sunilgupta
Posts: 768
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2000 12:15 pm

Kodachrome And Nikon Coolscan 4000ED

Sat Jan 25, 2003 11:54 pm

I just picked up this beastie and tried to scan some old Kodachrome slides using Digital ICE… total disaster! With ICE on the image is severely distorted – out of focus & weird colors. Reading some usenet threads it seems that this may be a common problem. Has anyone here had luck with scanning Kodachrome with Digital ICE turned on?

Also, I can’t get the Nikon software to work at all on my XP box... it just hangs on startup. Anyone else have this problem? Instead, I’m using Vuescan.

Sunil
 
timdegroot
Posts: 3258
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2002 10:37 pm

RE: Kodachrome And Nikon Coolscan 4000ED

Sun Jan 26, 2003 12:40 am

I use the Coolscan 4 with Kodachrome, and ICE doesn't work.
I just clone out all the dust, and clean the slides very carefully before scanning.

Tim
Alderman Exit
 
cschleic
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2002 10:47 pm

RE: Kodachrome And Nikon Coolscan 4000ED

Sun Jan 26, 2003 1:56 am

There's an update driver you can download, or at least it worked for my ED IV. Unfortunately don't recall the name. But I think it's available through the Nikon website. Also have been some earlier threads about this problem...topic lines included Nikon or Scanner.
 
Alaskaairlines
Posts: 2326
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:28 pm

RE: Kodachrome And Nikon Coolscan 4000ED

Sun Jan 26, 2003 4:38 am

Sunil you'll be happy with the beast!
I have the same problem, tried it once or twice = horrible results with KR. Never have tried it on Fuji, any idea if it works on that film? Charles? Your the Fuji master here, any advise?

-Dmitry
 
DSMav8r
Posts: 575
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2000 2:32 pm

RE: Kodachrome And Nikon Coolscan 4000ED

Sun Jan 26, 2003 4:56 am

Digital ICE does not work on KR...The problem is, KR dyes can be seen with the IR channel, which gives the ICE algorithm fits. Vuescan's cleaner works a little better than ICE, but it still makes the images a bit too soft for my liking. Just clean the slide very well (air bulb, camel-hair brush) and clone...works like a charm.  Smile


AT
To most people, the sky is the limit. To those who love aviation, the sky is home
 
wietse
Posts: 3630
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2001 12:49 am

RE: Kodachrome And Nikon Coolscan 4000ED

Sun Jan 26, 2003 5:01 am

Dmitry and all others interested:

ICE works like a dream on Fuji slidefilms (Velvia, Provia, Astia and Velvia) and printfilms (Superia's and Reala) On KR it just doesnt work. Aric explained why.

So I guess you have to make sure the slides are very clean before you scan them. And you will have to clone or heal some of the dustparticles.

Wietse
Wietse de Graaf
 
sunilgupta
Posts: 768
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2000 12:15 pm

RE: Kodachrome And Nikon Coolscan 4000ED

Sun Jan 26, 2003 9:15 am

Thanks guys... it’s good to know that I’m not going nuts  Smile/happy/getting dizzy

Digital ICE does work like a dream on Provia 100F. Provia is the only other film I’ve tried to scan so far.

It’s really interesting to compare scans made with this scanner with early scans made with my old scanner… the scanner coupled with a couple of years of experience scanning can make quite a dramatic difference! Take a look at this example shot on K64:

Minolta Scan Dual II + no clue about scanning or image correction:



Nikon Coolscan 4000ED + Vuescan + a couple of years (and pounds) under my belt:



Please critique the improved scan if there is something you think can be improved even more.

It would be cool if airliner.net had “before and after” feature for reuploads!

Sunil
 
Alaskaairlines
Posts: 2326
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:28 pm

RE: Kodachrome And Nikon Coolscan 4000ED

Sun Jan 26, 2003 6:35 pm

Thanks guys!

Will try it out on some Fuji slides.

-Dmitry

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests