serge
Posts: 1903
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 2:01 pm

Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:16 pm

Hey all,

While I've been slaving away scanning my LAS, SFO, GJC, CYS, etc.. shots I had a thought. Does anyone else still scan prints on a flatbed scanner? I know a few photographers do, but I was hoping some of you could come forward and post a few example photos. List with what camera and film the photo(s) were taken with.  Big grin All of my photos are in the database under "Serge Walczak".

Also, try and list the process you go through from scan to upload. For me:

- Open Photoshop 7.0 and scan at around 500 DPI or so, more if jaggies are noticed (does the trick somehow)

- Adjust levels, contrast, color, hue, saturation, brightness until it looks as good as it can get!

- Unsharp 100-300% amount, Radius 0.5, Threshold 0

- remove all white lice from photo  Smile/happy/getting dizzy with smudge, clone tool, and healing brush

- if grain is apparent in sky or other small part of photo, select the lasso tool and highlight the area... apply smartblur radius 3.0, threshold 25.0, quality high, mode normal

- save 100% NO-compression, look over final product before upload to a.net Big grin

Now your turn!
...Serge
 
serge
Posts: 1903
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 2:01 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:18 pm

Forgot to include after the first step I rotate the photo if necessary and crop away the white, then I resize to about 1024x710 or so...

regards,
Serge
 
User avatar
derekf
Posts: 888
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2001 4:05 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Fri Aug 30, 2002 4:49 pm

Serge

I still scan prints on a flatbed. I get the film printed at 5"x7" then

Scan at 400 dpi as a TIF file on an HP5470C.
Adjust the colours contrast etc.
Remove all the dust, crap etc
Resize to 1024 by whatever
Use the unsharp mask in Paint shop Pro 7 using settings
0.8, 90, 1 I think (I can check them later)
Save as JPG with no compression.

Results aren't too bad


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Derek Ferguson
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Derek Ferguson



View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Derek Ferguson
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Derek Ferguson



View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Derek Ferguson
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Derek Ferguson





Grain seems to be the biggest problem. I try and use ISO 100 film most of the time.

Regards

DerekF
Whatever.......
 
c72
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:19 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sat Aug 31, 2002 12:59 am

Reala 100 prints scanned on an HP 5300 edited with Photoshop 5.0


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Steve Gonzales

 
wietse
Posts: 3630
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2001 12:49 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sat Aug 31, 2002 1:31 am

Here comes my most famous example again:


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Wietse de Graaf



Reala prints on a 5300C scanjet. Edited in Photoshop 7.

Ive moved to slides and a Nikon Coolscan since then

Wietse
Wietse de Graaf
 
Paulianer
Posts: 866
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 8:15 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sat Aug 31, 2002 2:37 am

Hi,

I use a Canon N1240U, scanning at 2400 dpi and resize later to 1024 pixels with Photoshop Elements. Use sharp and unsharpen mask....

I'm using a Canon EOS 300 body with Tamron 75-300mm lens.

Here are some samples with Kodak Royal 100:


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tobias Rose
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tobias Rose



View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tobias Rose
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tobias Rose



and here with my "favourite" Fuji Reala 100 IMO the best film for prints:


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tobias Rose
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tobias Rose



View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tobias Rose
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tobias Rose



and here are two scans, shot in 1990 (I don't know what camere, because I was 12 years old in 1990). They've been scanned also with the Canon N1240U.


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tobias Rose
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tobias Rose



Greetings
Tobi
Tobias Rose - Hamburg (HAM/EDDH) & (XFW/EDHI) - Canon EOS D60 - ICQ: 235621277 - MSN: Tobias.Rose@gmx.de
 
tsentsan
Posts: 1921
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 10:48 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sat Aug 31, 2002 3:36 am

Hi,

I'm using a flatbed scanner (HP5470C) as well....
Film used is usually Kodak100/200 or Fuji100/200. Prints are done at 4R size, and scanned in at 600DPI, and resized, croped and sharpened in Photoshop.


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tsung Tsen Tsan
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tsung Tsen Tsan



View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tsung Tsen Tsan
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Tsung Tsen Tsan

NO URLS in signature
 
chris28_17
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2000 4:26 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sat Aug 31, 2002 4:45 am

oh geez, just wait till Brian see's this post..........



chris
 
serge
Posts: 1903
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 2:01 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sat Aug 31, 2002 9:11 am

Cool.. glad to see I'm not alone!  Smokin cool

Wietse: Holy s***, thats one of the best print scans I have ever seen!

regards,
Serge
 
SJC-Alien
Posts: 870
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 1999 1:15 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sat Aug 31, 2002 9:14 am

--Derek and TsenTsan,

If you use the HP5470C-what type of results have you gotten with the XPA slide/negative attachment?( I just got an HP5470C)

I've gotten nothing good, any clues you can give.....I've printed this thread to use some of your techniques, thank you. I also think I may have to update my photo editing unit...I have Adobe Photodeluxe 3.0-Home and Ulead photo Plus 4...so may a little weak. Most of my photos on A.net aren't that great, because they were entered B4 the screeners took over..

you guys have great photos...thanks

SJC Alien
 
Guest

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sat Aug 31, 2002 9:20 am

Alien,

Someday I will have to plan a trip down to Garlic City and I will give you some one on one instruction.

I still scan prints on a flatbed scanner as well as with my HP S20. I have never had much luck scanning negatives.

Richard
 
SJC-Alien
Posts: 870
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 1999 1:15 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sat Aug 31, 2002 1:58 pm

.............just don't laugh at my photo-editing program on my computer.......must be from " Airliner photo scanning for Dummies"  Big grin

Alien
 
airplanenut
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2001 8:46 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sat Aug 31, 2002 2:12 pm

This is a flatbed scan with an Advantix camera
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Jeremy Katz

Most of my photos don't get on since I am still learning the art of photograpy... I don't think the scanner has much to do with it...

Jeremy

PS- see my thread... I think my scanner just died
Why yes, in fact, I am a rocket scientist...
 
tsentsan
Posts: 1921
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 10:48 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sat Aug 31, 2002 2:54 pm

SJC-Alien,

Whenever I use that to scan, the quality comes out so bad, that I think even scanning the print at 200DPI produces way better results. It somehow produces a very bad negative scan, but an OK slide scan... I'm scanning from HPScan program saving as JPG before importing into Photoshop and editing.

Regs,
Tsentsan
NO URLS in signature
 
User avatar
derekf
Posts: 888
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2001 4:05 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sat Aug 31, 2002 5:44 pm

SJC- Alien

I've had reasonable results from the slide scanner attachment. Some of which I got uploaded here.


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Derek Ferguson
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Derek Ferguson



They may have been accepted because they old though!

Negatives I've tried but not with good enough results to upload here. You seem to get coloured banding across the image that are difficult to get rid of. The colours and definition are good though.
To add to my previous post the PSP 7 settings I use for the unsharp mask are 0.8,93,0

Regards

DerekF
Whatever.......
 
Zander
Posts: 585
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2000 7:16 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sun Sep 01, 2002 6:25 am

I am still scanning on my flatbed scanner beside my digital work.
I think it works quite well with my HP Scanjet 5370C and most of the film I am using give a good result, Fuji Superia 200 and 400 and sometimes Reala 100.

One example then:

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Alexander Jonsson



Zander
 
Alaskaairlines
Posts: 2326
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:28 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sun Sep 01, 2002 7:40 am

I know Garry Watt scans print here and there, check out his photo's. Excellent result.

-Dmitry
 
Guest

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sun Sep 01, 2002 8:47 am

Hey Alien,

Software can be a big part of the problem......Let me scrounge around. I think I may have a copy of Photoshop Elements that I no longer use that I can give you. That plus a little hands on training and we should have you uploading in no time.

Richard



 
SJC-Alien
Posts: 870
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 1999 1:15 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Mon Sep 02, 2002 11:25 am

...Ok guys....great info. When I do the initial scan, I've set it at-(as an experiment), 200-300-600 on various photos. They look great in the first scan. Then when I save as either a TIFF. or Jpeg...it's fine. When I move to my Ulead photo plus 4, is when I have trouble after re-sizing.

Yes, I have read the instructions, and DerekF and Tsen Tsan gave me a clue on a setting sequence I was doing backwards...so that helped...(I'm making prints of some of the instruction pages so I don't have to flip back and forth on the computer all the time) easier reading....but I have been unable to discover what/or where my 'cheapo' program has unmask..?

DerekF...where does your HP5470C have a 400DPI settting...? Mine doesn't have it.....though I am scanning 4x6 inch glossies....I think the 5470C can handle it no problem,,

Thank you,

SJC Alien
 
c72
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:19 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Mon Sep 02, 2002 11:39 am

Alien,

I'm here in the same town you know, let me know if you want to meet up I can help you. I've got some "extra" software too.

C72
Steve
 
Guest

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Mon Sep 02, 2002 11:48 am

Hey Steve......Maybe Tom should invite us all over for BBQ and we can help him learn to use his scanner. Sounds like a plan to me? Teaching makes me hungry!



 
c72
Posts: 745
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 9:19 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Mon Sep 02, 2002 12:48 pm

Richard,

Sounds good to me! How 'bout it Tom? I'll bring plenty of meat and "extra" software....hehe. Seriously Tom, let me know If I can help.  Smile

Steve
 
tsentsan
Posts: 1921
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 10:48 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Mon Sep 02, 2002 4:08 pm

Alien,

Try to scan at 600-800. To actually add a scanning resolution if you're using the HP PrecisionScan, go to Scan-Preferences, and click on the Resolution tab, and add in the desired scan resolution. Alternatively, for a temporary fix, you could just key in the resolution at the textbox of the Resolution selection in the main window.... Big grin

Regards
Tsentsan
NO URLS in signature
 
BA777
Posts: 2048
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2001 11:40 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Mon Sep 02, 2002 6:34 pm

Serge,

Can i set my Epson flatbed up to scan within photoshop?

my only flatbed scan here today is my picture of G-BNLM, but i've got some prints comimg today, so there might be more around.

BA777
 
Davus
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2000 9:31 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Tue Sep 03, 2002 6:42 am

I also use print / flatbed.....

Fuji 100 and an HP5370...

Dave Faulkner
MELBOURNE
Australia
 
serge
Posts: 1903
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 2:01 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Tue Sep 03, 2002 8:47 am

Nice shots guys... I was surprised at the amount of people still scanning prints. Soon I'll upgrade to a Minolta Dual Scan II or something else similar cost-wise.

BA777: What version of Photoshop are you using? You should be able to (it should be setup automatically within PS). Just open Photoshop, go to file;import;scan manager (or something similar if your version is older).

Hope it works! Let me know....

regards,
Serge  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
 
User avatar
blackbird1
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2002 8:40 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Fri Sep 06, 2002 6:05 am

Hi Serge! I'm taking 4x6 color prints since (almost) ever, to be exact more than 25 years now. I'm still using an old-fashioned Canon AE-1 (manual focus!) and I'm shooting Kodak Gold 100 film. Scanner is the same as yours and I'm using photoshop 5.5, same procedure like yours to scan my prints. Some examples:
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Gerhard Plomitzer
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Gerhard Plomitzer


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Gerhard Plomitzer
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Gerhard Plomitzer


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Gerhard Plomitzer
View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Gerhard Plomitzer

Happy shooting Gerhard Plomitzer
I'd rather be flying!
 
vir380
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2002 12:45 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Fri Sep 06, 2002 7:03 am

Acer Scanwit 2720S


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © T Silgrim



View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © T Silgrim




HP Scanjet 6300C


View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © T Silgrim




i still have the best of both worlds ( used very little now , gone over to digital )
cheers Tony

Moved away from this lost website to better things !
 
serge
Posts: 1903
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 2:01 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Fri Sep 06, 2002 6:06 pm

Nice shots Tony and Gerhard! I use manual focus 100% of the time with aviation photos too! The ZX-30 has the auto capability but I prefer having the most control possible....

regards (and good night, 4:07am here, Big grin)
...Serge  Smile/happy/getting dizzy
 
Granite
Posts: 5026
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 5:55 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Fri Sep 06, 2002 6:22 pm

Hi all

I still use my HP 6300C flatbed now and then.
As a matter of fact, I was playing around with it last night after downloading the latest version of Vuescan. Didn't scan any images but the ones below will give you an idea of the quality of the scans, coupled with Vuescan and Kodak print film:

View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Gary Watt



View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Gary Watt



View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Gary Watt



View Large View Medium
Click here for bigger photo!

Photo © Gary Watt


Regards

Gary Watt
Aberdeen, Scotland
 
tsentsan
Posts: 1921
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 10:48 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Fri Sep 06, 2002 7:06 pm

Gary,

Does Vuescan come with the HP CDs or do you have to buy it seperately?
Thanks

Tsentsan
NO URLS in signature
 
vir380
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2002 12:45 am

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Fri Sep 06, 2002 7:38 pm

You have to go online to order it :

http://www.hamrick.com/

see above link , that will tell you all you need to know along with how to oder

regards Tony

Moved away from this lost website to better things !
 
Granite
Posts: 5026
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 5:55 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Fri Sep 06, 2002 7:51 pm

Hi

Yes, order on-line.

Once ordered you get free updates to the program for as long as it is available  Smile

Regards

Gary Watt
Aberdeen, Scotland
 
serge
Posts: 1903
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 2:01 pm

RE: Does Anyone Else Scan Prints/use Flatbed?

Sun Sep 08, 2002 10:40 am

Holy crap Gary, pretty nice shots for prints (no noise or grain)  Big thumbs up

I especially like the UA 777,

regards,
Serge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ThePointblank and 1 guest

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos