Smile/happy/getting dizzy

I just bid 400 I will sell it on for 500  Wink/being sarcastic

Sounds pretty dodgy to me


Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2001 2:58 am

RE: Ebay?

Wed Jan 30, 2002 12:00 am

Ill give ya £ 410 for it ... youll still make a profit !!

Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2000 5:49 am

RE: Ebay?

Wed Jan 30, 2002 12:10 am


The end of the auction is > 6 days from here, I think the new owner comes in the last 30 seconds of the auction.

Regards, George Polfliet
Posts: 2326
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:28 pm

RE: Ebay?

Wed Jan 30, 2002 2:19 am

Just wait and watch. It will go at least for $1500.
I bought my F5 off of ebay. Everything went fine. I recommend it.

da Fwog
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 1999 5:25 am

RE: Ebay?

Wed Jan 30, 2002 3:00 am

How strange that the camera is in France but the currency is GBP!

In my experience, with these sorts of items, the bidding price will double (or more!) in the last hour or two of the auction.
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2000 2:32 pm

RE: Ebay?

Wed Jan 30, 2002 3:16 am

If anyone is planning on buying a digital SLR off of eBay, I would be VERY cautious. There has always been a large presence of scam artists selling D1H/Xs, D30s, and S1s at too good to be true prices. Either they are ripping people off completely or they sell you a grey market item. If you are planning on spending that kind of $$$ on an expensive digicam, you might as well purchase one from a reputable dealer (B&H, Calumet, Adorama, etc...).

eBay is a great place for picking up second hand lenses and other equipment, but IMHO, a very dangerous place to be buying a supposed "new" digital camera that sells below wholesale...

Aric Thalman
Omaha, NE
To most people, the sky is the limit. To those who love aviation, the sky is home
Posts: 3836
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2000 1:04 pm

RE: Ebay?

Wed Jan 30, 2002 4:12 am

I agree with Aric. EBAY is great for collectables, but I would be skeptical with any electronic device such as a camera. Ask the seller a lot of questions, if he/she does not reply or gives a cryptic answer(s) then that is a red flag. On the whole the big NY stores are the best places to get a camera new body.

"Show me the Braniffs"
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2001 2:30 am

RE: Ebay?

Wed Jan 30, 2002 8:13 am

I know for a fact that EOS D30's are THE item of choice at the moment for con-men. There are loads of D30 auctions on ebay at the moment, and especially over Christmas, all being sold by new users with no feedback profile, all looking for payment by Western Union etc.

They are scams, and I am 110% sure this one is too, I would stay well clear.......Remember if it looks too good to be true it is.

If you insist on buying it, then you must use an escrow service, try www.escrow.com and at least you have some protection for your money, otherwise you will send the money and I promise you will never see the camera.

To contradict the others slightly, ebay is a very safe place to buy from overall, I bought my old Dynax SLR from there, but you must know who you are buying from, check out the feedback profile, if they don't have one, be very cautious, email the seller, get gaurantees in writing for slae/return policies, and if you are uneasy use escrow. There are lots of reputable sellers on there, so don't be put off........just beware the D30 is the con-mans choice at the moment.

Canon through and through
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2000 2:32 pm

RE: Ebay?

Wed Jan 30, 2002 8:48 am

Yes, eBay (for the most part) is a safe place to buy items. I have bought several lenses and other equipment off of there, with only 1 bad experience so far. But when you start bidding on items that cost as much as a digital SLR, I would definetely want to know who I am doing business with and what their reputation is overall. It is just a fact that there are dishonest people out there, perfectly willing to take your hard earned money from you.

Look at it this way...Most retailers have a hard enough time keeping D1Xs, D1Hs, and D30s in stock at the normal retail prices, so why would someone want to sell a brand new camera for $500-$1000 less, when they should have no problem selling it at retail? As the old saying goes "if it looks too good to be true, it probably is."  Smile

Aric Thalman
Omaha, NE
To most people, the sky is the limit. To those who love aviation, the sky is home

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos