Alaskaairlines
Topic Author
Posts: 2326
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:28 pm

Please Help Me With This PS 6 Problem!

Thu Sep 12, 2002 5:03 pm

Hello my friends!

I am trying to open up images in Photo Shop 6, and its giving me on error saying this: Could not open "C:MyDocumentsScanned slidesAlaskaB732N730ASandNWAN145USANC_DK.tif" because the scratch disks are full.

Please let me know how to empty them or whatever needs to be done for me to continue in PS.

Thanks for your help!

-Dmitry
 
Jan Mogren
Posts: 2014
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2000 2:47 am

RE: Please Help Me With This PS 6 Problem!

Thu Sep 12, 2002 5:09 pm

Edit/Preferences/Plug Ins & Scratch Disks.

Exit PS6.0 and restart.

Of course you have to have free disk space too...
/JM
AeroPresentation - Airline DVD's filmed in High Definition
 
tpk
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2000 4:48 am

RE: Please Help Me With This PS 6 Problem!

Thu Sep 12, 2002 5:12 pm

Dmitry,

Here's my best guess at how to help with your problem. As I understand the concept of scratch disks, when Photoshop opens, it reserves a certain amount of hard drive space on your computer to be able to perform its functions.

If you have more than one hard drive, you can solve this problem by selecting Edit/Preferences/Plug-Ins & Scratch Disks, and giving first priority to a drive that has more available space. Alternatively, if you don't have an additional hard drive, you should delete some files to make this space available.

Hopefully this helps (and is correct). Take care.

Tim
 
User avatar
Bruce
Posts: 4934
Joined: Tue May 18, 1999 2:46 am

RE: Please Help Me With This PS 6 Problem!

Thu Sep 12, 2002 5:14 pm

Hmmm.......since that filename is a .tif it is going to be pretty large in size.

go into preferences and if at all possible set your scratch disc to a different hard drive or partition than the one on which the program resides. If you can't do that then try closing PS and open it again.

The scratch disc is like a temporary storage area for photoshop images that are open, and for the undo operations & cache. Try only opening one image at a time. When you close the program, it clears the scratch area.

That message could also mean that your hard drive is getting full. You might need to delete some stuff to make room.


bruce
Bruce Leibowitz - Jackson, MS (KJAN) - Canon 50D/100-400L IS lens
 
tpk
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2000 4:48 am

RE: Please Help Me With This PS 6 Problem!

Thu Sep 12, 2002 5:14 pm

Sorry, I must have been submitting my post as Jan's was added. I concur with what he said.
 
Alaskaairlines
Topic Author
Posts: 2326
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:28 pm

RE: Please Help Me With This PS 6 Problem!

Thu Sep 12, 2002 6:10 pm

Thanks guys! I just figured it out in that edtpreference section.

Thanks!

-Dmitry
 
scottysair
Posts: 6442
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2000 4:07 pm

RE: Please Help Me With This PS 6 Problem!

Sat Sep 14, 2002 6:51 am

Here I do help you out as for the pictures with PS 6. Just only with the .jpg files as for the photos and low size disk number as for the save as program by the pictures. This is much better as for the least of the size with 1024 x 768 pixels as for itself and just go to resolution by 1200dpi. Ok? Can you done that as for yourself by the pictures. Thanks!!
 
Alaskaairlines
Topic Author
Posts: 2326
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:28 pm

RE: Please Help Me With This PS 6 Problem!

Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:37 am

Well thanks for the advise, Scotty! I don't really want to scan in lower resolution because I like high quality, and at 1200 I would be getting much lower quality images. I am scanning at about 2400 dpi.

-Dmitry

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: analogkid, Catalin81, Masataka1430, solro and 7 guests