alphazulu
Crew
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 1:41 pm

D-30 Cmos Dirt.............

Wed May 08, 2002 1:37 am


How many of you D-30 owners out there (or D-60) have experienced dirt on the image sensor? I had one spot that was bothering me so I follow the recommendation of the manual and attempted to blow the dirt (or dust) off with a bulb syringe. This only made things worse and now have 10 times as many spots.
If you had an experience that was similar to this one how did you handle it? If you sent the camera back to Canon for cleaning did it help or only make things worse? I heard different stories about Canon's repair service and wonder what your experience was with Canon.
Any help in this matter would be appreciated,
Paul
 
KingWide
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2001 7:30 am

RE: D-30 Cmos Dirt.............

Wed May 08, 2002 1:50 am

I cleaned the sensor using the recommended method and it was reasonably successful [although not as good as I'd hoped], I'm going to use compressed air next time.

Canon service [in the UK at least] is exceptionally good provided you get your repair done as if you're a member of Canon Professional Services. They did a diaphragm change on my 300 f4 L in 2 days and it only cost £100. If you live locally to the service centre then you can drop it in by hand which eliminates the postage costs as well.
If you're unlucky enough to get it done as a 'consumer' then the current lead time is 15 working days [ouch!]


J
Jason Taperell - AirTeamImages
 
alphazulu
Crew
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 1:41 pm

RE: D-30 Cmos Dirt.............

Wed May 08, 2002 2:24 am

Thanks J, I have a service center about 40 miles from my house here in California, USA. It's still under warranty for the next year and one half so I'll try them.
Anyone else out there with a simular experience?
 
User avatar
Bruce
Posts: 4934
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:46 am

RE: D-30 Cmos Dirt.............

Wed May 08, 2002 3:01 am

Hey Paul

How do you like the D30 for shooting aircraft? What kinds of lenses do you have on it? Do you have any pics on the database here, shot with it? I'm trying to figure out if I should get one. With my 28mm lens the digital equivalent would be a 44mm focal length so it looks like I wont be able to shoot too wide.

bruce
Bruce Leibowitz - Jackson, MS (KJAN) - Canon 50D/100-400L IS lens
 
alphazulu
Crew
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 1:41 pm

RE: D-30 Cmos Dirt.............

Wed May 08, 2002 3:49 am

Hi Bruce,

I'm using a Canon 100-400IS lens with my D-30 and am quite happy with the results. My only problem now is the dirt on the CMOS sensor, oh well.
And yes, I have almost 90 shots here at a.net. Just put my last name (Paulsen) in the key-word field and it will display my photos.

Paul
 
Guest

RE: D-30 Cmos Dirt.............

Wed May 08, 2002 12:45 pm

I would recommend against compressed air on the CCD, our S1 had to go away for repair after trying that... :-o

You can buy CCD wipes on the internet that might be worthwhile. I'm going to buy some of those and try them out.




VH-ADG
 
alphazulu
Crew
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 1:41 pm

RE: D-30 Cmos Dirt.............

Thu May 09, 2002 1:29 am

Has anyone out there cleaned there immage(CMOS,CCD) sensor? Was it successful?
Paul
 
andyhunt
Crew
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2001 10:50 pm

RE: D-30 Cmos Dirt.............

Thu May 09, 2002 5:38 am

Paul,

Yes I have done it with a Sensor Swab from a US company. Photographic Solutions. if you search the archives, you'll find the website. Works perfectly.... for an S1!! Big grin

Andrew

Full frame always beats post processing
 
andyhunt
Crew
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2001 10:50 pm

RE: D-30 Cmos Dirt.............

Thu May 09, 2002 5:44 am

Paul,

Found the post. Give it a try.

Andrew

Username: Andyhunt
Posted 05-23-01 08:44 and read 116 times.
Guys,

I think that the major drawback to shooting digital SLR is the potential for dust to build up on the exposed CCD when changing lenses. Because it is so darn sensitive, one hint of dust and you end up with a "Splat" on your images.

It seems as though we now have a solution. This system is supported by Fuji and it involves using a special sensor swab and some chemical to clean the CCD. (Yes you CAN touch it with this!)

Links are to the Fuji USA Website, approving use of this system, and also to the supplier.

I'be already ordered mine!!!! HOORAY!

Andrew

http://www.fujifilmsupport.com/faq/tech/ccd_clean/accept.htm

http://www.photosol.com
Full frame always beats post processing
 
ckw
Posts: 4586
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:26 am

RE: D-30 Cmos Dirt.............

Thu May 09, 2002 5:51 am

I'm not sure if there is a fundamental difference between the "delicacy" of sensor types, but Canon I'm sure recommend you do NOT use swabs on their sensors ... though I have heard of people who have done this successfully (of course the ones that screwed their CMOS aren't likely to admit it  Smile )

Cheers,

Colin
Colin K. Work, Pixstel
 
alphazulu
Crew
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2002 1:41 pm

RE: D-30 Cmos Dirt.............

Thu May 09, 2002 6:50 am

Thanks Andrew and Colin for the useful information. But as I have a year and one half left on my warranty, I will send it off to the Canon service center in Irvine California. I only hope they do a good job as I've heard mixed reviews about the cleaning job they do...........
Paul
 
da Fwog
Posts: 845
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 1999 5:25 am

RE: D-30 Cmos Dirt.............

Sat May 11, 2002 9:07 pm

I've used compressed air on my CMOS sensor successfully, but I think it has to be done with extreme care. I have a can of compressed air with a permanent nozzle - and this allows more control over the amount of air pressure. So the procedure I use is to enable sensor cleaning, and then point the compressed air AWAY from the camera, softly squeeze the nozzle to get a GENTLE stream of air, and then direct this onto the sensor, (making sure to keep holding the can upright!)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests